2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner

Cracked roof

7K views 48 replies 19 participants last post by  Das 
#1 ·
Hi guys,

the roof of my 2006 honda civic se i-vtec has cracked, badly. I have tried searching around for any information or replacements but cannot find any relevant information at all! I was wondering if anyone here has experienced this at all, have any ideas on how I might go about fixing this and any advice that you have on what you would do in my situation or would advise me to do.

thanks.

(cannot post images because I am a noob)

#4 ·
I assume you mean a glass roof ?

I seem to recall a post, years ago, that said that it's made of glass thicker than the window glass and is quite expensive.

Find one in a breakers and get Autoglass to fit it ?

Also, what's the small print around insurance companies and non windscreen glass.

This should keep you going .... https://www.civinfo.com/forum/general-discussion-8g/70515-crack-panoramic-roof.html

Which reckons £700 + £450 fitting

#11 · (Edited)
That's weird. I wonder if it's over painted filler or does it go right through?
It seems to have cracked all the way through and has lifted, perhaps from water getting inside. You can also see that it is rusting inside from the rust streaks

Some more images (yay for my first 5 posts)
https://ibb.co/7RVvd0s
https://ibb.co/JRb5vfh

#19 ·
I almost don't want to :crying:

A good body shop will be able to give you a better idea of what's what on it.
I'll get in touch with some body shop guys and get them to take a look at it. I'll post an update when I know some more. Worst-case scenario, we get a good laugh out of such a shocking job.

thanks for your help guys

#29 ·
yeah i would be pretty hacked off too, but jeez thats bad, bodyshop who did it should be banned from working on cars.

For me depends on the extent of damage underneath and how it needed repaired in the first place.