Bonnet - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 16th October 2013, 12:54 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
Stews FN2's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 CTR FD2, white
Join Date: 9th March 2013
Location: Durham, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 127
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Bonnet

This may sound daft but not had car a week so never done it

Just needing to top screen wash up and cannot open the bonnet, the lever isn't doing anything

All cars had before is simple just pull lever in car then move catch to side

When looked at car previous owner lifted bonnet

Lever won't move side to side so how the hell do I open it lol
Stews FN2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 16th October 2013, 13:06
Supporter
 
bigbadtom's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 5 door,nhb
Join Date: 25th August 2012
Location: lincoln,uk GB
Posts: 1,428
Thanks: 30
Thanked 179 Times in 160 Posts
iTrader: (13)
It should just work as any other car pull the lever next to the filler cap lever above where the accelerator is in the footwell then like you say put your fingers in between the grill and the now popped bonnet and find the catch to fully open the bonnet.
It sounds like you have a problem ,snaped cable, cable off etc.only guessing though.
bigbadtom is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 16th October 2013, 13:10
Supporter
 
bananas_33's Avatar
 
Car: FD2, white
Join Date: 29th October 2009
Location: newcastle, UK HK
Posts: 1,651
Thanks: 185
Thanked 254 Times in 227 Posts
iTrader: (5)
is the lever broken? I just opened mine just give it a pull
bananas_33 is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 16th October 2013, 13:14 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Stews FN2's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 CTR FD2, white
Join Date: 9th March 2013
Location: Durham, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 127
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Can't open it whatsoever
Lifted bonnets on loads of cars without any bother

Do u push lever to right?
Stews FN2 is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 16th October 2013, 13:16
drives a shed now
 
Car: 2007 CTS GT i-shift
Join Date: 9th June 2013
Location: UK GB
Posts: 1,429
Thanks: 1,039
Thanked 514 Times in 420 Posts
iTrader: (3)
So when you pull the release in the footwell, the bonnet pops up slightly as it should?
onearmbandit is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 16th October 2013, 13:17 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Stews FN2's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 CTR FD2, white
Join Date: 9th March 2013
Location: Durham, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 127
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Yeah
Stews FN2 is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 16th October 2013, 13:26
Supporter
 
bananas_33's Avatar
 
Car: FD2, white
Join Date: 29th October 2009
Location: newcastle, UK HK
Posts: 1,651
Thanks: 185
Thanked 254 Times in 227 Posts
iTrader: (5)
ahh i see. it's a bit fiddly but should be the same as the FN
bananas_33 is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 16th October 2013, 13:31 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Stews FN2's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 CTR FD2, white
Join Date: 9th March 2013
Location: Durham, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 127
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Must be broke then

The lever won't move whatsoever
Stews FN2 is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 16th October 2013, 13:33
Supporter
 
leoscar's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 1.8 SE i-Shift, Silver
Join Date: 10th September 2010
Location: Portsmouth, UK HK
Posts: 261
Thanks: 5
Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Eco display Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stews FN2 View Post
Can't open it whatsoever
Lifted bonnets on loads of cars without any bother

Do u push lever to right?
You don't push the lever to the right, this one is just a push up.
leoscar is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 16th October 2013, 13:36 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Stews FN2's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 CTR FD2, white
Join Date: 9th March 2013
Location: Durham, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 127
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Tried that also, no joy

Must be something wrong with it
Stews FN2 is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 17th October 2013, 16:03 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Stews FN2's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 CTR FD2, white
Join Date: 9th March 2013
Location: Durham, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 127
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Had serviced today at honda

The lever was broke but honda fixed free of charge, works and opens as it should now
Stews FN2 is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > Civic Type R > FD2

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Review: Seibon Carbon Fibre Bonnet on Silver FN2 with CF bonnet catches Kimotherapy Styling (8G) 18 7th August 2010 20:45
Bodywork Dent on bonnet from bonnet catch! Guitaralmond Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 40 15th September 2008 18:50

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome