Head Unit Time for an upgrade - Head Unit with Google - Civinfo
 6Likes
  • 1 Post By deed
  • 2 Post By rob.e
  • 3 Post By rob.e
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 18th June 2019, 21:34 Thread Starter
 
Car: 1.6 I-DTEC SR
Join Date: 31st August 2017
Location: Birmingham UK (not Alabama)
Posts: 8
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Time for an upgrade - Head Unit with Google

Hi Folks,

I do plan to do a few upgrades to my Civic 64 Reg Diesel with the 'premium stereo' with awful satnav , such as replacing the door speakers and some soundproofing (its the only major downside of this car for me) - there are some great guides here to help with this....

But this is about replacing the aged and not very hi-tech 2 Din existing head unit, the SatNav is painful and not up to date

Just been travelling around Ireland for a week using my Pixel phone as a Satnav and the superb Google maps, it was great (but small screen!) but a real eye opener.... Made me realise that I really need to upgrade the head unit in my beloved Civic to the same functions

Any hints on what head unit to fit? and ideally where to get it fitted in the Midlands?

I have looked at both cheap imported head units and wiring kits and also some pretty expensive Pioneer/Kenwood/Sony etc. head units and I think I want to head upmarket as long as it all works! ie. the steering controls etc.

I have come to the conclusion that I may well need someone to fit it for me, as I have never even taken a door cover off!

Any advice more than welcome and thanks in advance

Cheers!
He_Who_Is_T likes this.
deed is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 19th June 2019, 08:16
 
He_Who_Is_T's Avatar
 
Car: 2013 Civic 2.2 i-Dtec
Join Date: 26th January 2018
Location: Hartlepool, North East
Posts: 145
Thanks: 52
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
I've been looking into doing the same. I'm in the north east and in my area no one fits aftermarket stereos except halfords and they said that I'd lose all the steering wheel controls which isn't an option.
He_Who_Is_T is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 28th June 2019, 20:42
 
Join Date: 1st October 2015
Location: Warrington GB
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
your google maps may not work in no data area and guess what? you can be stack. try some obscure Cumbria areas... instead of wrecking your Honda - just buy TomTom with the lifetime maps and speed camera updates! some of them come with 3G sim card embedded without need even to connect to your smart phone. updates - free and regular. No mess with the original Honda electrics!
Borland is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 2nd August 2019, 11:43
 
Car: 2012 2.2 Sport Business Mode
Join Date: 17th August 2013
Location: Vlissingen, Netherlands NL
Posts: 98
Thanks: 8
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Borland View Post
your google maps may not work in no data area and guess what? you can be stack. try some obscure Cumbria areas... instead of wrecking your Honda - just buy TomTom with the lifetime maps and speed camera updates! some of them come with 3G sim card embedded without need even to connect to your smart phone. updates - free and regular. No mess with the original Honda electrics!
You can use a Connects2 (or whatever brand you prefer) to connect any doubledin you like. If you want heremaps or google you can use a unit which mirrors your phone. For example I looked at a Pioneer Avic F77dab which can do this, but there are enough units which can.

If you use a connects2unit you will NOT use your steeringwheel controlls. There are some things you lose. You can not adjust the clock on the I-mid anymore (but time is shown on your new unit) and the phonecontrols on the steeringwheel don't work anymore. Most likely you have to replace your rearviewcamera bacause it works on a different voltage then e.g. a Pioneer.
Good luck
motil is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 7th August 2019, 22:35
 
Car: 2015 Civic TR
Join Date: 22nd February 2017
Location: Netherlands, Rotterdam NL
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by deed View Post
Hi Folks,

I do plan to do a few upgrades to my Civic 64 Reg Diesel with the 'premium stereo' with awful satnav , such as replacing the door speakers and some soundproofing (its the only major downside of this car for me) - there are some great guides here to help with this....

But this is about replacing the aged and not very hi-tech 2 Din existing head unit, the SatNav is painful and not up to date

Just been travelling around Ireland for a week using my Pixel phone as a Satnav and the superb Google maps, it was great (but small screen!) but a real eye opener.... Made me realise that I really need to upgrade the head unit in my beloved Civic to the same functions

Any hints on what head unit to fit? and ideally where to get it fitted in the Midlands?

I have looked at both cheap imported head units and wiring kits and also some pretty expensive Pioneer/Kenwood/Sony etc. head units and I think I want to head upmarket as long as it all works! ie. the steering controls etc.

I have come to the conclusion that I may well need someone to fit it for me, as I have never even taken a door cover off!

Any advice more than welcome and thanks in advance

Cheers!
Quote:
Originally Posted by motil View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Borland View Post
your google maps may not work in no data area and guess what? you can be stack. try some obscure Cumbria areas... instead of wrecking your Honda - just buy TomTom with the lifetime maps and speed camera updates! some of them come with 3G sim card embedded without need even to connect to your smart phone. updates - free and regular. No mess with the original Honda electrics!
You can use a Connects2 (or whatever brand you prefer) to connect any doubledin you like. If you want heremaps or google you can use a unit which mirrors your phone. For example I looked at a Pioneer Avic F77dab which can do this, but there are enough units which can.

If you use a connects2unit you will NOT use your steeringwheel controlls. There are some things you lose. You can not adjust the clock on the I-mid anymore (but time is shown on your new unit) and the phonecontrols on the steeringwheel don't work anymore. Most likely you have to replace your rearviewcamera bacause it works on a different voltage then e.g. a Pioneer.
Good luck
Hello,

I had the stereo-only unit, so didn't had to give up the Honda gps. I bought a unit on Ali. There are many units available. Simple 2-din, where you will need cables tot connect it to Honda wires or full replacements where there is an Honda can-bus etc included.

Mine is not available anymore but a quick search gave me this result:

https://m.nl.aliexpress.com/item/328...ceBeautifyAB=0

My tips:
-go for a px5 or px6. There is a community that makes ROMs even better (check xda). Al the px5 models are the same manufacturer but different sellers (brand-sticker)
- if you have an amp (all diesels seem to have one) tell it to the seller, you need different wording.

- assembling was not very difficult, to my opinion.

Good luck
Aran is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 8th August 2019, 08:34
Supporter
 
rob.e's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Civic Tourer D-TEC SR
Join Date: 5th September 2017
Location: Oxford
Posts: 201
Thanks: 26
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
I'm also disappointed with the factory unit in mine but i just see a real risk in time/ money wasted potentially on an unknown brand, chinese origin replacement of unknown quality with no certainty it would work with factory controls. there's also a bunch of info you only get displayed on the unit (e.g. mpg history) would this work with aftermarket?

I'd need to be reassured that this all works before taking a punt personally.
Haltamer and deed like this.
rob.e is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 8th August 2019, 09:38
Supporter
 
Haltamer's Avatar
 
Car: 9th Gen 1.4 Petrol SE + Navi
Join Date: 13th March 2017
Location: Essex, UK GB
Posts: 2,016
Thanks: 46
Thanked 293 Times in 263 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Garage
With Rob - As much as I'd love an updated headunit, I'd not want to sacrifice the OEM reversing camera and other tie-ins.
Haltamer is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 8th August 2019, 13:41
Supporter
 
rob.e's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Civic Tourer D-TEC SR
Join Date: 5th September 2017
Location: Oxford
Posts: 201
Thanks: 26
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haltamer View Post
With Rob - As much as I'd love an updated headunit, I'd not want to sacrifice the OEM reversing camera and other tie-ins.
i think we need @deed to be our guinea pig
Haltamer, deed and He_Who_Is_T like this.
rob.e is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 8th August 2019, 16:04
 
Car: 2015 Civic TR
Join Date: 22nd February 2017
Location: Netherlands, Rotterdam NL
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by rob.e View Post
I'm also disappointed with the factory unit in mine but i just see a real risk in time/ money wasted potentially on an unknown brand, chinese origin replacement of unknown quality with no certainty it would work with factory controls. there's also a bunch of info you only get displayed on the unit (e.g. mpg history) would this work with aftermarket?

I'd need to be reassured that this all works before taking a punt personally.
Hi there. The steering wheel controls work perfectly over can-bus. If you don't want to use can-bus, you can wire the steering wheel controls manually.

I didn't had a reverse camera but now I have! You can install all normal cameras on these units.

Sound quality is fine (I am not a sound geek). I have one without dsp but nowedays you also have units with dsp that sound even better then mine.

Everything is plug and play but if you like tot do some tweaking on the unit and can work with Android you can go as crazy as you like with updating and installing ROMs etc.

About info at the i-mid screen, that stays the same.
Aran is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 8th August 2019, 18:38
 
He_Who_Is_T's Avatar
 
Car: 2013 Civic 2.2 i-Dtec
Join Date: 26th January 2018
Location: Hartlepool, North East
Posts: 145
Thanks: 52
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
I'm another who's really interested in this. I've got standard 9G stereo but I've got reversing camera and I want all my controls to stay the same and not lose any of the features.
He_Who_Is_T is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 9th August 2019, 08:38
Supporter
 
rob.e's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Civic Tourer D-TEC SR
Join Date: 5th September 2017
Location: Oxford
Posts: 201
Thanks: 26
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aran View Post

About info at the i-mid screen, that stays the same.
Ok, so i-mid stays the same, but what about the car info that is displayed only on the head unit, e.g. history of mpg? Is that retained or lost?
rob.e is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 12th August 2019, 11:09
Supporter
 
rob.e's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Civic Tourer D-TEC SR
Join Date: 5th September 2017
Location: Oxford
Posts: 201
Thanks: 26
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Also, IIRC the mk9 has active noise cancellation with the factory head unit, ie it uses a microphone and creates a reverse wave audio signal to reduce noise.

Expect that would be lost also with aftermarket?
rob.e is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 9th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2012 - 2016) > Electronics and ICE (9G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome