Bassworks 9th gen third party subwoofer issue - Civinfo
 3Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 4th November 2018, 14:40 Thread Starter
 
Patsak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th May 2017
Posts: 16
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
9th gen third party subwoofer issue

Hi all,

I recently had a Pioneer TS-WX300A subwoofer installed. It works fine however it comes in strong when I rev between 1,500 to 1,700 and at 2,000 rpm. This happens even when radio,stereo off. I have taken in back to the guy and he cannot figure out what is causing it! This doesnít happen when the door is open. Last time I took it round he isolated it so it only picks up the signal from aux when I plug my phone and it has stopped doing it.

Has anyone come across anything similar? I would like this rectified as it is annoying have wires running on the side of the seat and not being able to hear the sub through the radio or cd.

Any feedback welcome
.

Thanks
Patsak is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 4th November 2018, 14:44
Super Moderator
 
M8TJT's Avatar
 
Car: 10G 1.5 Civic Prestige
Join Date: 10th October 2015
Location: Bexhill, Sussex GB
Posts: 2,918
Thanks: 87
Thanked 221 Times in 213 Posts
iTrader: (1)
What exactly do you mean bu "Comes in strong"? As you say it happens with the radio Off.
Where is the sub fitted?
M8TJT is online now  
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 4th November 2018, 14:50 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Patsak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th May 2017
Posts: 16
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
It kicks in depending the revs , like a strong boom and the goes away after the revs increase . If I am driving at a steady 1,600 rpm the bass is a loud constant thump.It is fitted in the boot


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Patsak is offline  
 
post #4 of 24 (permalink) Old 5th November 2018, 06:32
 
Car: 2013 1.6 N16a1
Join Date: 15th April 2016
Location: PL PL
Posts: 88
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Theres an option in i-mid that bump volume when speed is increase. Try turn off.
zdziseq is offline  
post #5 of 24 (permalink) Old 5th November 2018, 06:59
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Car: MY13 1.8 EX Auto
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Location: West London ENGLAND
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
It's always difficult to try and diagnose an issue when third party equipment has been wired in.

Hope you find a solution.
Kremmen is offline  
post #6 of 24 (permalink) Old 5th November 2018, 08:45 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Patsak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th May 2017
Posts: 16
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I had a look at the I-mid menu, didnít find anything relevant with speed increase. Only the speed alarm option


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Patsak is offline  
post #7 of 24 (permalink) Old 5th November 2018, 08:50
Supporter
 
Haltamer's Avatar
 
Car: 9th Gen 1.4 Petrol SE + Navi
Join Date: 13th March 2017
Location: Essex, UK GB
Posts: 2,019
Thanks: 46
Thanked 293 Times in 263 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Garage
IT should be in the menu along with BASS / TRE etc - Labelled SVC. That can be turned right down; The fact that the sound is coming through between an RPM range whilst the stereo is off makes it sound more like an engine / frame vibration; Possibly vibrating the sub?
Depending on how is it mounted, can you take it out of the boot to ensure it's not a vibration from elsewhere - You could even try remounting it with some shock isolation / damping mats.
Haltamer is offline  
post #8 of 24 (permalink) Old 8th November 2018, 21:20 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Patsak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th May 2017
Posts: 16
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I turned the Audio SVC off, however I donít know if that makes any difference at this moment, because the guy has rewired the sub to pick the signal just from my phone. As for the mounting I donít think itís that as now it works without the issue... I just canít hear it through cd/radio only phone


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Patsak is offline  
post #9 of 24 (permalink) Old 17th November 2018, 15:50 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Patsak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th May 2017
Posts: 16
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Just to update, the issue is still ongoing however you only notice it in low volume.. So having Audio SVC turned off doesnít do the trick. I donít know what to do.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Patsak is offline  
post #10 of 24 (permalink) Old 17th November 2018, 16:23
Supporter
 
Haltamer's Avatar
 
Car: 9th Gen 1.4 Petrol SE + Navi
Join Date: 13th March 2017
Location: Essex, UK GB
Posts: 2,019
Thanks: 46
Thanked 293 Times in 263 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Garage
Sounds like a power /interference issue, are all the connectors 100%?

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
Haltamer is offline  
post #11 of 24 (permalink) Old 17th November 2018, 16:51 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Patsak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th May 2017
Posts: 16
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I assume so , the guy checked it twice.. Iím taking it back next Saturday. He was saying something about a feature that is probably causing this , something about a low frequency white noise that comes on when you drive in motorway, to cancel outside noise? But it has to be interference from somewhere


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Patsak is offline  
post #12 of 24 (permalink) Old 17th November 2018, 16:54
Supporter
 
Haltamer's Avatar
 
Car: 9th Gen 1.4 Petrol SE + Navi
Join Date: 13th March 2017
Location: Essex, UK GB
Posts: 2,019
Thanks: 46
Thanked 293 Times in 263 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Garage
Ah, yes, that's probably it.
The 1.6 has active noise cancellation, that could well be why. There are microphones in the mirror pod for this, perhaps see if a passenger holding a pillow or similar to the roof light /mirror area has any impact on the sound output, barring that, you could have a look in the debug menu of the connect unit to see if anc can be disabled.

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
Haltamer is offline  
post #13 of 24 (permalink) Old 17th November 2018, 16:54
Super Moderator
 
M8TJT's Avatar
 
Car: 10G 1.5 Civic Prestige
Join Date: 10th October 2015
Location: Bexhill, Sussex GB
Posts: 2,918
Thanks: 87
Thanked 221 Times in 213 Posts
iTrader: (1)
That sounds a bit suspect to me. Do Honda cars have active noise cancellation? If they do, it's not white noise but internal road noise in the opposite polarity to cancel it.
M8TJT is online now  
post #14 of 24 (permalink) Old 17th November 2018, 17:03 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Patsak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th May 2017
Posts: 16
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
How do I access the debug menu?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Patsak is offline  
post #15 of 24 (permalink) Old 17th November 2018, 17:05
Supporter
 
Haltamer's Avatar
 
Car: 9th Gen 1.4 Petrol SE + Navi
Join Date: 13th March 2017
Location: Essex, UK GB
Posts: 2,019
Thanks: 46
Thanked 293 Times in 263 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by M8TJT View Post
That sounds a bit suspect to me. Do Honda cars have active noise cancellation? If they do, it's not white noise but internal road noise in the opposite polarity to cancel it.
They do on the 1.6 diesel 9g at least - not a very publicised feature, but you'll find it if you search.
The microphone comment is based on the component locating index from Marks, may be on the share if I pulled it.

It is low frequency since that is played, so it would translate to an indistinct rumble from the sub.
Perhaps an inline filter of some ilk that could squelch the output? That would allow you to retain noise cancellation, but I don't think such a thing exists.

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
M8TJT likes this.
Haltamer is offline  
post #16 of 24 (permalink) Old 17th November 2018, 17:07
Supporter
 
Haltamer's Avatar
 
Car: 9th Gen 1.4 Petrol SE + Navi
Join Date: 13th March 2017
Location: Essex, UK GB
Posts: 2,019
Thanks: 46
Thanked 293 Times in 263 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patsak View Post
How do I access the debug menu?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hold home, power and menu if I remember correctly - may take a couple of attempts, just hold them at the same time for a few seconds and it should pop in.

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
Haltamer is offline  
post #17 of 24 (permalink) Old 21st November 2018, 12:36 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Patsak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th May 2017
Posts: 16
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Found the debug menu but no joy. Did some googling and found a Gideon of a guy having the same issue and it is because of these two mics which are for the Active Noise Cancellation

We will disconnect these on Saturday and rewire the sub and fingers crossed it will be sorted


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Patsak is offline  
post #18 of 24 (permalink) Old 21st November 2018, 13:14
Supporter
 
Haltamer's Avatar
 
Car: 9th Gen 1.4 Petrol SE + Navi
Join Date: 13th March 2017
Location: Essex, UK GB
Posts: 2,019
Thanks: 46
Thanked 293 Times in 263 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Garage
Have a look on the File share that I've posted, it has wiring & Fuse box diagrams - You may be able to pop a fuse rather than have to remove the physical wiring.
Patsak likes this.
Haltamer is offline  
Thanks to Haltamer from:
post #19 of 24 (permalink) Old 23rd November 2018, 16:18
Supporter
 
Haltamer's Avatar
 
Car: 9th Gen 1.4 Petrol SE + Navi
Join Date: 13th March 2017
Location: Essex, UK GB
Posts: 2,019
Thanks: 46
Thanked 293 Times in 263 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Garage
Out of intrest, ( ) how was the fitting? I imagine this is on the stock headunit? do you have an alpine or the connect unit? I wouldn't mind doing something similar :d
Haltamer is offline  
post #20 of 24 (permalink) Old 24th November 2018, 10:24 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Patsak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th May 2017
Posts: 16
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Itís the stock head unit.. he did have a hard time in the beginning as the wire colours were different from any diagram found online. Anyway just came back and all sorted! He just unplugged the two mics as per photos and all is working fine


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
M8TJT likes this.
Patsak is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 9th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2012 - 2016) > Electronics and ICE (9G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrics 9th Gen Camera on a 8th Gen? hapzuk Electronics (8G) 6 8th August 2012 20:06
goodbye 8th gen SE hello 9th gen ES pdavis44 Introduce yourself 5 26th May 2012 21:13
goodbye 8th gen civic SE hello 9th gen ES newby from Norfolk pdavis44 Introduce yourself 8 19th May 2012 09:17
9th gen key in 8th gen? chrisdenman General Discussion (8G) 0 6th May 2012 14:52
Discounts on 8th gen options when 9th gen is out? Merk1981 Styling (8G) 8 25th November 2011 06:10

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome