Sat nav only major A roads - Civinfo
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By mattee777
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 21st March 2019, 14:13 Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 21st March 2019
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Sat nav only major A roads

Hi, I have just got my hand on a 2016 plate, Car is lovely apart from 2 things. The sat nav only shows major A roads. no other roads exist in the map, its just field. I also have no 3d info (building ect) The map files appear to be up to date (2019) Also the Car (arrow) icon is away (to the left of the road) when driving on said A road. I have tried to perform an update and garmin express said the map was up to date, Should i proceed to reinstall anyway or does it sound like a different issue i'm facing.
mattee777 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 21st March 2019, 16:22
Supporter
 
Haltamer's Avatar
 
Car: 9th Gen 1.4 Petrol SE + Navi
Join Date: 13th March 2017
Location: Essex, UK GB
Posts: 2,022
Thanks: 47
Thanked 294 Times in 264 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Garage
Hmm; Sounds like the map files are toastered; Unless there are any settings changed in the GPS app re. map detail levels?

Could be worth trying a full reboot (Hold power button until the unit shuts down completely - Upon restarting you should get a flat 2D Honda logo) - See if that reloads the app and fixes the issues; If not, given you've just picked it up, I imagine you may be in warranty to get the dealer to take a look?
Haltamer is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 21st March 2019, 17:28 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 21st March 2019
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hi Haltamer, It wasn't purchased through Honda, I purchased the car through a ford dealer. I took out a 12 month warranty but i doubt they will look into this for me. I have tried a reset and it didn't work, so i will attempt a re-install of the maps at home and see how that goes. Do you know how much an update in the software usually costs at a Honda dealer?
mattee777 is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 21st March 2019, 17:38 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 21st March 2019
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Sorry typo.... 2015 model
mattee777 is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 21st March 2019, 18:43
Supporter
 
Haltamer's Avatar
 
Car: 9th Gen 1.4 Petrol SE + Navi
Join Date: 13th March 2017
Location: Essex, UK GB
Posts: 2,022
Thanks: 47
Thanked 294 Times in 264 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Garage
As it's 2015, is it the post facelift with projector Headlights with integrated DRLs?

These have the honda connect garmin unit - if it's the pre facelift it will have the alpine headunit.

Just checking as that is the changeover year.

If it is the post facelift with honda connect,
Generally, the dealer will throw it in with a dealer service; but it may be worth looking at the RC8 update files and process I've posted - that way you can run the update yourself of the underlying headunit - that just leaves the maps files themselves.

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
Haltamer is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 22nd March 2019, 17:00 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 21st March 2019
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Its the post facelift with Connect. I managed to install the maps last night, got to 2% in the car and the update stopped, tried again straight after and it completed. The maps and my location on them are fine now, it looks like whoever tried to put them on before failed and gave up, leaving the car with just major roads. I think i will wait for the service before updating now i have it working fine.

Thanks
Haltamer likes this.
mattee777 is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 25th March 2019, 11:04
 
Car: Civic Tourer 1.6DTEC
Join Date: 3rd December 2015
Location: Herts, UK GB
Posts: 235
Thanks: 5
Thanked 16 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Good result

As it's now working I'd leave well alone, if it ain't broke then don't fix it
sasquartch is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 25th March 2019, 13:00
Supporter
 
Join Date: 9th December 2013
Location: Melton Mowbray GB
Posts: 906
Thanks: 10
Thanked 86 Times in 78 Posts
iTrader: (0)
If the advert for the car said it has SAT NAV, then you are legally entitled to WORKING SAT NAV, regardless of if you buy it from Honda, Ford, or Dodgy Dave's Garage...
cavalrystu is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 9th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2012 - 2016) > Electronics and ICE (9G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sat Nav took me on a mystery tour today leannecamb Electronics and ICE (9G) 12 5th June 2015 15:50
Buying a Type R - Sat nav question Clev Type-R 6 12th March 2015 12:16
Head Unit Sat nav radio to a non sat nav car Drejc Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 3 4th December 2014 11:50
Satnav Sat Nav and Minor Roads For Mash Get Smash Electronics (8G) 12 1st August 2007 21:50
Add-on nav add sat nav to a non sat nav civic? w.car Electronics (8G) 3 15th June 2007 21:24

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome