Head Unit Obd reader with Torque app - Civinfo
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Jon_G
  • 1 Post By sasquartch
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 11th January 2019, 18:05 Thread Starter
I Hate tailgaters!
 
Red Dwarf's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 1.6 SR Lunar Silver
Join Date: 11th December 2011
Location: Blackpool, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,332
Thanks: 12
Thanked 104 Times in 100 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Obd reader with Torque app

Has anybody successfully installed the Torque app onto their connect unit?
I've found a OBD reader that shuts off when car turned unlike some which continue to drain battery. It's a Bluetooth one. But I have a iPhone 7 so cannot install Torque on my phone as it's a android app I could buy a android pad or phone but don't want extra cost. Lots of apps for iPhone but it's finding a decent OBD reader that's doesn't drain battery or at worst bugger my car up.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Red Dwarf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 11th January 2019, 18:51
Supporter
 
Haltamer's Avatar
 
Car: 9th Gen 1.4 Petrol SE + Navi
Join Date: 13th March 2017
Location: Essex, UK GB
Posts: 2,016
Thanks: 46
Thanked 293 Times in 263 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Garage
Yes, It can be installed just the same as any other 3rd party app using the various workarounds, and then just connect to bluetooth - Usually the most patience-testing part.

Have you already installed 3rd Party apps, if not, do you know what software version your headunit is on at the moment? RC6 / RC8?
Haltamer is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 12th January 2019, 16:44 Thread Starter
I Hate tailgaters!
** Thread starter **
 
Red Dwarf's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 1.6 SR Lunar Silver
Join Date: 11th December 2011
Location: Blackpool, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,332
Thanks: 12
Thanked 104 Times in 100 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Not yet. Still trying to work out cheapest way of purchasing Torque app. Getting software onto a USB stick so I can install it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Red Dwarf is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 16th January 2019, 22:52
 
Join Date: 16th January 2019
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I got mine off playstore albeit for an android! Works perfectly fine with my s8. Available straight from the playstore itself.
Projectcivic is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 17th January 2019, 08:05
Bye bye Honda...
 
Jon_G's Avatar
 
Car: Volvo V60 VEA D4 (181)
Join Date: 11th May 2012
Location: Ludlow, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 5,759
Thanks: 1,051
Thanked 1,265 Times in 1,042 Posts
iTrader: (1)
I'm pretty sure that Apple devices cannot work with a Bluetooth ELM327 type adaptor and you need a WiFi adaptor instead.

Additionally you cannot use the Torque app and need to use an Apple app such as Dash command...
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/dash...321293183?mt=8
Trev27 likes this.
Jon_G is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 17th January 2019, 09:43 Thread Starter
I Hate tailgaters!
** Thread starter **
 
Red Dwarf's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 1.6 SR Lunar Silver
Join Date: 11th December 2011
Location: Blackpool, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,332
Thanks: 12
Thanked 104 Times in 100 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage


This is the OBD reader I've been looking at. States for iPhone use. Low power drain important when car turned off and left for a week or so. Don't want to be continuously pulling it out/in/out etc. Obviously will only work with apps for iPhone and is a Bluetooth connection. My only concern is would my phone still be able to make/receive calls/music via Bluetooth or would it be one or the other. Wifi connection is the other choice but I've read Bluetooth seems to gives better connect ability. For Torque I'd have added expense of buying android tablet/phone plus car power cables etc.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Red Dwarf is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 17th January 2019, 11:19
Ex-Pat Geordie!
 
nturnb's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Civic S Navi I-dtec
Join Date: 17th November 2013
Location: Irvine, Ayrshire GB
Posts: 2,188
Thanks: 119
Thanked 223 Times in 204 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
I have the ELM327 and it does not work for the 2015 1.6 I-DTEC. In fact, have bought a few readers and nothing seems to work. Foxwell don't offer anythng either that works on mine as I've emailed them a few times to see if the situation has changed. If anyone out there knows of one that will work on mine you could let me know.

Tried the Apple Torque app and that didn't work, also tried the Android Torque version and all that did was let me know eng temp etc, wouldn't let me look at codes or anything.
nturnb is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 17th January 2019, 13:57
 
Car: 2013 1.6 N16a1
Join Date: 15th April 2016
Location: PL PL
Posts: 87
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I have ELM327 and it works well with torque pro.

When engine is on, enable BT in phone then plug ELM to OBD "on live". Wait few sec then pair with phone.
zdziseq is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 17th January 2019, 15:03
Bye bye Honda...
 
Jon_G's Avatar
 
Car: Volvo V60 VEA D4 (181)
Join Date: 11th May 2012
Location: Ludlow, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 5,759
Thanks: 1,051
Thanked 1,265 Times in 1,042 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by zdziseq View Post
I have ELM327 and it works well with torque pro.

When engine is on, enable BT in phone then plug ELM to OBD "on live". Wait few sec then pair with phone.
With an Apple device?
Jon_G is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 17th January 2019, 17:23
 
Car: 2013 1.6 N16a1
Join Date: 15th April 2016
Location: PL PL
Posts: 87
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
nope, android
zdziseq is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 18th January 2019, 11:35
 
Car: Civic Tourer 1.6DTEC
Join Date: 3rd December 2015
Location: Herts, UK GB
Posts: 234
Thanks: 5
Thanked 16 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (0)
If you want to use an Apple phone then a cheap ELM-327 device wont work

You need something that supports Bluetooth 4.0, there are plenty available on Amazon, about 15 quid when I looked last week.

It's an Apple restriction, nothing to do with Honda
Jon_G likes this.
sasquartch is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 9th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2012 - 2016) > Electronics and ICE (9G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OBD Reader M8TJT Tools and Accessories 36 21st February 2018 17:42
Electrics Obd reader info Typersam1 Electronics (8G) 3 30th May 2016 22:37
Civ 8th generation (?) OBD reader RobTreasure General Discussion (8G) 4 9th September 2013 08:09
Computer Which OBD Reader???? ekcivic2010 Electronics (8G) 5 6th March 2013 11:20
Engine OBD 2? Reader - around North West michael3011 Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 3 5th January 2012 20:12

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome