installed aftermarket cd player now cannot get top screen help!!! - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 12th August 2014, 09:58 Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 19th June 2014
Location: Essex ENGLAND
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
installed aftermarket cd player now cannot get top screen help!!!

Hi,

I had installed an aftermarket cd player installed for my fn2 last year and as a result lost my top screen (doesnt function with it) i thought this was normal but i have lately seen fn2 with aftermarket cd players with the top screen working. can anyone shed any light of how i can get it to be compatible with my stereo?

Kind regards

Luke
lukeh89 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 12th August 2014, 10:02
Supporter
 
CDT808's Avatar
 
Car: 2.2icdti SE alabaster silver
Join Date: 30th July 2013
Location: Dorset ENGLAND
Posts: 2,581
Thanks: 450
Thanked 933 Times in 746 Posts
iTrader: (18)
by screen do you mean functionality of heater controls, time etc? If so its because you need a connector wire loom that connects your head unit to the cars and allows these things to carrying on working .... like the 'connects 2' wiring. You just buy the wiring from them that fits to your make of head unit...
CDT808 is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 12th August 2014, 10:04
Syx
#MrGrumpy
 
Syx's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 CTS GT
Join Date: 22nd December 2009
Location: Luton, UK GB
Posts: 13,117
Thanks: 1,272
Thanked 2,657 Times in 2,260 Posts
iTrader: (94)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Syx
Hi Luke

You need to get yourself a wiring loom from and connect through that to maintain the functionality.

See here:
Impulse Car Electronics – Products – Hands Free Kits
or
Connects 2 Car Audio Systems, Car Stereo, Car Radio DAB Stereos, Car interface adapters and accessories > ProductInformation

Connect the original connectors in one end and your HU on the other (should be pretty obvious as all the connectors are obviously different shapes) and you're away.
Syx is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 12th August 2014, 10:05 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 19th June 2014
Location: Essex ENGLAND
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
yes thats correct, i dont have use of the screen that shows your heating control, ok il have a look for that then
lukeh89 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 12th August 2014, 10:07
Syx
#MrGrumpy
 
Syx's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 CTS GT
Join Date: 22nd December 2009
Location: Luton, UK GB
Posts: 13,117
Thanks: 1,272
Thanked 2,657 Times in 2,260 Posts
iTrader: (94)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Syx
Also if you get yourself a steering wheel control unit cable like one of these:
Product Range | Connects2 | Car Audio Manufacturers

Then you will also be able to control the head unit from your steering wheel.
Syx is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 12th August 2014, 13:07 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 19th June 2014
Location: Essex ENGLAND
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
great thanks for your help, i will place an order today for the connect 2 one
lukeh89 is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > Civic Type R > FD2

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrics What dual screen dvd player for in the rear? Savange Electronics (8G) 0 4th June 2012 21:02
AUX in Aftermarket MP3 player / Aux/ iPod adaptor john87 Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 2 12th February 2010 10:00
Other Has anyone had the official Honda bluetooth kit installed aftermarket? jraward Electronics (8G) 7 30th December 2009 02:20
HID Aftermarket HID lights installed! sparda_gm Lights (8G) 56 24th January 2009 09:16

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome