6Likes
  • 1 Post By Das
  • 3 Post By hondacivicnut
  • 2 Post By Haltamer

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 1st October 2018, 13:31 Thread Starter

Car: 8th Gen 2011 Civic 1.8
V-Power petrol drop in MPG

Despite the drop in temperature, I have had a significant 5+ MPG drop on V-Power. Down to 35 MPG from 40+ MPG. This is my first time on High Octane Petrol. The manual does say it can take more than 95 RON and oxygenated fuel (whatever that is).

What is everyone views after using V-Power Petrol or high Octane? Please don't post about the diesel that does appear to be effective in my experience.

I will be going back to 95 ron.

Last edited by johandesilva; 1st October 2018 at 16:09. Reason: Spelling and clarity
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 1st October 2018, 15:50
Das
i-Vtec

Car: 2009 1.8 ES
Garage
I have always found the same,Costco Premium gives the most poke but the worst MPG. people will tell you it takes the ECU a few fills to adjust to the increase in Octane. No idea if its true, but also I find that I use the right foot more enjoying the extra poke you get with premium petrol.
Bones126 likes this.
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 1st October 2018, 16:03
Supporter

Car: 9th Gen 1.4 Petrol SE + Navi
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Das View Post
No idea if its true, but also I find that I use the right foot more enjoying the extra poke you get with premium petrol.

It sounds like that is the case:- I know E10 Gives a reduced MPG, But I found it to be far more than a ~10% decrease in MPG that most state - Mostly because it was noticeably more responsive, and fun to go whoosh.

I've used Costco 95 / 99 RON for a number of long runs, and I've never noticed a particular tendency either way when just cruising normally; any fluctuations are generally attributable to other factors, such as average cruising speed.

post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 1st October 2018, 16:32 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **