SD Sat nav not acquiring Satellites - Civinfo
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Haltamer
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 20th August 2017, 21:50 Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 7th August 2017
Posts: 8
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
SD Sat nav not acquiring Satellites

Purchased a 2013 ES-T and loving the car. However the Sat nav has twice now shown me in a completely different part of London. The only way I could get myself back on track was to manually re-configure my position using the "arrows".

When I look up my GPS location on the unit it tells me it's not connected to any satellites and is trying to acquire one.

Anyone else had this problem? Thanks!
GoonerEm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 27th August 2017, 22:42
Supporter
 
Haltamer's Avatar
 
Car: 9th Gen 1.4 Petrol SE + Navi
Join Date: 13th March 2017
Location: Essex, UK GB
Posts: 2,016
Thanks: 46
Thanked 293 Times in 263 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Garage
Is your date & time set correctly?
If your time is substantially off, it can lead to it not being able to find satellite positions.

I'm fairly sure there is a diagnostic mode that can be accessed which shows sattelite positions & reception, which would let you see if the antenna is operating correctly, but I'm not sure how to access it:- Perhaps that's something @Bog can help you with, the head unit wizard he is.
Bog likes this.
Haltamer is offline  
Thanks to Haltamer from:
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 28th August 2017, 18:03
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 850 Times in 675 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
To be honest it happens to me sometimes, but it normally sorts itself after a few minutes or an engine restart. I'm not sure but I think it's to do with the GPS unit being separate to the head unit and it losing connection.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
Bog is offline  
Thanks to Bog from:
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 29th August 2017, 15:08 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 7th August 2017
Posts: 8
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Thanks all - drove it down to see my folks on the coast and took it to Honda in Poole. Just before I dragged someone out did a quick check and it had acquired plenty of satellites. Luckily I checked before I looked too much like an idiot!

Still prefer to use Google Maps or Waze due to the traffic info but at least this one works as back up.
GoonerEm is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 9th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2012 - 2016) > Electronics and ICE (9G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to fit OEM sat nav to non sat nav models Matt416 Type-R 4 5th October 2016 09:33
Add-on nav buy sat nav version or normal and buy double din sat nav marklola Electronics (8G) 6 15th April 2016 11:18
Head Unit Sat nav radio to a non sat nav car Drejc Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 3 4th December 2014 11:50

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome