Dab - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 12th January 2013, 16:36 Thread Starter
 
Pesky36's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 1.8 SE Plus
Join Date: 18th July 2008
Location: UK SCOTLAND
Posts: 40
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Wink Dab

Hello all,

I posted this back in October last year - (http://www.civinfo.com/forum/9g-gene...85273-dab.html)

I decided to use my iPhone and stream DAB via BT to the car. The issue I then got is that I burst my monthly bandwidth (1gb on 3 weeks) Not good.

The banter then, there is no real DAB retro fit or anything clever. The above is still true but I just picked this up today and installed this in the car. "A Sonichi S1000 Digital Radio Adaptor" (Halfords | Sonichi S1000 Digital Radio Adaptor) - To download the user manual for this product please click here

It works great. ( You still get the odd drop out but you are going to get that regardless)

The pictures below should explain how I installed it. If you have any q's just ask. (Sorry about the poor quality of the images the light was going)






Last edited by Pesky36; 12th January 2013 at 17:50.
Pesky36 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 12th January 2013, 18:01
-=SBZ=-
 
snowboundzero's Avatar
 
Car: 2.2 EX
Join Date: 19th March 2011
Location: Sheffield S12 ENGLAND
Posts: 901
Thanks: 155
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
iTrader: (4)
What % signal do you get there?
I'm after a new DAB aerial so looking about.
snowboundzero is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 13th January 2013, 16:41 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Pesky36's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 1.8 SE Plus
Join Date: 18th July 2008
Location: UK SCOTLAND
Posts: 40
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
So far I have seen the strenght around 100% with signal quality going from 80 kbps to 128 kbps. All sounds fine to me. (and I am a real stickler for quality)

Mike
Pesky36 is offline  
Thanks to Pesky36 from:
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 13th January 2013, 20:54
 
sakis9282's Avatar
 
Car: 2013 1.4 sport white orchid
Join Date: 26th December 2012
Location: Greece. Drama-Thessaloniki GR
Posts: 457
Thanks: 3
Thanked 66 Times in 40 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Does i-mid support a video files?
sakis9282 is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 14th January 2013, 14:34
 
Car: 2012 1.8 5 door,White Orchid
Join Date: 7th July 2012
Location: AUS AU
Posts: 1,073
Thanks: 101
Thanked 94 Times in 83 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I have the same Sonichi unit but it is unbranded. Works well enough but would prefer something which is factory integrated so you can use the steering wheel controls.


I await with interest as to the new 2013 update with (Optional?) DAB as to whether or not you can retrofit it to older cars.
Vti07 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 14th January 2013, 17:55
LOUD NOISES!!!
 
gadgetman68's Avatar
 
Car: 60 FN2 M200
Join Date: 5th February 2009
Location: Derbyshire, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 5,369
Thanks: 990
Thanked 765 Times in 624 Posts
iTrader: (6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vti07 View Post
Works well enough but would prefer something which is factory integrated so you can use the steering wheel controls.
say like this;

Halfords | AutoDAB Interface for Honda - CTDAB-HO1

I might have this fitted soon .... still undecided
gadgetman68 is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 14th January 2013, 19:11 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Pesky36's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 1.8 SE Plus
Join Date: 18th July 2008
Location: UK SCOTLAND
Posts: 40
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I had seen that. But i didnt want to mess with my car to much incase it messed up my warranty!

Last edited by Pesky36; 14th January 2013 at 20:02.
Pesky36 is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 14th January 2013, 19:40
LOUD NOISES!!!
 
gadgetman68's Avatar
 
Car: 60 FN2 M200
Join Date: 5th February 2009
Location: Derbyshire, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 5,369
Thanks: 990
Thanked 765 Times in 624 Posts
iTrader: (6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pesky36 View Post
I had seen that. But i didnt want to mess with my car to much incase it messed up my warenty
Fair enough.

What you've done is a good install and should be the same on the 8th gen.
gadgetman68 is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 14th January 2013, 20:02 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Pesky36's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 1.8 SE Plus
Join Date: 18th July 2008
Location: UK SCOTLAND
Posts: 40
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Thanks - it works great!

Yes, it should work on the 8th Gen. You can use a spare FM channel on your car radio and use the Sonichi dab that way. So, no need to worry about a AUX line.

Mike
Pesky36 is offline  
Thanks to Pesky36 from:
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 14th January 2013, 20:46
LOUD NOISES!!!
 
gadgetman68's Avatar
 
Car: 60 FN2 M200
Join Date: 5th February 2009
Location: Derbyshire, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 5,369
Thanks: 990
Thanked 765 Times in 624 Posts
iTrader: (6)
Facelift 8th gen's have the same aux in, usb and power in the arm rest as the 9th gen's by the look of it
gadgetman68 is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 9th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2012 - 2016) > Electronics and ICE (9G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome