Nextbase hardwire - Civinfo
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Bog
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 28th August 2017, 15:55 Thread Starter
 
Car: 2012 Honda Civic 1.8 ES
Join Date: 17th January 2017
Location: Arbroath, UK SCOTLAND
Posts: 125
Thanks: 22
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Nextbase hardwire

Hi! Right, so I've installed the hardwire kit of my nextbase dash cam (412gw, very good btw) but I'm faced with an issue.

I'm using the piggyback connector that plugs into the fuse box, all well and good. Plugged into the front accessory fuse.

But here's the issue...it never turns off! The socket im piggy-backing works as normal but the dash cam just doesn't want to turn off.

I dont want to start cutting wires and all that, not really keen on ripping the dash out to sort it either, so is there another fuse I can tap into instead that does actually turn off with the ignition off?
Fozziie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 28th August 2017, 16:14
Supporter
 
joolsvetec's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 1.8 Vetec milano Red
Join Date: 19th August 2016
Location: Ammanford WALES
Posts: 55
Thanks: 3
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Garage
Try the radio fuze which i think is 3 amp it will turn off after 2 min because of the battery in the next base .

jools
joolsvetec is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 28th August 2017, 16:21 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Car: 2012 Honda Civic 1.8 ES
Join Date: 17th January 2017
Location: Arbroath, UK SCOTLAND
Posts: 125
Thanks: 22
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Is the radio not constantly fed? I know I can remove CD's from it with no key in the ignition.
Fozziie is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 28th August 2017, 17:45 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Car: 2012 Honda Civic 1.8 ES
Join Date: 17th January 2017
Location: Arbroath, UK SCOTLAND
Posts: 125
Thanks: 22
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Sorted fuse 19 did the trick (ACC)
Fozziie is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 28th August 2017, 18:11
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Car: MY13 1.8 EX Auto
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Location: West London ENGLAND
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Dig out the 'Option Connector' thread.

The OC is by far the best way of wiring in additional items without potentially overloading an existing circuit, although that is unlikely.

I've wired my Nextbase to the OC ignition position 2 so it only fires up when the engine starts. I have my Garmin on the OC ignition position 1 & 2 so I can view it without the engine.
Kremmen is offline  
Thanks to Kremmen from:
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 29th August 2017, 09:41 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Car: 2012 Honda Civic 1.8 ES
Join Date: 17th January 2017
Location: Arbroath, UK SCOTLAND
Posts: 125
Thanks: 22
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Something to look into when I have the time.
Fozziie is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 29th August 2017, 13:27
K20 addict
 
Danith's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 Fn2 & 2003 Ep3
Join Date: 13th August 2017
Posts: 983
Thanks: 39
Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts
iTrader: (0)
No way, mines plugged into the stereo fuse. is that not a good idea then!? It definitely only comes on with the ignition though.


Which fuse is best?


ta
Danith is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 29th August 2017, 13:57
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 850 Times in 675 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danith View Post
No way, mines plugged into the stereo fuse. is that not a good idea then!? It definitely only comes on with the ignition though.


Which fuse is best?


ta
It will be OK as I doubt your dashcam will draw too much power to cause a problem.

The option connect just keeps all the other circuits clear and is designed for accessories etc

If your dashcam did to decide to pop a fuse, at least with the OC it wont take out your stereo.
Farqui likes this.
Bog is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 29th August 2017, 14:00
K20 addict
 
Danith's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 Fn2 & 2003 Ep3
Join Date: 13th August 2017
Posts: 983
Thanks: 39
Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Cool, was just wondering as the car is a fraction, tiny bit longer to start up when it's been stood than when I start it up soon after being on a run. Just thought the dashcam was sapping some charge overnight or something but more likely cos it's cold.
Danith is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 9th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2012 - 2016) > Electronics and ICE (9G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Add-on nav Hardwire SatNav SigMcV Electronics (8G) 25 18th August 2017 06:49
Video Nextbase 402G Pro Hardwire... Liamr685 Electronics and ICE (9G) 27 7th February 2017 05:18
Nextbase Dash Cam - Halfords woodycivic General Discussion (8G) 0 13th March 2015 14:52
Video (Project) How can I hardwire a Veba screen? ballisma Electronics (8G) 1 24th November 2009 13:39

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome