Garmin honda connect - Civinfo
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Haltamer
  • 1 Post By peniole
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 22nd May 2018, 20:36 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
leeb's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 9th gen
Join Date: 23rd January 2011
Location: Sheffield ENGLAND
Posts: 252
Thanks: 30
Thanked 36 Times in 34 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Garmin honda connect

Having a issue with my sat nav been on holiday on the way back yesterday I put my home destination in and set fastest route.
Sent me on a wild goose chase took me 45 mins to do a 20 minute drive!
Wife was following me and when we pulled up she was saying everytime I turned right her nav told her to go left!
When we got back on track and was near home it was trying to take me off the motorway 5 junctions before even tho there was no traffic or hold ups.
Anyone else had this I have the maps all up to date too!


Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
leeb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 22nd May 2018, 22:02
 
Join Date: 13th April 2018
Posts: 12
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Yep but only when I gave the missus a map. Otherwise no, very strange.
conroe452 is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 22nd May 2018, 22:07
Supporter
 
Haltamer's Avatar
 
Car: 9th Gen 1.4 Petrol SE + Navi
Join Date: 13th March 2017
Location: Essex, UK GB
Posts: 2,015
Thanks: 46
Thanked 293 Times in 263 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Garage
It may be worth getting the RC8 Update / Factory resetting in general, or the GPS At least - Have you touched any of the GPS settings?

I had RC4, and I'd be directed off the motorway and then back on, most likely because it saw a lower speed on the slip and hence "fuel savings"

Since the RC8 update, I've been happy to actually rely on it for motorway, town and rural and it hasn't been too bad.
Haltamer is offline  
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 22nd May 2018, 22:19 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
leeb's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 9th gen
Join Date: 23rd January 2011
Location: Sheffield ENGLAND
Posts: 252
Thanks: 30
Thanked 36 Times in 34 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Many thanks can I get this update or has it got to be done by a dealer?
Not touched any settings for the GPS
I've updated the maps and put the cyclops speed camera's on but this was a few months ago now.
Seemed fine tho after the update

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
leeb is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 22nd May 2018, 22:30
Supporter
 
Haltamer's Avatar
 
Car: 9th Gen 1.4 Petrol SE + Navi
Join Date: 13th March 2017
Location: Essex, UK GB
Posts: 2,015
Thanks: 46
Thanked 293 Times in 263 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by leeb View Post
Many thanks can I get this update or has it got to be done by a dealer?
If you're under warranty, It's probably easier to get them to do it to save some effort, as It's a service bulletin.

If you want the files, I can send them over to you - I've attached the bulletin again so you can get an idea of the update process first
Attached Files
File Type: pdf RC8.pdf (2.07 MB, 40 views)
Kremmen likes this.
Haltamer is offline  
Thanks to Haltamer from:
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 22nd May 2018, 22:37 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
leeb's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 9th gen
Join Date: 23rd January 2011
Location: Sheffield ENGLAND
Posts: 252
Thanks: 30
Thanked 36 Times in 34 Posts
iTrader: (2)
I'll see what version I have on the nav tomorrow thanks pal

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
leeb is offline  
Thanks to leeb from:
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 23rd May 2018, 04:59
 
peniole's Avatar
 
Join Date: 26th September 2011
Location: Bonn DE
Posts: 359
Thanks: 15
Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haltamer View Post
If you're under warranty, It's probably easier to get them to do it to save some effort, as It's a service bulletin.

If you want the files, I can send them over to you - I've attached the bulletin again so you can get an idea of the update process first
You wouldn't happen to have the RC symptoms table they mention in that bulletin. Wanted to check if my dreaded fuel economy reset symptom is mentioned. My unit was updated back in Jan, so I'm assuming it got the RC6 update. Thanks.
peniole is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 23rd May 2018, 10:51 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
leeb's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 9th gen
Join Date: 23rd January 2011
Location: Sheffield ENGLAND
Posts: 252
Thanks: 30
Thanked 36 Times in 34 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Can you send me the files please I want to have a go at it myself as I can't get in to my local honda for 2 weeks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by leeb View Post
I'll see what version I have on the nav tomorrow thanks pal

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
leeb is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 23rd May 2018, 16:23
Supporter
 
Haltamer's Avatar
 
Car: 9th Gen 1.4 Petrol SE + Navi
Join Date: 13th March 2017
Location: Essex, UK GB
Posts: 2,015
Thanks: 46
Thanked 293 Times in 263 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by peniole View Post
You wouldn't happen to have the RC symptoms table they mention in that bulletin. Wanted to check if my dreaded fuel economy reset symptom is mentioned. My unit was updated back in Jan, so I'm assuming it got the RC6 update. Thanks.


seems to be an RC4 Symptom (Placing you on RC3) judging by the table, so you may have been updated with an old version:- My car from Mar17 Came with RC4 from the factory, It's probably worth getting it up to date as it's a decent general improvement.

I've not got the other files as I'm on my laptop at the moment, When I get home I'll send you a download link and perhaps set up a master thread so everyone knows where to find it

Last edited by Haltamer; 23rd May 2018 at 16:26.
Haltamer is offline  
Thanks to Haltamer from:
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 23rd May 2018, 16:44
 
peniole's Avatar
 
Join Date: 26th September 2011
Location: Bonn DE
Posts: 359
Thanks: 15
Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
I was pretty sure it's beyond RC3. When I looked up the version on screen (android settings>about), it's 0E.094.00.1123. Isn't that RC6? Garmin app is at 3.38.


The trip history isn't missing per se. It just happens to reset all MPG counters (A, B, current and previous drives) at random and only at startup. The trip meters themselves don't get reset, and if there is an MPG reading when I fill up or reset the trip meter manually it does save it into trip history. Along with that MPG reset, the ECON button and Main (cruise) buttons turn off. They tried updating everything they could think of back in January (connect, ECU...etc.), didn't work. They changed the instrument cluster under orders from Honda, no Joy. Battery fresh, electrics ok, alternator charging fine under load. It has refused to lock with an iMID freeze twice (iMID stuck showing rear seat belts fastened, even though they aren't and no-one was in the rear seats) after the car was turned off and key removed. Had to wait for it. Don't know if that last one is related.


It's going in soon for it's first service. So I'll bug them about it then. Don't want to screw up since it's still under warranty and their responsibility to get it fixed.
Haltamer likes this.

Last edited by peniole; 23rd May 2018 at 17:07.
peniole is offline  
post #11 of 17 (permalink) Old 23rd May 2018, 17:14
Supporter
 
riche's Avatar
 
Car: PM FK2 type r
Join Date: 5th August 2008
Location: LEICS ENGLAND
Posts: 471
Thanks: 18
Thanked 38 Times in 35 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Files for me if possible please.
riche is offline  
post #12 of 17 (permalink) Old 23rd May 2018, 18:55
Supporter
 
Haltamer's Avatar
 
Car: 9th Gen 1.4 Petrol SE + Navi
Join Date: 13th March 2017
Location: Essex, UK GB
Posts: 2,015
Thanks: 46
Thanked 293 Times in 263 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by leeb View Post
Can you send me the files please I want to have a go at it myself as I can't get in to my local honda for 2 weeks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by riche View Post
Files for me if possible please.
http://www.civinfo.com/forum/electro...ml#post5348074

All files now uploaded

Last edited by Haltamer; 23rd May 2018 at 19:09.
Haltamer is offline  
post #13 of 17 (permalink) Old 23rd May 2018, 21:34
 
Join Date: 13th April 2018
Posts: 12
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hello Chaps. Thanks for the thread. Apologies for my initial responxe, an attempt at humour that I expect didn't hit the mark. I have a Jan 17 9G that I got a month ago and would like to check what version software it is running. Can you tell me how to do this? Cheers
conroe452 is offline  
post #14 of 17 (permalink) Old 21st July 2018, 11:29
 
Join Date: 14th October 2016
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Does the RC8 update also improves compatibility with different phones via the mirror link? My SGS7 Edge is not compatible with the current head unit android system...
Edit: I can see that there is some improvement in the RC6... Would this update covered by my 5-year warranty service?

Last edited by liko2k; 21st July 2018 at 11:31.
liko2k is offline  
post #15 of 17 (permalink) Old 21st July 2018, 11:36
Supporter
 
Haltamer's Avatar
 
Car: 9th Gen 1.4 Petrol SE + Navi
Join Date: 13th March 2017
Location: Essex, UK GB
Posts: 2,015
Thanks: 46
Thanked 293 Times in 263 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Garage
With rc8, mirror link and Bluetooth run fine with my note 8 so you shouldn't have too much trouble.

You should have it covered under manufacturer warranty, just take it in and ask - as you can see, service bulletin is upon request only.

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
Haltamer is offline  
post #16 of 17 (permalink) Old 11th January 2019, 22:37
I Hate tailgaters!
 
Red Dwarf's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 1.6 SR Lunar Silver
Join Date: 11th December 2011
Location: Blackpool, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,330
Thanks: 12
Thanked 104 Times in 100 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
I find this Garmin not the brightest in guidance. My old pioneer had a learning mode so it remembered my preferred routes rather than coming up with its own suggestions. My pioneer would give me 6-8 suggested routes for me to choose from. (As a map of the uk with all routes colour coded) This gives you 3 or 4. When I go from home to M5 I like to avoid M6 Birmingham area so I go M6 toll to M42 M5. This doesn't offer this route but try's sending me through Birmingham or Wales or Manchester. To defeat it I've created a route in the ... can't remember name now aaaagh it's in the app on the Nav screen where to/view map. By creating favourite locations and selecting them as check points in order to destination its forced to go the way I want. My pioneer eventually started learning at a geometric rate. It became self aware at 2:14 am eastern time on August 29th.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Red Dwarf is offline  
post #17 of 17 (permalink) Old 12th January 2019, 06:21
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Car: MY13 1.8 EX Auto
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Location: West London ENGLAND
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
FYI

The standalone Garmin units also have this problem of bad and often silly routing after a map update.

Complaints include taking you off a motorway, down the sliproad then get you to rejoin the motorway via the on sliproad.
Taking you off a main road, round some side streets or a country track only to return you to the road were previously on but further along.

The answer for those units is to perform a 'full master reset' which in the vast majority of cases results in a 'sorted' reply.

How you achieve the same on the Honda Connect I don't know.
Kremmen is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 9th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2012 - 2016) > Electronics and ICE (9G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honda Connect wallpaper jamesmckelvie General Discussion (10G) 3 3rd February 2018 20:10
Honda Connect (2015 on) Kremmen Electronics and ICE (9G) 0 12th December 2016 15:17
Honda connect Hu KD9CIVIC General Discussion (9G) 9 1st April 2015 00:47
Satnav Where shall i put my Garmin? (not paying 1400 Honda) ballisma Electronics (8G) 16 24th June 2009 20:43

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome