Road speed limit. - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 6th January 2013, 22:05 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
Alan2605's Avatar
 
Car: 2012 1.8 EX GT Man Alabaster
Join Date: 1st January 2013
Location: Worthing, West Sussex GB
Posts: 138
Thanks: 6
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Road speed limit.

Does anyone know how to set the satnav on an ex gt so that the route I have set shows the speed limit of the road I am on. I have read it can be done but can't see how to do it.
Alan2605 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 6th January 2013, 22:32
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Not sure where you read that, but sorry its not a feature of Honda Navigation Systems.
Bog is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 6th January 2013, 23:01 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Alan2605's Avatar
 
Car: 2012 1.8 EX GT Man Alabaster
Join Date: 1st January 2013
Location: Worthing, West Sussex GB
Posts: 138
Thanks: 6
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Seen it in this thread

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/9g-gene...9g-satnav.html

Also found this paragraph

Although the SatNav does not show speed cameras it does show the speed limit for the main road you are driving on. This is very useful and it instantly changes as the car goes in and out of different limits.

Last edited by Alan2605; 6th January 2013 at 23:11.
Alan2605 is offline  
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 6th January 2013, 23:38
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Confusing link... Mentions features of both SD and HDD navigation units. The SD may have it, but its a Pioneer based system whereas the HDD is Alpine. Maybe someone with the SD will confirm this feature?
Bog is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 9th January 2013, 22:10
 
electric's Avatar
 
Car: 2017 SR CVT
Join Date: 19th February 2008
Location: London GB
Posts: 429
Thanks: 9
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
iTrader: (0)
It is automatic on the ES-T satnav. A speed limit picture appears on the bottom right of the sat nav screen. It really is very useful and very accurate. Mine changes instantly for example when moving from a 40mph to a 30mph zone.
electric is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 9th January 2013, 22:14
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by electric View Post
It is automatic on the ES-T satnav. A speed limit picture appears on the bottom right of the sat nav screen. It really is very useful and very accurate. Mine changes instantly for example when moving from a 40mph to a 30mph zone.
Interesting... and pics?
Bog is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 9th January 2013, 22:29 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Alan2605's Avatar
 
Car: 2012 1.8 EX GT Man Alabaster
Join Date: 1st January 2013
Location: Worthing, West Sussex GB
Posts: 138
Thanks: 6
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Yes picture please. Looks as if the ES-T has a SD system

Last edited by Alan2605; 9th January 2013 at 22:32.
Alan2605 is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 9th January 2013, 23:12
Stage 3 Hybrid
 
messiahontrial's Avatar
 
Car: 56 Alabaster FN3
Join Date: 27th August 2012
Location: Ayr ENGLAND
Posts: 6,223
Thanks: 3,270
Thanked 2,328 Times in 1,784 Posts
iTrader: (10)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan2605 View Post
Does anyone know how to set the satnav on an ex gt so that the route I have set shows the speed limit of the road I am on. I have read it can be done but can't see how to do it.
So, you can't read road signs ?
messiahontrial is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 9th January 2013, 23:23
Unofficial Trader
 
dablink's Avatar
 
Car: CRV Urban Titanium
Join Date: 7th August 2009
Location: London, UK GB
Posts: 1,295
Thanks: 207
Thanked 163 Times in 153 Posts
iTrader: (13)
The thread starter never said they could not read road signs. It is a good feature to have on a sat nav and also a polite reminder. We have all been on roads where we saw 40mph and then it changes to 30mph and then 20mph and sometimes the mind plays tricks on us and a quick glance on the sat nav system would remind you what the "speed limit" is.
dablink is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 9th January 2013, 23:27 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Alan2605's Avatar
 
Car: 2012 1.8 EX GT Man Alabaster
Join Date: 1st January 2013
Location: Worthing, West Sussex GB
Posts: 138
Thanks: 6
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dablink View Post
The thread starter never said they could not read road signs. It is a good feature to have on a sat nav and also a polite reminder. We have all been on roads where we saw 40mph and then it changes to 30mph and then 20mph and sometimes the mind plays tricks on us and a quick glance on the sat nav system would remind you what the "speed limit" is.
Exactly. Thanks.
Alan2605 is offline  
post #11 of 17 (permalink) Old 9th January 2013, 23:46
Stage 3 Hybrid
 
messiahontrial's Avatar
 
Car: 56 Alabaster FN3
Join Date: 27th August 2012
Location: Ayr ENGLAND
Posts: 6,223
Thanks: 3,270
Thanked 2,328 Times in 1,784 Posts
iTrader: (10)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dablink View Post
The thread starter never said they could not read road signs. It is a good feature to have on a sat nav and also a polite reminder. We have all been on roads where we saw 40mph and then it changes to 30mph and then 20mph and sometimes the mind plays tricks on us and a quick glance on the sat nav system would remind you what the "speed limit" is.
If you're relying on your satnav to tell you what the speed limit is, then you ain't paying attention to road signs ! Probably missed the last speed limit sign 'cos you were paying too much attention to your satnav.

They are a useful aid, yes, but they ain't infallible. They're only as good as the programme that they're loaded with.

I'm a professional driver and I use a professional satnav, and road maps, but I pay most attention to road signs.
messiahontrial is offline  
post #12 of 17 (permalink) Old 10th January 2013, 07:36
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
There are many situations where your not sure. Areas with speed signs are fine but those roads without signs could be 50 or 60 or 70 depending on the type of road.

Some limits are, or used to be, determined by the distance apart of the street lights. Who can work that one out when concentrating on the road!

My Garmin shows the prevailing limit and I have used it on the occasions when I'm just not too sure.
Kremmen is offline  
post #13 of 17 (permalink) Old 10th January 2013, 08:16 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Alan2605's Avatar
 
Car: 2012 1.8 EX GT Man Alabaster
Join Date: 1st January 2013
Location: Worthing, West Sussex GB
Posts: 138
Thanks: 6
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I just asked the original question as the sat nav on the new civic doesn't appear to show the road speed. As said it is a good thing to give you some reassurance. I have been driving for over 45 years and covered many thousands of miles in the UK and Europe and having sat nav built into the cars I have had over the last 10 or more years they have all had road speed built into them. It is just a shame if the new Civic doesn't have that feature that's all.
Alan2605 is offline  
post #14 of 17 (permalink) Old 10th January 2013, 10:03
Bog
Supporter
 
Bog's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 CR-V 1.6 160 4WD
Join Date: 5th October 2006
Location: Radlett, Hertfordshire GB
Posts: 6,455
Thanks: 281
Thanked 851 Times in 676 Posts
iTrader: (34)
Eco display
Quote:
Originally Posted by dablink View Post
The thread starter never said they could not read road signs. It is a good feature to have on a sat nav and also a polite reminder. We have all been on roads where we saw 40mph and then it changes to 30mph and then 20mph and sometimes the mind plays tricks on us and a quick glance on the sat nav system would remind you what the "speed limit" is.
+1 I drive a lot in Europe especially Slovakia and road speed signs are rare (cops are not - very little crime, so catching speeding motorists keep them busy lol). So the feature would be useful... As I tend to have tomtom running on my iphone when there as it has this feature.

Funny how the HDD and SD have different features... You would think the HDd would have the same plus more as it is supposed to be the better unit. Ok it has premium sound, trip computer, DVD player, turn by turn on imid but the SDs weather and road speed features are prob more usefull.
Bog is offline  
post #15 of 17 (permalink) Old 10th January 2013, 12:10
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I had the SD version on my shortlist until I found out that you can't make a handsfree call with it.
Kremmen is offline  
post #16 of 17 (permalink) Old 10th January 2013, 21:48
 
Join Date: 2nd August 2012
Location: Warrington ENGLAND
Posts: 44
Thanks: 15
Thanked 14 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
The sat nav unit on the es-t displays the speed limit on the road you are driving on. It also makes a sound when the speed limit changes. You access this from the 'other' setting within the sat nav menu.
Reverend is offline  
post #17 of 17 (permalink) Old 16th January 2013, 16:50
 
electric's Avatar
 
Car: 2017 SR CVT
Join Date: 19th February 2008
Location: London GB
Posts: 429
Thanks: 9
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
iTrader: (0)
This is from the SD manual:
"Generally the icon shows the speed limit of the current main road where a speed data is supplied by a map database. When a speed data was changed, the numerals on the icon are changed and the indication blinks
for a few seconds."

I have not found any setting where it beeps - for me it just blinks.

electric is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 9th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2012 - 2016) > General Discussion (9G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UK speed limit raised to 80mph? (Merged) robbo51 Any non Civic chat here please! 62 30th September 2011 18:09
Increase in motorway speed limit ash_rage Any non Civic chat here please! 2 30th September 2011 08:28
Flashpro - Speed Limit garyb-zs FlashPro 48 16th July 2010 00:47
Speed limit on rural roads to be cut to 50mph J. Derek Riddell Any non Civic chat here please! 52 13th March 2009 21:28
Civic set for new 78mph speed limit pjelsworth General Discussion (8G) 26 31st January 2007 15:14

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome