Replace Honda Connect with Aftermarket - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 20th January 2019, 20:23 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
Car: 2015 1.6 i-DTEC, White
Join Date: 30th December 2018
Location: London, UK GB
Posts: 19
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Replace Honda Connect with Aftermarket

Hi all,

I am just toying with the idea, and wondering if anyone attempted to replace the Honda head unit with an aftermarket unit, while retaining all the features?

The Honda unit is fairly integrated, so I was wondering if there is any unit which can replace all its features, while adding additional features such as carplay.

Sent from my Mi A2 using Tapatalk
ken218 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 26th January 2019, 13:34
Civinfo Hobbyist Trader
 
coolice's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14th March 2008
Location: UK ENGLAND
Posts: 2,475
Thanks: 1,360
Thanked 297 Times in 276 Posts
iTrader: (70)
Hey buddy.

I'm keeping an eye on this sort of upgrade myself.
From my internet trawling I've seen a couple of options and some for the 10th gen, which if we could fit in our 9G's would work well to.

1. https://www.belsee.com/belsee-best-a...hatchback.html

This suits our 9G and is available in LHD and RHD formats from some places.

2. https://www.phoenixautomotiveinc.com...nt=37561266637

This is for the 10G, but from forums all features seem to work and mpg details.

It's the canbus link we need to keep to do this, but with a better HU installing any Android app would be easy.

You can get the facias only and install almost any aftermarket headunit. I'll grab that link later.

Ian Contessa
coolice is offline  
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 1st February 2019, 21:57 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Car: 2015 1.6 i-DTEC, White
Join Date: 30th December 2018
Location: London, UK GB
Posts: 19
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Thanks for the info. ouch, they are not cheap :O

But i agree, aftermarket headunit will allow us to install any apps we need, which is the idea.
ken218 is offline  
 
post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 2nd February 2019, 20:39
 
hatter's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V EX 1.6 i-dtec auto
Join Date: 23rd July 2016
Location: Rotherham, South Yorkshire ENGLAND
Posts: 165
Thanks: 12
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ken218 View Post
Thanks for the info. ouch, they are not cheap :O

But i agree, aftermarket headunit will allow us to install any apps we need, which is the idea.
Compared to the price Honda quote for the Connect unit they are really cheap.
hatter is offline  
post #5 of 21 (permalink) Old 4th February 2019, 11:44
Civinfo Hobbyist Trader
 
coolice's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14th March 2008
Location: UK ENGLAND
Posts: 2,475
Thanks: 1,360
Thanked 297 Times in 276 Posts
iTrader: (70)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ken218 View Post
Thanks for the info. ouch, they are not cheap :O

But i agree, aftermarket headunit will allow us to install any apps we need, which is the idea.
You're welcome buddy, glad to post some ideas.
I'd really like to see one of these in the 9G, but so far I've only seen the 10G one.


I have wondered if the 10G head unit, running 4.2.2 I think, would work in the 9G, assuming the security code can be changed to suit the VIN of hte 9G it's going into.


Keep us posted if you do decide to try something.


Ian
coolice is offline  
post #6 of 21 (permalink) Old 7th February 2019, 21:36
Dutch
 
Xa4cornelis's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Sport 1.6 sporty blue
Join Date: 7th January 2012
Location: near Rotterdam, NL NL
Posts: 1,921
Thanks: 274
Thanked 352 Times in 328 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Garage
Iím also considering, I really want CarPlay in my car.....
just need the connects2 stuff I think?
Xa4cornelis is offline  
post #7 of 21 (permalink) Old 7th February 2019, 21:57
Civinfo Hobbyist Trader
 
coolice's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14th March 2008
Location: UK ENGLAND
Posts: 2,475
Thanks: 1,360
Thanked 297 Times in 276 Posts
iTrader: (70)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xa4cornelis View Post
Iím also considering, I really want CarPlay in my car.....
just need the connects2 stuff I think?
Hey buddy.

I came across the Connect2 facia the other day on eBay. It looks good, but changes if your car has the Honda amplifier. If yes then I think you need another type.

I've also found a nice headunit from Xtrons which I think will work well to along with the right Canbus adaptor.

Ian Contessa
coolice is offline  
post #8 of 21 (permalink) Old 7th February 2019, 21:58
Dutch
 
Xa4cornelis's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Sport 1.6 sporty blue
Join Date: 7th January 2012
Location: near Rotterdam, NL NL
Posts: 1,921
Thanks: 274
Thanked 352 Times in 328 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolice View Post
Hey buddy.



I came across the Connect2 facia the other day on eBay. It looks good, but changes if your car has the Honda amplifier. If yes then I think you need another type.



I've also found a nice headunit from Xtrons which I think will work well to along with the right Canbus adaptor.



Ian Contessa


Thanks!
How can I found out if I have the amp version or not?
Xa4cornelis is offline  
post #9 of 21 (permalink) Old 7th February 2019, 22:15
Civinfo Hobbyist Trader
 
coolice's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14th March 2008
Location: UK ENGLAND
Posts: 2,475
Thanks: 1,360
Thanked 297 Times in 276 Posts
iTrader: (70)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xa4cornelis View Post
Thanks!
How can I found out if I have the amp version or not?
Hey buddy.

You're welcome.

I'm not sure, with the R it's the GT spec which has the amplifier. I'm not sure with other 9G's what spec has it to.
Do you have the Honda sub in the boot? If yes then you may have the amp to.

Ian
coolice is offline  
post #10 of 21 (permalink) Old 7th February 2019, 22:19
Dutch
 
Xa4cornelis's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Sport 1.6 sporty blue
Join Date: 7th January 2012
Location: near Rotterdam, NL NL
Posts: 1,921
Thanks: 274
Thanked 352 Times in 328 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolice View Post
Hey buddy.



You're welcome.



I'm not sure, with the R it's the GT spec which has the amplifier. I'm not sure with other 9G's what spec has it to.

Do you have the Honda sub in the boot? If yes then you may have the amp to.



Ian


No sub, so I donít think I have the amp.
Hopefully the roof dab antenna will fit in the connects2 also.
Xa4cornelis is offline  
post #11 of 21 (permalink) Old 8th February 2019, 18:39
Dutch
 
Xa4cornelis's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Sport 1.6 sporty blue
Join Date: 7th January 2012
Location: near Rotterdam, NL NL
Posts: 1,921
Thanks: 274
Thanked 352 Times in 328 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Garage
Wouldnít the new double din fit in the old fascia, the Hondaconnect is also 2din right?

Was just thinking about that.
Xa4cornelis is offline  
post #12 of 21 (permalink) Old 8th February 2019, 19:32
 
Join Date: 20th December 2006
Posts: 10
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
If you check this video you can see the back of the existing head unit
I've thought about trying to replace the unit with an 8" tablet to support music and satnav, namely Waze....
Plan would be to dismantle existing unit...remove all the control buttons, rig up a mount for the tablet (maybe have to cut existing fascia but saves having to buy a new surround) and have a mini amp hidden in there to drive the existing speakers....
I'd lose the car radio functionality but tbh I'm not bothered about that
Might end up not working and in the meantime I've demolished the existing unit
It just strikes me that the specialist double din head units are a small fortune and I can buy something which would also support 4G for a lot less ie this https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Orig...889116773.html
adder is offline  
post #13 of 21 (permalink) Old 9th February 2019, 14:33
Civinfo Hobbyist Trader
 
coolice's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14th March 2008
Location: UK ENGLAND
Posts: 2,475
Thanks: 1,360
Thanked 297 Times in 276 Posts
iTrader: (70)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xa4cornelis View Post
Wouldnít the new double din fit in the old fascia, the Hondaconnect is also 2din right?

Was just thinking about that.
Hey Buddy.


Good question, but as adder has said above, I think it might be a little mroe integrated into the panel than simply bolted to the back.


You can get the facia panels cheaply from Aliexpress;


https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Hott...687d2e0eHKKyWb


Then you get the different facia finish plate to suit your choice of head unit.


Ian Contessa
coolice is offline  
Thanks to coolice from:
post #14 of 21 (permalink) Old 9th February 2019, 14:39
Civinfo Hobbyist Trader
 
coolice's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14th March 2008
Location: UK ENGLAND
Posts: 2,475
Thanks: 1,360
Thanked 297 Times in 276 Posts
iTrader: (70)
Quote:
Originally Posted by adder View Post
If you check this video you can see the back of the existing head unit Honda Civic (2014) CTKHD06 Installation Kit - YouTube
I've thought about trying to replace the unit with an 8" tablet to support music and satnav, namely Waze....
Plan would be to dismantle existing unit...remove all the control buttons, rig up a mount for the tablet (maybe have to cut existing fascia but saves having to buy a new surround) and have a mini amp hidden in there to drive the existing speakers....
I'd lose the car radio functionality but tbh I'm not bothered about that
Might end up not working and in the meantime I've demolished the existing unit
It just strikes me that the specialist double din head units are a small fortune and I can buy something which would also support 4G for a lot less ie this https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Orig...889116773.html
Hey Buddy.


I've considered a tablet to, as you get all the Android features in a small form factor. Plus you could make it removable, so use as a tablet or in the car.


But, then when you think about it, by the time you've added an amp and the various output adaptor to send power and speaker signals to/from the tablet, you may as well buy a proper headunit.
Also I'm thinking Canbus integration also, the steering wheel controls and trip computer information can be got at via the right head unit.


I'm looking at two currently, one being an Xtrons and the other one from Aliexpress again.


https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/XTRONS-An...53.m1438.l2649


https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32G-...687d2e0eHKKyWb


For the price the Xtrons is better value, but the one with it's own facia will most likely look more OEM once fitted.


It's one of those things where you'd like to see one working in a video before commiting, to know exactly what works still and what doesn't.


This one looks to come with the Canbus adaptor box;


https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Octa...5-da6eefe4a6d8


Ian Contessa
coolice is offline  
Thanks to coolice from:
post #15 of 21 (permalink) Old 9th February 2019, 17:15
Dutch
 
Xa4cornelis's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Sport 1.6 sporty blue
Join Date: 7th January 2012
Location: near Rotterdam, NL NL
Posts: 1,921
Thanks: 274
Thanked 352 Times in 328 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by adder View Post
If you check this video you can see the back of the existing head unit Honda Civic (2014) CTKHD06 Installation Kit - YouTube
I've thought about trying to replace the unit with an 8" tablet to support music and satnav, namely Waze....
Plan would be to dismantle existing unit...remove all the control buttons, rig up a mount for the tablet (maybe have to cut existing fascia but saves having to buy a new surround) and have a mini amp hidden in there to drive the existing speakers....
I'd lose the car radio functionality but tbh I'm not bothered about that
Might end up not working and in the meantime I've demolished the existing unit
It just strikes me that the specialist double din head units are a small fortune and I can buy something which would also support 4G for a lot less ie this https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Orig...889116773.html


Thanks!
My headunit looks a bit different mate, I have the 2din Hondaconnect.
Xa4cornelis is offline  
post #16 of 21 (permalink) Old 9th February 2019, 17:31
Dutch
 
Xa4cornelis's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Sport 1.6 sporty blue
Join Date: 7th January 2012
Location: near Rotterdam, NL NL
Posts: 1,921
Thanks: 274
Thanked 352 Times in 328 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Garage
Replace Honda Connect with Aftermarket

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolice View Post
Hey Buddy.


Good question, but as adder has said above, I think it might be a little mroe integrated into the panel than simply bolted to the back.


You can get the facia panels cheaply from Aliexpress;


https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Hott...687d2e0eHKKyWb


Then you get the different facia finish plate to suit your choice of head unit.


Ian Contessa


Thanks, better prices!
But still need the connects2 leads for the steering wheel and other cables. Also I donít know how the oem rear view camera is fitted? Hopefully with a rca? And the oem microphone?

Last edited by Xa4cornelis; 9th February 2019 at 17:39.
Xa4cornelis is offline  
post #17 of 21 (permalink) Old 8th July 2019, 06:57
 
Car: 9th gen 2016 1.6 i-DTEC
Join Date: 30th March 2017
Location: Italy IT
Posts: 10
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
(I'found this topic just now, I have posted a new topic with the same question, sorry) do you have found a way to replace Honda Connect retaining correct clock time on imid and wheel phone buttons?
Heavyhms is offline  
post #18 of 21 (permalink) Old 11th July 2019, 13:55
 
Car: 9th gen 2016 1.6 i-DTEC
Join Date: 30th March 2017
Location: Italy IT
Posts: 10
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Watching programs installed on my rc8 connect i can see some interesting system app such: com.fujitsu.ten.displayaudio.imidservice.
Is there any user with rooted Connect able to extract these applications and make them installable as apk on standard android radio?
It may be possible to make the i-mid fully compatible with third-party android radios
Heavyhms is offline  
post #19 of 21 (permalink) Old 11th July 2019, 16:11
Civinfo Hobbyist Trader
 
coolice's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14th March 2008
Location: UK ENGLAND
Posts: 2,475
Thanks: 1,360
Thanked 297 Times in 276 Posts
iTrader: (70)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heavyhms View Post
(I'found this topic just now, I have posted a new topic with the same question, sorry) do you have found a way to replace Honda Connect retaining correct clock time on imid and wheel phone buttons?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heavyhms View Post
Watching programs installed on my rc8 connect i can see some interesting system app such: com.fujitsu.ten.displayaudio.imidservice.
Is there any user with rooted Connect able to extract these applications and make them installable as apk on standard android radio?
It may be possible to make the i-mid fully compatible with third-party android radios
Hey Buddy.


There may be options to repalce the radio (iMid) entierly and still retain the majority, if not all, of the functions. Even those requiring the CanBus data for such things as the trip computer etc. Also some features might be added also, but I have not seen a good enough video showing the replacement radio in a 9G Civic so cannot be sure.


However there are a handful available from Chinese sources that look interesting, the 10G versions have more videos obivosuly and show a lot more about what features are retained and which ones aren't maybe.


1. https://www.belsee.com/belsee-best-a...hatchback.html This looks to be a straight swap almost, this oens LHD but i have seen RHD versions to.


2. Dasaita seems to be a good one; https://dasaita.aliexpress.com/store..._5904672.1_3_4
No specific 9G fiting one I have found, but team a universal with a facia plate and it maybe a good option. Here is one fitted into a CRV which won't be far off what we have in our Civics;


https://www.hrvforum.com/threads/das...-v840-8.39897/
Looks to retain all features, but again not found any good information when fitted in a 9G.


3. Phoenix looked to make one that integrated well to; https://www.phoenixautomotiveinc.com...box/make_honda But no 9G, maybe a universal would work.


With regard to root on the iMid, you can do this yourself if you're up for the challenge?
All the information you're likely to need can be found here; https://forum.xda-developers.com/gen...droid-t3179549 it's a long thread, but there is a lot of good information in there.
Radios linked above that appear to retain features do so because the Honda specific apps have been extracted from the iMid I assume and rebuilt into APK's, so there is hope there.


If you find anything out please let us know, as I have not delved deeper.


Ian Contessa
coolice is offline  
post #20 of 21 (permalink) Old 11th July 2019, 19:09
 
Car: 9th gen 2016 1.6 i-DTEC
Join Date: 30th March 2017
Location: Italy IT
Posts: 10
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hi Coolice all replacement i see are for civic with standard radio or Pioneer navigation multimedia system.
In these models models I-Mid (Honda secondary screen) has autonomous clock.
In models with Honda Connect (with or without Garmin Navigator), a (obsolete) android based multimedia system, the secondary display, despite being identical to view to old I-Mid does NOT have any autonomous clock setting, but the time is connected to the one set in Honda Connect.
Without Honda Connect is totally impossible to set time on secondary display.
Being Connect an Android device, i suspect that the time display function on the secondary screen is driven by the pre-installed com.fujitsu.ten.displayaudio.imidservice system-wide application on Honda connect, hence my request
Heavyhms is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 9th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2012 - 2016) > Electronics and ICE (9G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Head Unit 2013 Civic SE-T HDD aftermarket replace Patsak Electronics and ICE (9G) 0 13th June 2018 21:00
Honda Connect - Useful information for Honda App Center & Aha App Steve_m Electronics and ICE (9G) 12 23rd March 2016 19:38
Replace 2014 Sat Nav with aftermarket Bilbomacuser General Discussion (9G) 0 16th August 2015 22:55
Honda Connect does it work with Iphone Eurogreg Electronics and ICE (9G) 9 18th March 2015 14:00
Amplifier Is it Possible to connect sub/amp to original honda headunit? Majeed Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 4 16th December 2013 08:22

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome