Upgrades Wiring help - need to turn on the premium amp - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 30th March 2019, 01:46 Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 30th March 2019
Posts: 9
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Wiring help - need to turn on the premium amp

Hi. I've got a 2015 Civic black edition 1.6Dtec, UK Version.

I've decided to upgrade the stereo head unit to a Sony XAV-AX3005DB.
I was using the CTKHD06 kit from Connects2, and all was going well, it seemed.
Unit comes on when I turn the ignition, the unit can search and find radio, the steering wheel remote works, my iphone connects to the sony and carplay works.
The only problem is there's no audio! Rather a large problem!

I understand that the OEM premium stereo provides non-amplified line-out signals, and these go to the Honda amp. That's fine, the Sony has preamp outputs on RCAs for all channels, so I can patch them into the Sony ISO harness.

What I'm a bit stuck with however, is how do I turn the Honda amp on? I believe there's a signal to it from the OEM head unit, but which wire?
Also, what signal does the amp need to turn on, is it a switched live, the same as goes to the Sony head unit to turn it on when the ignition key is turned?

Thanks in advance for any help.
Sion Jones is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 30th March 2019, 13:25
Supporter
 
Haltamer's Avatar
 
Car: 9th Gen 1.4 Petrol SE + Navi
Join Date: 13th March 2017
Location: Essex, UK GB
Posts: 2,017
Thanks: 46
Thanked 293 Times in 263 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Garage
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1we...Gn2nZrY-QIVJ19

Try my handy dandy "useful bits and bobs" share

Specifically;
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1XN...cyG8Dgsp3cgYol
That's the Sound Upgrade attachment instructions
And the wiring diagram for sound upgrade attachement:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1p2...Dy0NU10OyIBLOg

Hopefully of some use! There's more wiring diagrams if you have a look around.
Haltamer is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 30th March 2019, 17:53 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 30th March 2019
Posts: 9
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I'm terribly sorry, but I don't see the relevance of either the second or third link in your post.

I believe that in order to turn on the Honda amplifier, I need to connect lead 13 in my Sony head unit's harness


To lead 24 in the Honda's main 24 pin connector...


After much more digging, I believe that's the correct setup - and then use the non-amplified RCA outputs on the sony to connect to the various Audio-in and sub-in on the Honda's wiring harness.

But if anyone can confirm or deny that, it would be very much appreciated!
Sion Jones is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 31st March 2019, 01:57 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 30th March 2019
Posts: 9
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Ok, I got the audio working.
So, what I've done is to keep using the Honda "premium audio" amplifier.
I cut the leads in the Sony ISO harness, so instead of connecting to the little black plug that goes into the sony unit (which are amplified), I've terminated them in 4x RCA/phono connectors, which then go to the preamp front L/R and rear L/R connections. +ve connection to the RCA inner, -ve connection to the RCA outer.



I've also tapped into the subwoofer connection on the Honda wiring harness (AUDIO UNIT CONNECTOR E 8P), and connected that to an RCA/phono plug, which connects to the back of the Sony unit.



Next, I've tapped into the standard Honda harness again, since the Connects2 CTSHO006.2 kit doesn't have the wire to turn the amplifier on.
This time I've taken the blue/white lead from the Sony ISO harness, and connected it to Lead 21 on the main Honda connector A, which is where the power amp gets it's signal to turn on...


And there we have it. It works. She chooches.

I still have some minor things to do:
At the moment, I've got the Sony USB connector coming into the glove box, which is a very minor inconvenience. I'd like to use the USB connector that's under the armrest in the centre console, but I've not found where that come out in the wiring loom, yet.
Sion Jones is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 31st March 2019, 22:37
Supporter
 
Biscuitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 8th March 2019
Posts: 31
Thanks: 4
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Surely this info should be on a sticky as it seems a common issue with all us diesel owners
Biscuitman is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 9th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2012 - 2016) > Electronics and ICE (9G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrades Premium Audio Gracenote Update Kremmen Electronics and ICE (9G) 6 7th September 2017 22:24
Engine My car wont start Kutsikas15 Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 49 12th February 2013 14:41
Turn by turn guidance on the I-MID Reverend Electronics and ICE (9G) 7 8th October 2012 22:22
No turn by turn option tamzin Electronics and ICE (9G) 9 9th August 2012 10:48
Amplifier Amplifier wiring connections for 2007 honda Civic LX mackendw Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 2 3rd January 2007 16:42

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome