Connects2... probably a stupid question - Civinfo
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By Kremmen
  • 1 Post By SuprUsr
  • 1 Post By Bartekkk
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 23rd November 2018, 20:21 Thread Starter
 
Car: Civic 1.5 Sport Plus
Join Date: 2nd May 2017
Location: Preston, Lancs
Posts: 56
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Connects2... probably a stupid question

Hi guys,

I think I probably already know the answer to this question... but

On a 2015 (facelift) Civic with the touchscreen media screen, if I removed this, and fitted an Android Auto headunit

I would lose all of the car's trip computer etc?
Right?

What else would be the downsides to doing this

Would the secondary screen (near the speed) also stop working?

Basically... trying to work out if I get a car without sat nav.. and installed an aftermarked HU with Android Auto - what the consequences of doing so would be.

Question also applies to pre facelift too..


Thanks!
futureal33 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 24th November 2018, 07:10 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Car: Civic 1.5 Sport Plus
Join Date: 2nd May 2017
Location: Preston, Lancs
Posts: 56
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Please could anyone confirm?

Im looking at a few 2015 models today, 4000 price range between SE trime and SR trim - so it would be really good to know if I got one without sat-nav and then planned to change the headunit for an Anroid Audio Double Din unit - if I would lose the iMid doing this... (that little screen near the speed display)

There must be someone out there who has changed the headunit who could confirm if the iMid still works with an aftermarket HU?

Cheers
futureal33 is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 24th November 2018, 07:27
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Car: MY13 1.8 EX Auto
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Location: West London ENGLAND
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Be patient, you didn't ask till half eight yesterday evening.

You should get a reply today, assuming anyone has used a Connects with a 9G.

While your waiting, perform a search in the 9G forum using "Connects2", I got 36 threads, maybe one of them has the info ?
M8TJT likes this.
Kremmen is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 24th November 2018, 13:25
 
Join Date: 13th July 2007
Posts: 17
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Interesting, where are you seeing a few 2015 Civics for 4k ish. The cheapest one in AutoTrader is 6.5k. 4k doesn't sound right to me.
Trev27 likes this.
SuprUsr is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 26th November 2018, 13:30
Wizard
 
Bartekkk's Avatar
 
Car: 2016, 1.6 i-DTEC SR, Silver
Join Date: 7th February 2018
Location: Gloucester, UK GB
Posts: 69
Thanks: 9
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
As far as I am aware, there is no Connects2 for Navi unit yet - either the Android or Alpine (Premium Sound System).

The one they have for sale CTSHO006.2 says it won't work with connect system. If you look at the image below, you can see the connectors on the unit are different compared to the kit.



In addition to that, the i-Mid also has different connectivity when compared to the unit from a non-Navi car. Possibility because it provides connectivity to the CANbus - Not 100% sure here, but I think replacement of the HU would also include replacement of the i-Mid and some dark wizardry to the connector.

Basically, replacing the stock Android unit would be a complete nightmare. I have asked Connects2 if they're ever provide a kit of the Navi unit, their response: "Unfortunately at present we do not have an interface for vehicle with the Honda Connect radio. It is possible we will have a solution for this vehicle in the future."

This is all a wild guess - so don't rely on this 100%
Kremmen likes this.
Bartekkk is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 26th November 2018, 13:36 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Car: Civic 1.5 Sport Plus
Join Date: 2nd May 2017
Location: Preston, Lancs
Posts: 56
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
So just to confirm, the Connects2 kit is for pre-facelift only?
futureal33 is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 26th November 2018, 13:41
Wizard
 
Bartekkk's Avatar
 
Car: 2016, 1.6 i-DTEC SR, Silver
Join Date: 7th February 2018
Location: Gloucester, UK GB
Posts: 69
Thanks: 9
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by futureal33 View Post
So just to confirm, the Connects2 kit is for pre-facelift only?
If the facelift models don't have a standard radio as an option - I believe the answer is yes.
Bartekkk is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 26th November 2018, 13:49 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Car: Civic 1.5 Sport Plus
Join Date: 2nd May 2017
Location: Preston, Lancs
Posts: 56
Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I'm even more confused now!

I've read quite a few posts on here where people have changed the headunit, some successfully.. others not (loss of audio) but it wasn't clear whether they were pre-FL (2012-2014) or post-FL (2015+) models.

One of the cars I am very interested in is a 2014 EX GT model with the Alpine Premium Audio system (inc nav etc) - the one with buttons either side of the screen... but I know full-well that I would like to change the headunit to an Android Auto one... but I'm not sure if this is possible.. it is pre-FL, premium audio (subwoofer in boot) etc

Last edited by futureal33; 26th November 2018 at 13:53.
futureal33 is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 26th November 2018, 14:08
 
CoreyFN3's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 CIVIC TypeS 2.2
Join Date: 23rd April 2018
Location: Northern Ireland GB
Posts: 9
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
I know my with my 2008 civic the connects2 just went straight into the CD changer input, does the facelift model have one? if so have a look around to see if there's a box that might fit into that input, thats the best bet until theres a connects2 specifically for that model, alternatively you could visit a car audio shop and they *might* be able to help you out, not 100% sure though, sorry.
CoreyFN3 is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 27th November 2018, 06:24
 
Car: 2013 1.6 N16a1
Join Date: 15th April 2016
Location: PL PL
Posts: 87
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartekkk View Post
...

In addition to that, the i-Mid also has different connectivity when compared to the unit from a non-Navi car. ....

....
Are You sure with that?
zdziseq is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 27th November 2018, 10:49
Wizard
 
Bartekkk's Avatar
 
Car: 2016, 1.6 i-DTEC SR, Silver
Join Date: 7th February 2018
Location: Gloucester, UK GB
Posts: 69
Thanks: 9
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by zdziseq View Post
Are You sure with that?
Not 100%

I've seen an image couple of weeks ago where one of the i-mid has additional connector and the other doesn't.
Will post here when I find it.
Bartekkk is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 9th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2012 - 2016) > Electronics and ICE (9G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stupid is as stupid does Grayfox Any non Civic chat here please! 13 21st March 2014 00:57
Stupid Stupid me.... henbury General Discussion (8G) 16 7th October 2013 12:09
Stupid, Stupid, Stupid Grayfox General Discussion (8G) 15 17th November 2012 14:23
I am probably being stupid but.... nick130980 General Discussion (8G) 13 4th October 2012 20:48
Stupid, No very stupid joke!!!! MikeW Any non Civic chat here please! 10 15th May 2009 18:29

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome