Faults Fault Cold air intake - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 17th February 2010, 10:11 Thread Starter
 
Sccal's Avatar
 
Join Date: 4th November 2008
Location: Belgium,Sinaai BE
Posts: 3
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Fault Cold air intake

I installed a cold air intake from Fujita.
I have a question about a fault that comes on my ODO. (the fault is system check).

The fault is not always, it sometimes comes up when the engine is on and i am not driving (not touching the gas-pedal).I get only 700 - 800 rpm and it look i go to low in rpm.

When i go to my garage for reading the fault..the fault is "system to poor"
This i probably the fault of the mix of air and fuel..because the engine gets more air now.

does someone know a solution? i hope you'll understand the question..

I can not clear the fault bij my self, with the how to on this forum..

Greetz Kevin
Sccal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 17th February 2010, 11:09
reb
Supporter
 
reb's Avatar
 
Join Date: 3rd November 2008
Location: derry, n.i NORTHIRELAND
Posts: 179
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (0)
your car is running too lean, you need to get the car mapped or use flashpro and an air/fuel meter to get it right
reb is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 17th February 2010, 11:39
 
Car: 2008 CTR Milano Red
Join Date: 11th November 2009
Location: Poland PL
Posts: 242
Thanks: 1
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (1)
I had the same situation when installed my CAI. Now You're running on MAF calibration and sensor from stock intake gets wrong data about air fuel ratio. That's why CAI can't work properly without FlashPRO, which deactivates sensor. Get FlashPRO, install MAP calibration ( like in EP3) and then everything gonna be fine- there won't be flatspots etc.
Cheers.
majkilipa89 is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 17th February 2010, 12:12 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Sccal's Avatar
 
Join Date: 4th November 2008
Location: Belgium,Sinaai BE
Posts: 3
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
thanks for the info..
My next question is..Where can i get flashpro? Is it software? Is it available in belgium? And van i loafers it in mu car? Van my garage do it?

Thanks
Sccal is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 17th February 2010, 14:16 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Sccal's Avatar
 
Join Date: 4th November 2008
Location: Belgium,Sinaai BE
Posts: 3
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Sorry for the spelling.. The 4th question was, how do i get the software in my car?
Sccal is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 17th February 2010, 20:58
 
i-DSi's Avatar
 
Car: Accord 2.0 i-Vtec+ 1.4 i-DSi
Join Date: 30th June 2009
Location: Belgium BE
Posts: 502
Thanks: 4
Thanked 46 Times in 43 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sccal View Post
thanks for the info..
My next question is..Where can i get flashpro? Is it software? Is it available in belgium? And van i loafers it in mu car? Van my garage do it?

Thanks
Sccal, don't believe what they tell you here !!!
If they would be right it would mean we all (including me) would see this fault just because it's freezing. Airintake is now freezing cold, but there's no errorcode and the stock ECU compensates this perfect.
Possible cause if this error came on just after installing CAI:
There's a false air intake AFTER the MAF-sensor so the engine get's air that was not measured.
Good luck and keep your head cool, not only your intake !
i-DSi is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 18th February 2010, 10:00
 
Car: 2008 CTR Milano Red
Join Date: 11th November 2009
Location: Poland PL
Posts: 242
Thanks: 1
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (1)
i-DSI: I can't understand Your opinion at all... Really, it isn't my vocabulary, just arguments. Could You explain where I made mistake? Maybe You know something I don't know.

Intake is very tough issue in FN2. If there's no FlashPRO in Your car, CAI doesn't work properly. AEM CAI is wider, there's more air and fuel, when You floor right pedal ECU starts to think because of wrong AFR and provides a flatspot.

FlashPRO is fully programmable device which helps to program car to mods which are already on board. You just plug in FlashPRO under steering wheel and upload remapped data to ECU.
CPL Racing are selling Hondata FlashPRO, google it and there is needed info. It costs about 500 pounds.
FlashPRO and CAI will completely transform CTR- better throttle response, lower VTEC and higer rev
I hope this site helps: hondata.com.
Cheers.
majkilipa89 is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 18th February 2010, 21:07
 
i-DSi's Avatar
 
Car: Accord 2.0 i-Vtec+ 1.4 i-DSi
Join Date: 30th June 2009
Location: Belgium BE
Posts: 502
Thanks: 4
Thanked 46 Times in 43 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by majkilipa89 View Post
Intake is very tough issue in FN2. If there's no FlashPRO in Your car, CAI doesn't work properly. AEM CAI is wider, there's more air and fuel, when You floor right pedal ECU starts to think because of wrong AFR and provides a flatspot.
Hi Majkilipa,
This is why I think you're wrong:
- Kevin has a problem when idling, at that moment the error comes on. The effect of more air (colder air) can have no influence, as the throttle valve is almost completely closed at idle.
- FN2 has just as FK1, FK2,... the same method of measuring the airmass coming in: a MAF and a MAP sensor (airmass and pressure). Temp.sensor is integrated with LAFsensor. Give me please one good reason why these sensors would not be able to measure the amount of air coming in after modifying the intake. Take into account the narrowest point of the intake never changes: the throtlle valve. Only (!) at WOT there can be a very slight increase (a few %) of air coming in at a slightly decreased temp.
But everything is measured and by far into 'range' for the stock ECU.
You state his engine runs leaner. That's correct (the ECU tells so), but it's hard to accept for me the reason is another intake.
Reasons for showing this errorcode can be:
- false air entering after intakesensors
- false air entering at exhaustmanifold (before LAF sensor or lambdasensor)
- injector clodged
- a valve that doesn't close 100%
- misfires (!) because of a bad sparkplug/other reason
- ....
I experimented with temperatures of airintake and never got an errorcode (why should I ?). An increase/decrease of 10 to 20C is compensated by the stock ECU in an eyeblink.
And getting a lot more air into your engine to get it out of range for the stock ECU is extremely difficult at legal speeds (below 200 km/h).
As I said: throtlle valve is narrowest point anyhow, and only at WOT.
Do you understand my explanation?
i-DSi is offline  
Thanks to i-DSi from:
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 18th February 2010, 21:15
The White Knight
 
Josh1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: 4th May 2009
Location: Pickering ENGLAND
Posts: 1,486
Thanks: 15
Thanked 72 Times in 67 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Send a message via MSN to Josh1987
i-DSi it has been shown that Stock ECU does have trouble when certain "Inductions Kits" does affect MAF control as alot kits change piper and surrounding for the MAF sensor I.E with mine its now upside down

The stock ECU will be programmed for only so many variations i doubt its programmed for shorter air runs more air flow passing it or forced air passed it
Josh1987 is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 19th February 2010, 10:20
 
Car: 2008 CTR Milano Red
Join Date: 11th November 2009
Location: Poland PL
Posts: 242
Thanks: 1
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by i-DSi View Post
Hi Majkilipa,
This is why I think you're wrong:
- Kevin has a problem when idling, at that moment the error comes on. The effect of more air (colder air) can have no influence, as the throttle valve is almost completely closed at idle.
- FN2 has just as FK1, FK2,... the same method of measuring the airmass coming in: a MAF and a MAP sensor (airmass and pressure). Temp.sensor is integrated with LAFsensor. Give me please one good reason why these sensors would not be able to measure the amount of air coming in after modifying the intake. Take into account the narrowest point of the intake never changes: the throtlle valve. Only (!) at WOT there can be a very slight increase (a few %) of air coming in at a slightly decreased temp.
But everything is measured and by far into 'range' for the stock ECU.
You state his engine runs leaner. That's correct (the ECU tells so), but it's hard to accept for me the reason is another intake.
Reasons for showing this errorcode can be:
- false air entering after intakesensors
- false air entering at exhaustmanifold (before LAF sensor or lambdasensor)
- injector clodged
- a valve that doesn't close 100%
- misfires (!) because of a bad sparkplug/other reason
- ....
I experimented with temperatures of airintake and never got an errorcode (why should I ?). An increase/decrease of 10 to 20C is compensated by the stock ECU in an eyeblink.
And getting a lot more air into your engine to get it out of range for the stock ECU is extremely difficult at legal speeds (below 200 km/h).
As I said: throtlle valve is narrowest point anyhow, and only at WOT.
Do you understand my explanation?

Actually You are right, but have You ever made an experiment with FN2? Really, considering Your point everything should be fine in typical car. Unfortunately intake in FN2 is the hardest issue to upgrade- CAI with stock ECU doesn't work. Many guys couldn't sleep until problem was solved. My friend who started upgrading his FN2 in 2007 had about 5-6 intakes and nothing helped. He ordered upgraded sensor which should provide correct AFR, but it didn't help at all. After purchasing a FlashPRO intake started working.
I'm not a specialist so I can't excatly explain why's there such a problem, but every owner of FN2 will find out that upgraded intake with stock ECU doesn't work.
Cheers!
majkilipa89 is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Engines and Transmission (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPL TYPE R FN2 Cold Air Intake TH3DOCTOR Type-R 27 26th July 2010 12:49
The CPL Racing cold air intake system AndyG72 Type-R 8 9th December 2009 10:19
Other Cold air intake suggestions ignaitus Engines and Transmission (8G) 15 20th February 2009 16:53
fault vtec-hungry Type-R 15 3rd September 2007 12:08

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome