Dab - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 12th October 2012, 07:58 Thread Starter
 
Pesky36's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 1.8 SE Plus
Join Date: 18th July 2008
Location: UK SCOTLAND
Posts: 40
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Dab

Hello all,

Has anyone any ideas whats the best way to get DAB radio installed on the 9th gen? I see many options but I was wondering if someone has seen or done something clever.

Thanks

Mike
Pesky36 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 12th October 2012, 09:37
Arfurs right hand man
 
NH Dan's Avatar
 
Car: 1.8 Civic SE plus Auto 9th G
Join Date: 31st January 2008
Location: South London,Uk GB
Posts: 4,125
Thanks: 559
Thanked 476 Times in 380 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
buy a 1.6 diesel in the new year. they have it installed or as an option on the se & es model.
NH Dan is offline  
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 12th October 2012, 10:11
Syx
#MrGrumpy
 
Syx's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 CTS GT
Join Date: 22nd December 2009
Location: Luton, UK GB
Posts: 13,117
Thanks: 1,272
Thanked 2,657 Times in 2,260 Posts
iTrader: (94)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Syx
Quote:
Originally Posted by NH Dan View Post
buy a 1.6 diesel in the new year. they have it installed or as an option on the se & es model.
That's not particularly helpful considering the OP already has a 9G...
Syx is offline  
 
post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 12th October 2012, 10:34
Arfurs right hand man
 
NH Dan's Avatar
 
Car: 1.8 Civic SE plus Auto 9th G
Join Date: 31st January 2008
Location: South London,Uk GB
Posts: 4,125
Thanks: 559
Thanked 476 Times in 380 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
its a fairly ambiguous question which lead to my fairly obviously sarcastic, yet informative, response.

I could of course have said "take the existing unit out and install a DAB unit." which would no doubt have been just as much useless advice.
NH Dan is offline  
post #5 of 23 (permalink) Old 12th October 2012, 10:55
Supporter
 
Kuneho's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 Honda Civic Type-R Euro
Join Date: 2nd November 2011
Location: Dubai, UAE AE
Posts: 270
Thanks: 0
Thanked 37 Times in 37 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Kuneho is offline  
post #6 of 23 (permalink) Old 12th October 2012, 11:51
 
Car: 2012 1.8 5 door,White Orchid
Join Date: 7th July 2012
Location: AUS AU
Posts: 1,073
Thanks: 101
Thanked 94 Times in 83 Posts
iTrader: (0)
There is a product called autoDAB which interfaces with your existing head unit. NH Dan, is it true that the new diesel model will have factory DAB?

Can it be retrofitted?
Vti07 is offline  
post #7 of 23 (permalink) Old 12th October 2012, 12:35
Arfurs right hand man
 
NH Dan's Avatar
 
Car: 1.8 Civic SE plus Auto 9th G
Join Date: 31st January 2008
Location: South London,Uk GB
Posts: 4,125
Thanks: 559
Thanked 476 Times in 380 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
the new 1.6 comes in 3 grades , SE, ES and EX. The ex has it as standard, the SE and ES have the option of having it added at factory as a 600 or 450 option (prices to be confirmed).

The new CR-V will also have DAB in some grades.
NH Dan is offline  
post #8 of 23 (permalink) Old 12th October 2012, 12:53
Syx
#MrGrumpy
 
Syx's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 CTS GT
Join Date: 22nd December 2009
Location: Luton, UK GB
Posts: 13,117
Thanks: 1,272
Thanked 2,657 Times in 2,260 Posts
iTrader: (94)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Syx
Quote:
Originally Posted by NH Dan View Post
its a fairly ambiguous question which lead to my fairly obviously sarcastic, yet informative, response.

I could of course have said "take the existing unit out and install a DAB unit." which would no doubt have been just as much useless advice.
Obvious? Didn't seem it to me.

In any case the OP was clearly asking how to install a DAB setup and if anyone had done it before.
Unfortunately I can't help with this but guessing more information will become available in time as people move on to installing Double DIN units and figuring out the dashboard cabling etc... exactly the same happened with the 8G after all!
What kind of options have you seen already?
Syx is offline  
post #9 of 23 (permalink) Old 12th October 2012, 13:09 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Pesky36's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 1.8 SE Plus
Join Date: 18th July 2008
Location: UK SCOTLAND
Posts: 40
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hi all. I had seen the autodab, the worry I have is, i don't want to mess with my car warranty. Surely if I start pulling or adding to the ICE that would invaildate.

For now I am using "tune it in" app via my iPhone 4. It works well with Bluetooth. I know this enters into the relems of data consumption but I will keep my eye on it.

Last edited by Pesky36; 13th October 2012 at 11:10.
Pesky36 is offline  
post #10 of 23 (permalink) Old 12th October 2012, 13:11
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by NH Dan View Post
the new 1.6 comes in 3 grades , SE, ES and EX. The ex has it as standard, the SE and ES have the option of having it added at factory as a 600 or 450 option (prices to be confirmed).

The new CR-V will also have DAB in some grades.
So DAB has been around for years... why did Honda not offer it when the 9G was launched
Bog is offline  
post #11 of 23 (permalink) Old 12th October 2012, 13:30 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Pesky36's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 1.8 SE Plus
Join Date: 18th July 2008
Location: UK SCOTLAND
Posts: 40
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I had read that "car manufactures" have good reason not to supply DAB radio. And that is they have an international market to sell too, so they don't install DAB as standard. Makes sense.
Pesky36 is offline  
post #12 of 23 (permalink) Old 12th October 2012, 13:35
Syx
#MrGrumpy
 
Syx's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 CTS GT
Join Date: 22nd December 2009
Location: Luton, UK GB
Posts: 13,117
Thanks: 1,272
Thanked 2,657 Times in 2,260 Posts
iTrader: (94)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Syx
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pesky36 View Post
I had read that "car manufactures" have good reason not to supply DAB radio. And that is they have an international market to sell too, so they don't install DAB as standard. Makes sense.
Could have been an optional extra from launch though? To be quite honest I was surprised that the 8G didn't have it in the facelift model.
Syx is offline  
post #13 of 23 (permalink) Old 12th October 2012, 13:43 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Pesky36's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 1.8 SE Plus
Join Date: 18th July 2008
Location: UK SCOTLAND
Posts: 40
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
totally agree
Pesky36 is offline  
post #14 of 23 (permalink) Old 12th October 2012, 13:53
Arfurs right hand man
 
NH Dan's Avatar
 
Car: 1.8 Civic SE plus Auto 9th G
Join Date: 31st January 2008
Location: South London,Uk GB
Posts: 4,125
Thanks: 559
Thanked 476 Times in 380 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
tbh no-one ever answers that question when asked as no-one seems to know the answer.
It's never been an issue to me as living in london, we dont have any reception issues here and I don't have any 'specialist' listening requirements.
NH Dan is offline  
post #15 of 23 (permalink) Old 12th October 2012, 14:20
Supporter
 
okehciv's Avatar
 
Join Date: 21st January 2007
Location: shaw gtr manchester ENGLAND
Posts: 3,304
Thanks: 179
Thanked 458 Times in 427 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NH Dan View Post
tbh no-one ever answers that question when asked as no-one seems to know the answer.
It's never been an issue to me as living in london, we dont have any reception issues here and I don't have any 'specialist' listening requirements.
Which seems to me to be the problem as a whole, London doesn't have a problem so no need to fix anything sod the rest of the country.

Dan am not getting at you, or your answer I am talking about the bigger picture If that makes sence
okehciv is offline  
Thanks to okehciv from:
post #16 of 23 (permalink) Old 12th October 2012, 17:21
 
electric's Avatar
 
Car: 2017 SR CVT
Join Date: 19th February 2008
Location: London GB
Posts: 429
Thanks: 9
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Well I live in London and I want DAB - at any price.

Will it be possible to buy the ES DAB and do a straight out and in swap? If Honda are charging 600 extra for it on a new car it can't be much more or very difficult to upgrade.
electric is offline  
post #17 of 23 (permalink) Old 12th October 2012, 17:44
Innuendo Queen
 
katsock's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 DSB 2.2 CDTi
Join Date: 18th February 2008
Location: Chelmsford, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 239
Thanked 265 Times in 220 Posts
iTrader: (21)
I have a Pure DAB radio in my car, which works through the car stereo, but is a separate unit which you have to retune (if that makes sense). There are some photos somewhere... let me see if I can find a link.

It works reasonably well but nowhere near as good as regular analogue FM is right now, so if it's going to bother you listening to 'FM' stations on MW/LW quality sound, don't do it.

Some areas work much better than others. On my daily morning commute for instance, all is fine and dandy from Chelmsford to the A12, then it's patchy at best on the A12 and down the M25 to the M11. The M11 is good some days, patchy others. When I pick the A12 up again though at the M11/A406 junction, it's all good again.

Edit to add link: http://www.civinfo.com/forum/gallery...obile-3-a.html

Last edited by katsock; 12th October 2012 at 17:46.
katsock is offline  
post #18 of 23 (permalink) Old 12th October 2012, 19:19 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Pesky36's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 1.8 SE Plus
Join Date: 18th July 2008
Location: UK SCOTLAND
Posts: 40
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
See the tiny issues I have with the pure radio is the wires. The Aux line on the 9th gen is under the left arm rest. That means I have to drag wires over the car. Thanks for pics.

M

Last edited by Pesky36; 13th October 2012 at 11:06.
Pesky36 is offline  
post #19 of 23 (permalink) Old 15th October 2012, 14:44
Arfurs right hand man
 
NH Dan's Avatar
 
Car: 1.8 Civic SE plus Auto 9th G
Join Date: 31st January 2008
Location: South London,Uk GB
Posts: 4,125
Thanks: 559
Thanked 476 Times in 380 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by electric View Post
Well I live in London and I want DAB - at any price.

Will it be possible to buy the ES DAB and do a straight out and in swap? If Honda are charging 600 extra for it on a new car it can't be much more or very difficult to upgrade.
the easy answer is yes, you will be able to swap it all over but how easy in practice? I have no idea. Does DAB need a different aerial? if so, refit, rewire one of those, again, its possible but costly.

Even if its just a head unit change, the 600 factory cost takes into account the fact that you are not having the standard unit in the car. An aftermarket fit would mean you buying a new headunit, and they aren't cheap.

Can it be done - Yes, would you want to spend the money to do it? No.
NH Dan is offline  
post #20 of 23 (permalink) Old 15th October 2012, 17:45
 
Join Date: 1st August 2012
Location: Thornton GB
Posts: 22
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
If you have a iphone/android/windows smart phone get tunein radio app. Its as good as DAB radio and has most of the stations available.

Works anywhere with a 3G signal and buffers well for those areas out of sync.

I also use Spotify for music in general. Much better than trying to get a DAB unit in. Also they both work over bluetooth and the USB port.

Cheers.
johnmiles78 is offline  
Thanks to johnmiles78 from:
Reply

  Civinfo > 9th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2012 - 2016) > Electronics and ICE (9G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome