Idiotic Trip Computer! - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 30 (permalink) Old 18th March 2012, 18:28 Thread Starter
 
bikeeandy's Avatar
 
Car: 2012 1.8 ES
Join Date: 11th March 2007
Location: Dunfermline, Fife
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Idiotic Trip Computer!

Not at all happy with the way you have to configure the 'fuel consumption' screen for the i-multi display.

Underneath the big 'instant fuel economy' graphic you have to select either average fuel/range/elapsed time/average speed. Ok so far.

Unfortunately, this choice is one of the 'customise settings' options from the 'vehicle menu' screen. This screen is only accessible "when the vehicle is at a complete stop" (page 111 of the user manual).

Annoying on many levels. But, also, if your low fuel indicator light comes on and you don't have 'range' already set for the screen, you'll have to pull over, stop and customise your settings to see how long you've got before you grind to a halt.
bikeeandy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 30 (permalink) Old 19th March 2012, 08:46
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Is this for the 9G ?

On the 8G you can flick around the trip comp settings from the steering wheel.


Just spotted this is in the 9G section = fail, ignore me

Last edited by Kremmen; 20th March 2012 at 08:10.
Kremmen is offline  
post #3 of 30 (permalink) Old 19th March 2012, 09:48
 
jameslro's Avatar
 
Car: 07 22ictdi Type s gt Sat/Nav
Join Date: 12th April 2011
Location: valletta, malta MT
Posts: 304
Thanks: 137
Thanked 27 Times in 21 Posts
iTrader: (0)
When on the trip computer comes the fuel warning light and I am driving I just continue to click it more than once and comes all the rest. It normally gives you about 50 km and if you travel those 50 km too you will remain with 2 liters of fuel. Hope this help.
jameslro is offline  
 
post #4 of 30 (permalink) Old 19th March 2012, 13:43
Arfurs right hand man
 
NH Dan's Avatar
 
Car: 1.8 Civic SE plus Auto 9th G
Join Date: 31st January 2008
Location: South London,Uk GB
Posts: 4,125
Thanks: 559
Thanked 476 Times in 380 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikeeandy View Post
Not at all happy with the way you have to configure the 'fuel consumption' screen for the i-multi display.

Underneath the big 'instant fuel economy' graphic you have to select either average fuel/range/elapsed time/average speed. Ok so far.

Unfortunately, this choice is one of the 'customise settings' options from the 'vehicle menu' screen. This screen is only accessible "when the vehicle is at a complete stop" (page 111 of the user manual).

Annoying on many levels. But, also, if your low fuel indicator light comes on and you don't have 'range' already set for the screen, you'll have to pull over, stop and customise your settings to see how long you've got before you grind to a halt.
Its something that Honda were made aware of at a stage where it was apparently too late to change! I would have assumed it to be a simple computer re-programming issue but it seems not.
NH Dan is offline  
post #5 of 30 (permalink) Old 19th March 2012, 19:06 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
bikeeandy's Avatar
 
Car: 2012 1.8 ES
Join Date: 11th March 2007
Location: Dunfermline, Fife
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
9G. Wish they'd just replicated what was there for the 8G.

I'd agree that it doesn't sound like a difficult thing to fix. Hopefully they'll see the error of their ways and release a software update.
bikeeandy is offline  
post #6 of 30 (permalink) Old 19th March 2012, 22:05
 
Car: 2012 2.2 i-DTEC
Join Date: 13th March 2012
Location: Northants GB
Posts: 38
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
You dont have to stop.................

All you need to do dependant upon the model, is hit info, on the main head unit for the stereo/sat nav, and then select trip computer, and then the range of the tank is at the top right hand corner of the screen. Apologies if you dont have a model with the sat nav etc.......

But I do agree with you, does seem a little daft that you have to stop the car to change what should be a simple setting? Normally, the light comes on with roughly 40 miles remaining, and mine has been pretty accurate for the last 6 tanks!! Hope this helps?
fraggle_478628 is offline  
post #7 of 30 (permalink) Old 20th March 2012, 07:01 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
bikeeandy's Avatar
 
Car: 2012 1.8 ES
Join Date: 11th March 2007
Location: Dunfermline, Fife
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Sorry, no sat nav.
bikeeandy is offline  
Thanks to bikeeandy from:
post #8 of 30 (permalink) Old 20th March 2012, 09:51
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
This not being able to rotate round the various options like you can with the the 8G sounds like something that needs sorting ASAP.

When I do long journeys I do like to vary the display whilst on the move between average mpg and fuel miles to go.

Once the fuel red light comes on it's nonsense that you can't immediately flick to fuel range, without stopping, to keep a careful eye on it.
Kremmen is offline  
post #9 of 30 (permalink) Old 20th March 2012, 10:11
Supporter
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,774 Times in 824 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
I was chatting to a Honda person about it a long time ago (before production) and it was sending him round the twist.

I didn't mention it because I assumed it had to be changed before customer cars were delivered...
Pottsy is offline  
post #10 of 30 (permalink) Old 20th March 2012, 17:27
 
Car: 2018 Civic 1.5T
Join Date: 16th October 2006
Location: Ireland IE
Posts: 29
Thanks: 11
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
This is unforgivable! I was amazed when I discovered this design error.
My Civic 8G and Insight system was simple and easy to use. What about fixing this, Honda?
rogerm1946 is offline  
post #11 of 30 (permalink) Old 20th March 2012, 17:32
Arfurs right hand man
 
NH Dan's Avatar
 
Car: 1.8 Civic SE plus Auto 9th G
Join Date: 31st January 2008
Location: South London,Uk GB
Posts: 4,125
Thanks: 559
Thanked 476 Times in 380 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
it seems i is being looked into as to what can be done with regards to the operation of the system.
NH Dan is offline  
post #12 of 30 (permalink) Old 21st March 2012, 08:18
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I should hope so. I'll definitely be hanging on for this to be sorted.

They've got 12 to 18 months for me
Kremmen is offline  
post #13 of 30 (permalink) Old 25th April 2012, 01:41
 
Car: 2012 2.2 i-DTEC
Join Date: 13th March 2012
Location: Northants GB
Posts: 38
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
good news folks......

I understand that it is not just the UK customers that are hacked off with the unfathomable Imid. Apparently the Germans are up in arms about not being able to check the range if they have been viewing something else without having to stop to change the display. By all accounts, a software fix is currently being written to sort this issue out........ Keep your eyes peeled.
fraggle_478628 is offline  
post #14 of 30 (permalink) Old 25th April 2012, 11:19
Arfurs right hand man
 
NH Dan's Avatar
 
Car: 1.8 Civic SE plus Auto 9th G
Join Date: 31st January 2008
Location: South London,Uk GB
Posts: 4,125
Thanks: 559
Thanked 476 Times in 380 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by fraggle_478628 View Post
good news folks......

I understand that it is not just the UK customers that are hacked off with the unfathomable Imid. Apparently the Germans are up in arms about not being able to check the range if they have been viewing something else without having to stop to change the display. By all accounts, a software fix is currently being written to sort this issue out........ Keep your eyes peeled.

As per several posts above. it is being sorted but not immediately
NH Dan is offline  
post #15 of 30 (permalink) Old 25th April 2012, 17:16
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NH Dan View Post
As per several posts above. it is being sorted but not immediately
In that case I will probably buy a Civic - but not immediately
Kremmen is offline  
post #16 of 30 (permalink) Old 30th April 2012, 20:20
 
sarge1542's Avatar
 
Join Date: 27th September 2011
Location: Isle of Wight, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Thats good to hear,hopefully sooner rather than later.......
sarge1542 is offline  
post #17 of 30 (permalink) Old 1st May 2012, 05:14
Banned
 
Car: 2007 CTR Alabaster
Join Date: 5th March 2011
Location: christchurch ENGLAND
Posts: 2,012
Thanks: 571
Thanked 227 Times in 204 Posts
iTrader: (7)
Im cancelling my companies order for 130 2012 civic Ex's based on this alone.
crowmar kirkliss is offline  
post #18 of 30 (permalink) Old 1st May 2012, 08:30
Supporter
 
Car: Mazda MX-5 (lightly modded)
Join Date: 1st July 2007
Location: GB GB
Posts: 15,644
Thanks: 1,166
Thanked 1,546 Times in 1,415 Posts
iTrader: (8)
Design flaws and possible upgrades?
Are sure youre not talking about the 8th Gen Civic?
Remember the hand brake?
Door handles?
To name just a couple
Yes..Honda have rushed out the new model yet again!!
robbo51 is offline  
post #19 of 30 (permalink) Old 1st May 2012, 18:31
 
Car: Civic Sport Plus
Join Date: 31st March 2009
Location: Lj SI
Posts: 710
Thanks: 49
Thanked 106 Times in 100 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Better a design fault in "idiotic trip computer" than a design fault in engine like certain German manufacturer (which cost some owner up to 6000 EUR to fix!).
dcivic is offline  
post #20 of 30 (permalink) Old 4th June 2012, 11:53
Supporter
 
Car: 08 2.2 ES CIV&09 2.2 EX CRV
Join Date: 11th January 2011
Location: Forres SCOTLAND
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 490
Thanked 210 Times in 193 Posts
iTrader: (8)
Test drove a 2.2 Idtec a couple of days ago, and this is a big let down for me too, the functionality of the 8th gen trip computer far surpasses the crazy Imid. It does put me off buying one actually after the user friendly interface I am currently used to.....and I use it alot to page through the various information. Shame, the car is otherwise pretty damn good. Guess im going to wait and see if Honda sort this out.
tristanmortimer is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 9th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2012 - 2016) > Electronics and ICE (9G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer recalibrate the trip computer? jimwin Electronics (8G) 7 26th April 2011 12:14
Computer Trip computer stuck on 'B' Wolf Electronics (8G) 7 27th September 2009 08:45
Brakes ABS, VSA and trip computer failure druidh Wheels, Tyres, Suspension and Brakes (8G) 4 3rd August 2008 15:11
Computer Trip computer quach Electronics (8G) 9 2nd February 2008 20:32
Satnav Sat Nav and Trip Computer Questions For Mash Get Smash Electronics (8G) 12 3rd October 2007 20:41

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome