Failed RC8 update, what options do I have? - Civinfo
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By sasquartch
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 7th April 2019, 09:57 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
rob.e's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Civic Tourer D-TEC SR
Join Date: 5th September 2017
Location: Oxford
Posts: 203
Thanks: 26
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Failed RC8 update, what options do I have?

Dealer tried to put RC8 on my connect yesterday. Won’t boot up now, just showing the “H” logo, seems to reset itself then redisplays the logo again.. keeps going round in a loop. Tried holding the on/off for 10 sec etc and that does nothing.

Reversing camera is now in colour though so something is definitely different 🙂

Dealer chap said he’d talk to Honda UK and see what they recommend.

Anybody seen this before? Any suggestions ?
rob.e is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 9th April 2019, 11:57
 
allskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 25th January 2016
Location: Portugal PT
Posts: 28
Thanks: 4
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Maybe the unit bricked. Maybe they will replace it.
allskin is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 9th April 2019, 15:19
Supporter
 
Haltamer's Avatar
 
Car: 9th Gen 1.4 Petrol SE + Navi
Join Date: 13th March 2017
Location: Essex, UK GB
Posts: 2,017
Thanks: 46
Thanked 293 Times in 263 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Garage
Sounds like they've botched something in the update process; Possibly wrong files or similar:- The good thing is, as they've broken it, they can pay to fix it

Bootlooping like that does sound relatively terminal:- I imagine you could attempt another reflash of RC8 or even directly access the unit to diagnose further using the USB diagnostic port, however, as it's their problem at the moment I'd leave it that way.
Haltamer is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 9th April 2019, 18:22
Supporter
 
Car: 2017 Civic Tourer,
Join Date: 31st March 2018
Location: Sandhurst GB
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I have seen the same repeated 'H', I disconnected the battery, reconnected, turn ignition on, and wait. Had a few repeated 'H' but kept patient, and then it booted up normally.

However, I would expect the dealer would have tried that !

I did get the dealer to do my RC8 which worked OK, but the sat nav still tends to lose the plot, unable to calculate arrival times, and up to 4 miles out on position, but only for about one in five journeys - so it will be back to the dealer under warranty in a few weeks.
mogman8 is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 12th April 2019, 08:48 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
rob.e's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Civic Tourer D-TEC SR
Join Date: 5th September 2017
Location: Oxford
Posts: 203
Thanks: 26
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
ok, thanks chaps - much as i thought.

they're having the car back on sat and giving me a loan car - apparently honda uk have suggested some things to try. As you say though, they broke it so it's up to them to fix it, hopefully if they can't then it'll mean a new unit
rob.e is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 17th April 2019, 08:47 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
rob.e's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Civic Tourer D-TEC SR
Join Date: 5th September 2017
Location: Oxford
Posts: 203
Thanks: 26
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
still no joy from the dealer - they've had it for a couple of days and tried suggestions from honda uk but it's still not booting.


In case they can't fix it - are there any fully plug-and-play aftermarket options out there ? Ie something that'll connect properly to the usb sockets/ipod in the centre console, rear camera and the steering wheel controls?
rob.e is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 18th April 2019, 10:34
 
Car: Civic Tourer 1.6DTEC
Join Date: 3rd December 2015
Location: Herts, UK GB
Posts: 234
Thanks: 5
Thanked 16 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Surely if they can't fix it they'll have to supply a new unit ?

I don't think there's anything non-OEM that fully replicates the functionality of the Connect system
Haltamer likes this.
sasquartch is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 18th April 2019, 10:59
Supporter
 
Haltamer's Avatar
 
Car: 9th Gen 1.4 Petrol SE + Navi
Join Date: 13th March 2017
Location: Essex, UK GB
Posts: 2,017
Thanks: 46
Thanked 293 Times in 263 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Garage
I wonder if they used the hatchback update files.
Have a look at my post on rc8, there's a reference table for the versions - the tourer has a different version.

If they've made one set of usbs and applied a hatchback update that might cause some issues.

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
Haltamer is offline  
Thanks to Haltamer from:
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 24th April 2019, 12:52 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
rob.e's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Civic Tourer D-TEC SR
Join Date: 5th September 2017
Location: Oxford
Posts: 203
Thanks: 26
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Well, still not resolved - unit is out of the car now and the dealer is sending back to Honda for resolution.

rob.e is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 26th June 2019, 17:40
Supporter
 
seejay's Avatar
 
Join Date: 30th May 2012
Location: essex uk GB
Posts: 1,067
Thanks: 25
Thanked 100 Times in 92 Posts
iTrader: (4)
how did this go?
picking up a 66 plate fk2 next week, looking at the rc8 update bulletin, im not surprised they bricked it.
why so confusing and long, think im gonna leave well alone.
seejay is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 27th June 2019, 11:40 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
rob.e's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Civic Tourer D-TEC SR
Join Date: 5th September 2017
Location: Oxford
Posts: 203
Thanks: 26
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
took f7cking ages for them to resolve it, but got there in the end.

they eventually took the unit out and sent it back to honda - i was without it for several weeks ( big hole in the dash and no music/ nav etc).

so.. it IS fixable if it goes in to the continual boot cycle, just beyond the capability of the dealer. to be fair to the dealer chaps they said they'd done loads of upgrades and mine was the only time it had failed.

I've no idea if it now has the rc8 on or not, but tbh i'm happy just to have it back in the car and functional. i'm not going to attempt any further changes/ upgrades - just leave well alone. i don't want to take the risk of another **** up

rob.e is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 9th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2012 - 2016) > Electronics and ICE (9G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Satnav Connect update ... nervous. Red Dwarf Electronics and ICE (9G) 4 24th March 2018 17:55
Software Update 6.1 bobbyg Electronics and ICE (9G) 19 15th March 2018 23:41
Satnav Hdd satnav update for 2014ym civic tourer dfconnolly001 Electronics and ICE (9G) 11 4th January 2018 19:09
Head Unit Honda connect software update gazzared Electronics and ICE (9G) 1 7th June 2016 23:58
App Center update sasquartch General Discussion (9G) 8 1st February 2016 09:04

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome