Administrator

Car: Jag XF 3.0
Thanked 2,774 Times in 824 Posts
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
Accord Type S i-DTEC road test

Accord Type S i-DTEC

The perfect A road tool?

(No pics? you need to register to see them)

I recently had the chance to do about 800 miles in the new Accord Type S i-DTEC. I took it to work and back (160 miles round trip on the motorway), I took it for fun blasts and I even did a very long day to Brands Hatch and back (from Leicester). I have plenty of experience of the Honda diesel - having owned a Civic 2.2, previous Accord (Sport GT) 2.2, CRV 2.2 and having tested numerous new and old Accord 2.2s.

So, is it any good?

The official line

The standard 09 Accord is a good, solid, well made D sector car. It rides and handles well, and has a spacious and luxurious interior that makes cars like the 3 series feel small and cramped. But it has always felt a little bit left behind in the power department - not so much that it doesn't quite have enough, but it would always benefit from a little more.

So Honda have kindly come along and made a range topping sporty version. Loaded with every extra from the standard range, some lovely sports leather seats and then a bonus 30PS onto the standard lump (so 180PS total), and an extra 30Nm of torque for good measure (so now 380 Nm at 2,000 rpm). These improvements come from a revised turbocharger, modified cylinder head and a bigger intercooler.

The backwards i-DTEC:

A bigger intercooler:

0-62 drops from a stately 9.6 to a slightly chirpier 8.8. Economy only suffers by 1.7 mpg, now down to 48.7. Allegedly.

The exterior has a few exclusive features that you'll never spot, funky 18" alloys, the optional bodykit from the standard car and two new colours (lovely pearl white and dubious maroon). A couple of colours are not available, including black.

The only option (other than colour) is saloon or tourer? With or without CMBS? We'll come to that later.