Other turbo - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 74 (permalink) Old 29th October 2015, 15:55 Thread Starter
 
playlife69's Avatar
 
Join Date: 13th September 2015
Location: buggiba AD
Posts: 40
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
turbo

hello everyone i need an option i have a honda fn4 14 vtec and im thinking of making a turbo on it just for more power to have abit of fun with is it worth it ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
playlife69 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 74 (permalink) Old 29th October 2015, 16:43
A wizard is never late...
 
Voodoo-Nachoman's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 Milano CTR
Join Date: 19th December 2014
Location: welshpool uk WALES
Posts: 793
Thanks: 44
Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
i imagine getting power out of the 1.4 is like getting blood from a stone. and a turbo conversion would be way to costly for small gains really. i cant see a turbo 1.4 making much power.
Voodoo-Nachoman is offline  
post #3 of 74 (permalink) Old 29th October 2015, 16:56 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
playlife69's Avatar
 
Join Date: 13th September 2015
Location: buggiba AD
Posts: 40
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
i am aiming at least 200bhp in total not just by turbo and im happy with 200bhp as its already 100bhp stock


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
playlife69 is offline  
 
post #4 of 74 (permalink) Old 29th October 2015, 17:08
A wizard is never late...
 
Voodoo-Nachoman's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 Milano CTR
Join Date: 19th December 2014
Location: welshpool uk WALES
Posts: 793
Thanks: 44
Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
you will be lucky, the d16 in the old ep2 couldn't crack 200bhp with a turbo on stock engine. it would cheaper to buy a fn2 or a 2.2 derv and map that over a turbo on the 1.4. i have never heard of the 1.4 being turbo'd though so at least it would be original.
Voodoo-Nachoman is offline  
post #5 of 74 (permalink) Old 29th October 2015, 17:10
Supporter
 
civicnewbie's Avatar
 
Car: 2014 Aygo
Join Date: 18th December 2011
Location: Glasgow SCOTLAND
Posts: 3,159
Thanks: 332
Thanked 847 Times in 734 Posts
iTrader: (12)
Quote:
Originally Posted by playlife69 View Post
i am aiming at least 200bhp in total not just by turbo and im happy with 200bhp as its already 100bhp stock


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
an extra 100bhp - no chance
civicnewbie is offline  
post #6 of 74 (permalink) Old 29th October 2015, 17:20 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
playlife69's Avatar
 
Join Date: 13th September 2015
Location: buggiba AD
Posts: 40
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
any options to put abit more bhp in it apart from full exhaust system as could not find an intake kit for it


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
playlife69 is offline  
post #7 of 74 (permalink) Old 29th October 2015, 17:29
A wizard is never late...
 
Voodoo-Nachoman's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 Milano CTR
Join Date: 19th December 2014
Location: welshpool uk WALES
Posts: 793
Thanks: 44
Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
as i said before, getting power from the 1.4 will be like getting blood from a stone, its just not happening.
Voodoo-Nachoman is offline  
post #8 of 74 (permalink) Old 29th October 2015, 17:30 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
playlife69's Avatar
 
Join Date: 13th September 2015
Location: buggiba AD
Posts: 40
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
thanks for your option


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
playlife69 is offline  
post #9 of 74 (permalink) Old 29th October 2015, 17:34
Supporter
 
Car: 2008 - TypeS-GT Milano Red
Join Date: 29th September 2014
Location: Manchester GB
Posts: 263
Thanks: 35
Thanked 24 Times in 20 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Tidy looking motor

You could look at putting a larger engine in and turboing that?
goldstar0011 is offline  
post #10 of 74 (permalink) Old 29th October 2015, 19:40
Bye bye Honda...
 
Jon_G's Avatar
 
Car: Volvo V60 VEA D4 (181)
Join Date: 11th May 2012
Location: Ludlow, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 5,759
Thanks: 1,051
Thanked 1,265 Times in 1,042 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Far easier and cheaper to sell it and buy a more powerful car. You'll then get all the other uprated stuff like brakes, clutch, transmission, etc that you also need.

Sticking a turbo on that would be a mistake.
Jon_G is offline  
post #11 of 74 (permalink) Old 29th October 2015, 19:41 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
playlife69's Avatar
 
Join Date: 13th September 2015
Location: buggiba AD
Posts: 40
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
why would it be ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
playlife69 is offline  
post #12 of 74 (permalink) Old 29th October 2015, 21:19
Bye bye Honda...
 
Jon_G's Avatar
 
Car: Volvo V60 VEA D4 (181)
Join Date: 11th May 2012
Location: Ludlow, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 5,759
Thanks: 1,051
Thanked 1,265 Times in 1,042 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Because the gains will be small for the money you'll need to spend!
Jon_G is offline  
post #13 of 74 (permalink) Old 29th October 2015, 21:39
Banned
 
Aqib's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22nd November 2011
Location: Glasgow, UK SCOTLAND
Posts: 7,705
Thanks: 296
Thanked 1,378 Times in 1,315 Posts
iTrader: (26)
Aqib is offline  
Thanks to Aqib from:
post #14 of 74 (permalink) Old 30th October 2015, 00:09
Supporter
 
CAM320N's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 CTS GT Black
Join Date: 4th May 2014
Location: Neath Port Talbot WALES
Posts: 263
Thanks: 52
Thanked 59 Times in 53 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Eco display
with the cost of a turbo conversion might aswell buy yourself a a second car with big power as standard, e.g a Subaru can pick them up these days for next to nothing and thats double the bhp and fun you would get out of the 1.4 turbo !
CAM320N is offline  
post #15 of 74 (permalink) Old 30th October 2015, 11:38
Supporter
 
Join Date: 26th August 2013
Location: Swindon GB
Posts: 605
Thanks: 102
Thanked 91 Times in 83 Posts
iTrader: (2)
I clicked in this thread ready to share my 2p on fn2 turbo questions...
TAS_Jeffers is offline  
post #16 of 74 (permalink) Old 30th October 2015, 13:04
Supporter
 
Carlnike's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 CW CTR
Join Date: 3rd September 2013
Location: North wales WALES
Posts: 1,403
Thanks: 64
Thanked 184 Times in 167 Posts
iTrader: (3)
In reality it is a waste of money but if it's what you want to do then go for it and good look to you.

You may see 170bhp at a guess but a good increase in torque.
Carlnike is offline  
post #17 of 74 (permalink) Old 30th October 2015, 13:18
Enjoying life
 
flashy's Avatar
 
Car: '06 Cosmic Grey EP3 prem CTR
Join Date: 30th June 2015
Location: Swindon ENGLAND
Posts: 8,417
Thanks: 378
Thanked 658 Times in 621 Posts
iTrader: (13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by civicnewbie View Post
an extra 100bhp - no chance
Stick a second 1.4 unit in the boot?
flashy is offline  
post #18 of 74 (permalink) Old 30th October 2015, 14:22
Supporter
 
Airzi69's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 FN2 nighthawk black
Join Date: 4th September 2014
Location: Manchester ENGLAND
Posts: 344
Thanks: 8
Thanked 47 Times in 44 Posts
iTrader: (0)
i reckon it can be done. if you got the money and its what you want. go for it!
Airzi69 is offline  
post #19 of 74 (permalink) Old 30th October 2015, 14:27
Bye bye Honda...
 
Jon_G's Avatar
 
Car: Volvo V60 VEA D4 (181)
Join Date: 11th May 2012
Location: Ludlow, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 5,759
Thanks: 1,051
Thanked 1,265 Times in 1,042 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Maybe add nitrous as well?
Jon_G is offline  
post #20 of 74 (permalink) Old 30th October 2015, 15:13
A wizard is never late...
 
Voodoo-Nachoman's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 Milano CTR
Join Date: 19th December 2014
Location: welshpool uk WALES
Posts: 793
Thanks: 44
Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airzi69 View Post
i reckon it can be done. if you got the money and its what you want. go for it!
I don't doubt that it can be done, but is the time, effort and money really worth turbo in a 1.4? It won't even be as powerful as a fn2 and they are getting cheap now, if a fn2 is out of the question due to running costs then buy a 2.2 and map it.
Voodoo-Nachoman is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Gallery (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Turbo CR-Z !!!! Red Dwarf Honda CR-Z 4 23rd March 2015 10:09
Faults Turbo Help Chaos Engines and Transmission (8G) 9 2nd February 2014 22:05
Faults Where's my Turbo gone? MrFish Engines and Transmission (8G) 27 30th March 2013 13:31
turbo shae Cleaning 13 15th July 2012 12:31
Turbo for 1.8 ... J. Derek Riddell ABP Motorsport 4 15th December 2010 11:51

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome