No turn by turn option - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 5th August 2012, 10:28 Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 2nd April 2009
Location: uk ENGLAND
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
No turn by turn option

Had my new 2.2ES-T for a couple of days now, its a wonderfull car but dissapointed that there is no turn by turn option in the I-MID display.Must only be available for models with HDD sat nav?
tamzin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 5th August 2012, 13:20
Supporter
 
Alwaysblack's Avatar
 
Car: 2012 2.2 EX GT Crystal Black
Join Date: 21st September 2006
Location: S E London / Kent ENGLAND
Posts: 365
Thanks: 35
Thanked 27 Times in 22 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Tamzin.
Excuse my ignorance but what is a "turn by turn" option?
I might be able to help!
Alwaysblack is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 5th August 2012, 13:23
Syx
#MrGrumpy
 
Syx's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 CTS GT
Join Date: 22nd December 2009
Location: Luton, UK GB
Posts: 13,117
Thanks: 1,272
Thanked 2,657 Times in 2,260 Posts
iTrader: (94)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Syx
Turn by turn is where the sat nav system gives you instructions by audio - "in 200 yards, turn left" or "at the roundabout take the 3rd exit" etc.

Not sure if this is what the OP means, though.
Syx is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 5th August 2012, 14:14
Type EX,A guy called Mark
 
markvirgo's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Peugeot 208 GTI, 208BHP
Join Date: 22nd June 2007
Location: Northamptonshire ENGLAND
Posts: 3,435
Thanks: 201
Thanked 651 Times in 555 Posts
iTrader: (12)
It sounds like the settings have been changed.

If the car is new to you then it is best to reset the satnav. you need to enter the satnav diagnostic menu and clear satnav ecu ram. This will reset the satnav to factory defaults but not change the version. You will lose all route info that you may have stored.
markvirgo is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 5th August 2012, 17:16
Supporter
 
Alwaysblack's Avatar
 
Car: 2012 2.2 EX GT Crystal Black
Join Date: 21st September 2006
Location: S E London / Kent ENGLAND
Posts: 365
Thanks: 35
Thanked 27 Times in 22 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Ok.
Well it is definitely on the HDD system which is standard on my car.

I cannot believe audible information would not be available as standard on the SDD version. Either factory reset as above, or check the settings!
Alwaysblack is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 5th August 2012, 17:44
Type EX,A guy called Mark
 
markvirgo's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Peugeot 208 GTI, 208BHP
Join Date: 22nd June 2007
Location: Northamptonshire ENGLAND
Posts: 3,435
Thanks: 201
Thanked 651 Times in 555 Posts
iTrader: (12)
It is on my 2006 ex. Someone has turned it off like I do. The wife's voice is enough lol
markvirgo is offline  
Thanks to markvirgo from:
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 5th August 2012, 17:54 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 2nd April 2009
Location: uk ENGLAND
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
sorry i mean there is no turn guidence pictured in the I-MID screen on the SD version
tamzin is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 5th August 2012, 20:21
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by tamzin View Post
sorry i mean there is no turn guidence pictured in the I-MID screen on the SD version
I guess you are talking about 2012 Civic... The should be an option in the i-Mid menu... So if you have not, the it must only the HHD version that has it.
Bog is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 5th August 2012, 23:21
 
electric's Avatar
 
Car: 2017 SR CVT
Join Date: 19th February 2008
Location: London GB
Posts: 429
Thanks: 9
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tamzin View Post
sorry i mean there is no turn guidence pictured in the I-MID screen on the SD version
That is correct. It is on the satnav screen only.

One of the set options for the option button is to turn off audio navigation. I do this on journeys where I want traffic information etc but not the women's whiney voice. Traffic Info still comes out at the preset volume.

Incidentally I don't like the way the audio turn by turn instructions are longer and more 'flowery' on the 9G. We now get 'in about' 100 yards' rather than the 8G's 'in 100 yards'. We then get 'turn now, TURN NOW, at junctions but often a little to soon.
electric is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 9th August 2012, 11:48
 
Fillmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22nd September 2006
Location: Purmerend NL
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
In the brochure (holland January 2012 version) it says it's possible to see turn by turn on the I-mid console. But, in de newer brochure (July 2012) it's not mentioned anymore, just like the follow me/coming home lights.
There's not a lot you can do about it.
I think I make a brochure with specs like a Ferrari and sell a VW, just change the specs afterwards.
Fillmore is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 9th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2012 - 2016) > Electronics and ICE (9G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with U turn phil99 Any non Civic chat here please! 7 13th January 2012 22:35
Satnav Sat/nav will not turn off!!!!!! Leath31 Electronics (8G) 10 14th June 2011 19:42
How to turn the alarm off?? spanish boy General Discussion (8G) 11 18th March 2011 15:18
VSA VSA (ESP) why would you turn off? surferjr1999 Electronics (8G) 68 28th March 2008 17:27
Satnav Turn off sat-nav? LoonyJohn Electronics (8G) 7 20th October 2007 12:29

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome