Head Unit HDD Satnav replacement 2014ym Civic EX - Civinfo
 5Likes
  • 1 Post By CivicCliff
  • 2 Post By RickHondaR
  • 1 Post By RickHondaR
  • 1 Post By Kremmen
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 28th December 2017, 18:20 Thread Starter
 
autobots's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28th December 2017
Posts: 65
Thanks: 13
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
HDD Satnav replacement 2014ym Civic EX

Hello,

I recently purchased a 2014 Civic Hatchback EX (mk9) UK. The car has a built-in Honda Navigation Unit (HDD). After a few weeks, I realize that the navigation unit seems to be less useful to me, and I only use the bluetooth to play music via my iPhone, or mostly GPS with Google Maps.

My questions are:

1) Is it worth replacing Honda built-in HDD Navi with aftermarket head unit that has CarPlay built-in?
2) If choosing between Sony XAV-AX100 and Pioneer 8700BT, which one do you recommend? Or do you have any other recommendation?
3) Does the aftermarket head unit improve sound quality (a little or by large margin improvement)?
4) If I'm installing the unit myself, what do I need to order?
- One of the dealer says the wiring-harness is different for Honda factory installed head unit cars, is that true?
- Do I need to replace the existing double din facia?
- Anything else I need to order?

I was looking/searching in the forum to get similar information, but failed to find any. Any help/guide/advice would be much appreciated.
Thanks!

Last edited by autobots; 29th December 2017 at 01:16.
autobots is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 29th December 2017, 15:04
Supporter
 
CivicCliff's Avatar
 
Car: 2017 EX 1.0 Manual
Join Date: 15th April 2013
Location: Herts GB
Posts: 499
Thanks: 93
Thanked 59 Times in 52 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
I've always been very pleased with the HDD unit in my EX, it functions well and IMO sounds good, it does feel dated now though (it was already dated when the 9G went into production in 2011-12).

With an aftermarket unit, you would lose some of the integration that the OEM unit provides, such as the navigation prompts and audio information on the iMID, voice control over climate control etc. However, looking at current aftermarket units, you would gain a lot too.

Having had the opportunity to use Apple CarPlay a couple of times now in hire cars, I would say that it is a must for me in any future head unit I have.

I've found a few threads on this topic:

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/electro...christmas.html

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/electro...-retrofit.html

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/electro...2din-unit.html

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/electro...ouble-din.html
autobots likes this.
CivicCliff is offline  
Thanks to CivicCliff from:
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 29th December 2017, 16:18 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
autobots's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28th December 2017
Posts: 65
Thanks: 13
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Thanks. After talking to a few head unit seller and installation service provider, they said they are not able to provide any wire harness for those factory navigation pre-installed 9th gen Civic. I'm now contacting connect2.co.uk to confirm if this is the case.


I'm also considering an alternative cheaper solution without voiding the built-in HDD unit. Aliexpress sells an external box that provides AV/RCA input. The box gives Android Auto and Apple CarPlay feature. They also provide a wireless dial remote to navigate CarPlay options. (once i got approval to post links, I will add the link...)

The only challenge for this solution is to find an ACC to power the add-on unit.
autobots is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 29th December 2017, 16:35
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Car: MY13 1.8 EX Auto
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Location: West London ENGLAND
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Ah yes, links and PM's become active after 2 weeks membership and 20 valid posts.

We didn't like implementing that but spammers forced our hand.
Kremmen is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 29th December 2017, 16:40 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
autobots's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28th December 2017
Posts: 65
Thanks: 13
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
That's ok - makes sense to me.

If you search the following name in Google, it's in the top 5 results:

"General Carplay box Siri Voice remoter Steering-wheel control Call Map Message etc IOS for vehicles by AV input or AUX function"
autobots is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 29th December 2017, 17:06
Living the dream!
 
Join Date: 16th August 2008
Location: UK ENGLAND
Posts: 8,539
Thanks: 908
Thanked 1,199 Times in 1,018 Posts
iTrader: (137)
Due to the integration of the system etc and having had this unit myself I would say learn to live with it because it is a decent unit or maybe for when it does your head in just use google maps on your phone and to be fair I do think the unit does screen mirroring.

Either way give it a good month or so because it is a half decent unit and with a bit of luck once you get used to it you will save yourself a lot of money
Kremmen and autobots like this.
RickHondaR is offline  
Thanks to RickHondaR from:
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 29th December 2017, 17:46 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
autobots's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28th December 2017
Posts: 65
Thanks: 13
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Thanks! That's probably a good advise to take into account.
You mentioned the mirror screen feature, do you mean using AV/RCA as input?

If it's AV/RCA, what are the wirings required for iPhone lightning port?
autobots is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 30th December 2017, 23:14 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
autobots's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28th December 2017
Posts: 65
Thanks: 13
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
HDD Satnav replacement 2014ym Civic EX

Quote:
Originally Posted by RickHondaR View Post
Due to the integration of the system etc and having had this unit myself I would say learn to live with it because it is a decent unit or maybe for when it does your head in just use google maps on your phone and to be fair I do think the unit does screen mirroring.



Either way give it a good month or so because it is a half decent unit and with a bit of luck once you get used to it you will save yourself a lot of money


Do you know if the premium audio system has a fader setting somewhere? I couldn't figure out how to adjust the rear speaker volume, the rear speaker seems to be very quiet comparing to the front ones...

Last edited by autobots; 31st December 2017 at 10:34.
autobots is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 31st December 2017, 04:41
Living the dream!
 
Join Date: 16th August 2008
Location: UK ENGLAND
Posts: 8,539
Thanks: 908
Thanked 1,199 Times in 1,018 Posts
iTrader: (137)
Yes it will but having not used this for a few years I suggest you get your book out or have a good play with the unit
autobots likes this.
RickHondaR is offline  
Thanks to RickHondaR from:
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 31st December 2017, 06:41
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Car: MY13 1.8 EX Auto
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Location: West London ENGLAND
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Yes it has, you can fade left/right, front/rear and subwoofer strength.

As Rick said
autobots likes this.
Kremmen is offline  
Thanks to Kremmen from:
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 31st December 2017, 21:36 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
autobots's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28th December 2017
Posts: 65
Thanks: 13
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickHondaR View Post
Yes it will but having not used this for a few years I suggest you get your book out or have a good play with the unit


I have it configured properly now. I think/feel the front speakers are generally louder. So I have to tune the volume down for front, turning up overall volumes will increase the overall balance.

Happy with the result


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
autobots is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 9th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2012 - 2016) > Electronics and ICE (9G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Satnav Hdd satnav update for 2014ym civic tourer dfconnolly001 Electronics and ICE (9G) 11 4th January 2018 19:09
Civic EX HDD SatNav / Phone system / Samsung S3 Contacts gearcam General Discussion (9G) 7 1st July 2013 10:36
Poor HDD SatNav candyshandy Electronics and ICE (9G) 3 8th April 2013 13:18

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome