Stock Garmin GPS - Improving routing - Civinfo
 2Likes
  • 2 Post By Kremmen
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 22nd July 2017, 17:23 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
Haltamer's Avatar
 
Car: 9th Gen 1.4 Petrol SE + Navi
Join Date: 13th March 2017
Location: Essex, UK GB
Posts: 2,017
Thanks: 46
Thanked 293 Times in 263 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Garage
Stock Garmin GPS - Improving routing

I've taken to using a side loaded copy of waze in place of my factory GPS, however, It can be inconvenient due to it's requirement for a data connection.

The cause of this is the strange routing on my stock GPS:- It takes extremely over-direct routes; E.G. Multiple turns down side roads, generally not preferring motorways / high speed roads; It often tries to take me off at every motorway exit to go across the roundabout and back onto the motorway

I get the feeling this is something to do with the routing settings; Has anyone got any suggestions, other than install Sygic?
Haltamer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 22nd July 2017, 18:22
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Car: MY13 1.8 EX Auto
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Location: West London ENGLAND
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Quite a few Navs do that when you have it set to shortest route. Select fastest and that roundabout anomoly shouldn't happen.
nturnb and Haltamer like this.
Kremmen is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 23rd July 2017, 05:44
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 850 Times in 675 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
I've noticed this too. It seems too keen to take me down tiny single track lanes. This is on the fastest route setting too... actually seems better on shortest lol.

The prevous HDD system was defiantly better at routing than this Garmin system.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
Bog is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 9th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2012 - 2016) > Electronics and ICE (9G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrics blown fuse of garmin gps? acable Electronics (8G) 1 1st May 2016 18:42
Improving stock brakes IainsTheName Type-R 75 5th March 2011 11:21
Satnav SatNav routing question RobP Electronics (8G) 6 31st August 2009 09:28
Garmin GPS picture contest - Please Vote dannyg0811 Any non Civic chat here please! 2 22nd May 2008 22:50
Satnav Routing error ? Kremmen Electronics (8G) 10 14th August 2007 07:46

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome