external software on car stereo screen? - Civinfo
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Haltamer
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 26th September 2017, 21:27 Thread Starter
 
matrixprotein's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28th August 2017
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
external software on car stereo screen?

I know android auto and apple car play can be used to use satnav function etc.

Is there a way to install actual software and programs onto a unit.

I have a kenwood dmx7017dabs unit which has gps on the car but its not a sat-nav unit.

Could something lilke google maps or waze be in downloaded straight into the unit?
matrixprotein is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 26th September 2017, 21:42
Supporter
 
Haltamer's Avatar
 
Car: 9th Gen 1.4 Petrol SE + Navi
Join Date: 13th March 2017
Location: Essex, UK GB
Posts: 2,022
Thanks: 47
Thanked 294 Times in 264 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Garage
Short answer is yes; but it can be complicated.

I'll quickly find the guide I wrote for someone else and share it here...
Haltamer is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 26th September 2017, 22:10 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
matrixprotein's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28th August 2017
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
thank you very much. ill give it a look when you post it. and if it looks too much ill give it a miss
matrixprotein is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 26th September 2017, 22:38
Supporter
 
Haltamer's Avatar
 
Car: 9th Gen 1.4 Petrol SE + Navi
Join Date: 13th March 2017
Location: Essex, UK GB
Posts: 2,022
Thanks: 47
Thanked 294 Times in 264 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by matrixprotein View Post
thank you very much. ill give it a look when you post it. and if it looks too much ill give it a miss
Just posted to the Guide section as I rewrote it and filled it out a little. Should be up as soon as it is approved by a mod.

It looks like an involved process, but with the optimisations I have worked out it shouldn't take too long, and it is well worth it to be able to use Waze, Sygic and Camsam to name a few:- It's worth the time investment when you consider how awful the garmin GPS has been for routing and traffic updates (Exit the motorway and rejoin for Fuel efficiency! )

It's up: http://www.civinfo.com/forum/how-gui...-headunit.html
deed likes this.

Last edited by Haltamer; 26th September 2017 at 22:58.
Haltamer is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 9th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2012 - 2016) > Electronics and ICE (9G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrics Problem on stereo and the Screen display dimitris82 Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 19 23rd September 2014 05:22
Electrics Stereo and LCD screen fault sam.spartan Electronics (8G) 0 9th September 2014 22:25
Satnav OEM Stereo to Satnav & Software Coldie Electronics (8G) 1 12th April 2008 07:12

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome