Miles remaining? - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 34 (permalink) Old 23rd December 2012, 14:59 Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 23rd December 2012
Location: Lincoln GB
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Miles remaining?

Can I not get the screen to display how many miles left in the tank before I need to fill up?!

Hmmmmm

Also, shame the dial colours don't change when you change the screen to red etc...
doninphi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 34 (permalink) Old 23rd December 2012, 15:04
...............Daedalus
 
mpn_daedalus's Avatar
 
Car: CW Type R No. 460
Join Date: 5th August 2010
Location: Norfolk, UK GB
Posts: 3,687
Thanks: 236
Thanked 445 Times in 413 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Press the i button on the steering wheel to cycle through the trip computer. Miles to empty should be the 3rd or 4th screen.

Sent from my Sony Xperia S using Tapatalk 2
mpn_daedalus is offline  
Thanks to mpn_daedalus from:
post #3 of 34 (permalink) Old 23rd December 2012, 16:30 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 23rd December 2012
Location: Lincoln GB
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I have:

1. Main screen, mpg etc...
2. Blank
3. Clock
4. Radio

Is it the clock I can change? I was driving so haven't had time to attempt to do that...
doninphi is offline  
 
post #4 of 34 (permalink) Old 23rd December 2012, 17:09
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
If you access the menu when parked, you get an extra menu screen which allows you to customise the trip computer screen
Bog is offline  
post #5 of 34 (permalink) Old 23rd December 2012, 17:11
Supporter
 
jamie_H's Avatar
 
Car: NHB CTR
Join Date: 13th November 2011
Location: Bedford ENGLAND
Posts: 485
Thanks: 100
Thanked 74 Times in 60 Posts
iTrader: (1)
You can still cylcle through screens while driving tho ie miles remaining, mpg, blank, seatbelts etc
jamie_H is offline  
post #6 of 34 (permalink) Old 23rd December 2012, 17:11 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 23rd December 2012
Location: Lincoln GB
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Cool will try that! Hopefully I can have it on number 2 as that just shows miles the car has done and a digital clock across the bottom, I.e. pointless!
doninphi is offline  
post #7 of 34 (permalink) Old 23rd December 2012, 17:12 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 23rd December 2012
Location: Lincoln GB
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Oh I know you can do that, but miles remaining appears not to be turned on at the mo
doninphi is offline  
post #8 of 34 (permalink) Old 23rd December 2012, 18:29 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 23rd December 2012
Location: Lincoln GB
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Ah it goes onto the main screen number one. Shame but glad I've got it.
doninphi is offline  
post #9 of 34 (permalink) Old 24th December 2012, 09:09 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 23rd December 2012
Location: Lincoln GB
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
So why does screen 2 have nowt on it? Is it for a higher model with more options?

ES model.
doninphi is offline  
post #10 of 34 (permalink) Old 24th December 2012, 09:46
Supporter
 
coste1l's Avatar
 
Car: 09 Suzuki Swift Sport white
Join Date: 16th January 2010
Location: Sunderland UK ENGLAND
Posts: 20,382
Thanks: 1,830
Thanked 2,783 Times in 2,531 Posts
iTrader: (15)
For people who dont want to see it

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk 2
coste1l is offline  
post #11 of 34 (permalink) Old 24th December 2012, 10:09 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 23rd December 2012
Location: Lincoln GB
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Yeh did wonder that.
doninphi is offline  
post #12 of 34 (permalink) Old 24th December 2012, 10:26
Syx
#MrGrumpy
 
Syx's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 CTS GT
Join Date: 22nd December 2009
Location: Luton, UK GB
Posts: 13,117
Thanks: 1,272
Thanked 2,657 Times in 2,260 Posts
iTrader: (94)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Syx
9G forum chaps...
Syx is offline  
post #13 of 34 (permalink) Old 25th December 2012, 08:49
Super Moderator
 
Grayfox's Avatar
 
Car: '11 Impreza R Special
Join Date: 1st February 2012
Location: NSW, Australia AU
Posts: 7,124
Thanks: 93
Thanked 1,011 Times in 891 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
They didn't add the rear seat belt screen from the 9th gen?
Grayfox is offline  
post #14 of 34 (permalink) Old 26th December 2012, 07:28
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpn_daedalus View Post
Press the i button on the steering wheel to cycle through the trip computer. Miles to empty should be the 3rd or 4th screen.

Sent from my Sony Xperia S using Tapatalk 2
This is in the 9G section and the 9G doesn't have this facility, yet. You have to pull up at the side of the road, apply the handbrake, get the manual out and follow the instructions and go via the menu system.

What you can do, if you have the right model, is opt to not view the SatNav mapping and have this display the tank range instead. If you are on an unfamilair journey you have 2 options:

1) Watch your tank range
2) SatNav Navigation

The good news is that the MY13's apparently have this sorted and it's back to the steering wheel.

Last edited by Kremmen; 26th December 2012 at 07:30.
Kremmen is offline  
post #15 of 34 (permalink) Old 26th December 2012, 17:41
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
You paint a gloomy picture there Krem... But in reality, it's not that bad. I hame my I-MID screen set to to rang as its the one I use the most and as I have the Honda nav I can flick into the trip computer screen to see how mpg is going

Btw, sat in a 13my ES last Friday (went to dealer to collect my 15 e-voucher - Honda Xmas card).... The I-mid seems to function exactly the same

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kremmen View Post
This is in the 9G section and the 9G doesn't have this facility, yet. You have to pull up at the side of the road, apply the handbrake, get the manual out and follow the instructions and go via the menu system.

What you can do, if you have the right model, is opt to not view the SatNav mapping and have this display the tank range instead. If you are on an unfamilair journey you have 2 options:

1) Watch your tank range
2) SatNav Navigation

The good news is that the MY13's apparently have this sorted and it's back to the steering wheel.
Bog is offline  
Thanks to Bog from:
post #16 of 34 (permalink) Old 26th December 2012, 21:45
 
bodgerx's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 ES 1.8 i-VTEC i-Shift
Join Date: 25th December 2010
Location: UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,261
Thanks: 22
Thanked 90 Times in 87 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bog View Post
You paint a gloomy picture there Krem... But in reality, it's not that bad. I hame my I-MID screen set to to rang as its the one I use the most and as I have the Honda nav I can flick into the trip computer screen to see how mpg is going

Btw, sat in a 13my ES last Friday (went to dealer to collect my 15 e-voucher - Honda Xmas card).... The I-mid seems to function exactly the same
I thought this would be the case. Honda clearly have no intention of changing this - they must see it as a safety lock out.

The writing on the wall was when the new CR-V came out with exactly the same restriction.
bodgerx is offline  
Thanks to bodgerx from:
post #17 of 34 (permalink) Old 27th December 2012, 07:28
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I thought the latest CR-V had it sorted, with the Civ to follow ?

Looks like I'm hanging on to mine for quite a while longer then. Wonder why they did this ? What's the point of a trip computer if you can't roll round the various available functions without being at the side of the road with the handbrake on ?
Kremmen is offline  
post #18 of 34 (permalink) Old 27th December 2012, 14:44
Arfurs right hand man
 
NH Dan's Avatar
 
Car: 1.8 Civic SE plus Auto 9th G
Join Date: 31st January 2008
Location: South London,Uk GB
Posts: 4,125
Thanks: 559
Thanked 476 Times in 380 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodgerx View Post
I thought this would be the case. Honda clearly have no intention of changing this - they must see it as a safety lock out.

The writing on the wall was when the new CR-V came out with exactly the same restriction.

Yet more total rubbish.

You can view both MPG and Range on the same screen on the 2013 MY CR-V.
EIther that or i've just handed two prototypes over.
NH Dan is offline  
post #19 of 34 (permalink) Old 27th December 2012, 23:24
 
bodgerx's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 ES 1.8 i-VTEC i-Shift
Join Date: 25th December 2010
Location: UK ENGLAND
Posts: 1,261
Thanks: 22
Thanked 90 Times in 87 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NH Dan View Post
Yet more total rubbish.

You can view both MPG and Range on the same screen on the 2013 MY CR-V.
EIther that or i've just handed two prototypes over.
I was talking about the restriction of having to be stopped to cycle through the comp settings/screens.

Sent from my GT-I9000 using Tapatalk 2
bodgerx is offline  
post #20 of 34 (permalink) Old 28th December 2012, 07:41
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
If I can set the iMid to display both the Average MPG and tank range at the same time then I'm covered, that's all I need.

I don't use any of the other displays on my 8G.

If it's the current MPG then it's back to square one as that's of no use to me at all, my Eco lights tell me that
Kremmen is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 9th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2012 - 2016) > General Discussion (9G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuel Remaining mileage counter stopped adding extra miles when driving economical BL Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 0 16th August 2012 12:18
Tyre Life 11'354 miles.... xYKMFx chris Wheels, Tyres, Suspension and Brakes (8G) 16 10th January 2010 18:28
06 Se 1.8 17k miles 10.250??? Skiddaw Introduce yourself 2 28th September 2009 19:44
5 Days Remaining To Save XH558 Bob H Any non Civic chat here please! 5 8th March 2009 14:17
Indications Fuel remaining cjthompson321 Engines and Transmission (8G) 16 4th September 2007 14:35

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome