Accord 2000 - removing Bose - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 9th February 2010, 15:32 Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 9th February 2010
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Accord 2000 - removing Bose

Hi all,

I'm a little confused because people are telling me different things with regards to removing the stereo unit.

Some say it's bolted in and that the entire dash has to be removed and others say that you can remove it by slipping some strip keys into the sides.

I have the issue where I saw the error code (EEE) which usually means that the CD changer has been disconnected. (My car has the changer in the boot and its connection back there is ok).

So, I thought maybe I should remove the stereo and check the connection on the back.

If anyone can give me any sound info on if it's possible or not without removing dash that would be great!

thanks.

Sly
slyzaar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 20th February 2010, 11:07
 
Car: 2012 civic 2.2 executive wh.
Join Date: 18th September 2008
Location: Norway NO
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
..

I owned a 99 accord. I changed the stereo unit. I had to remove the cover that covers the instruments to get to the screws that holds the player in place. The connector that sits behind the player can not be used against standard iso connectors, you need an adapter or extension pieces to splice the wires. I got the schematics from the dealer showing the polarity of the speakers (if you choose not to use an external amplifier), signal cables and the control signal for the antenna motor. In the trunk under the window you'll find the amplifier for the bose subwoofer, you can use the signal cables running to it as rca cables if you choose to mount an own amplifier (but the best is of course to mount new cables as the stock cables are of rather poor quality). If you have some knowledge of electronics you'll do just fine.

The cover that you need to remove will pop rigt out if you use a bit force, be careful so you don't break the clips.

This link will show the dash stripped. You'll see the clip holes here.

http://www.bildelsbasen.se/?index=de...st_id=13202772

Last edited by Rg6000; 20th February 2010 at 11:11.
Rg6000 is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 6th October 2010, 00:55
 
Join Date: 6th October 2010
Location: sheffield uk GB
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
hi there about your head unit

Quote:
Originally Posted by slyzaar View Post
Hi all,

I'm a little confused because people are telling me different things with regards to removing the stereo unit.

Some say it's bolted in and that the entire dash has to be removed and others say that you can remove it by slipping some strip keys into the sides.

I have the issue where I saw the error code (EEE) which usually means that the CD changer has been disconnected. (My car has the changer in the boot and its connection back there is ok).

So, I thought maybe I should remove the stereo and check the connection on the back.

If anyone can give me any sound info on if it's possible or not without removing dash that would be great!

thanks.

Sly
i had the query then i found out that they where bolted in with four bolts but you don't have to take all the dash out you can take the glove box out and the panel under the steering columand get to the bolts as for wiring go to halfords for iso lead like ifoud out you could
trout123 is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 6th October 2010, 01:51
Supporter
 
Helen Witch's Avatar
 
Car: NHB 07 Civic SE.
Join Date: 14th June 2010
Location: Swansea WALES
Posts: 1,073
Thanks: 170
Thanked 87 Times in 86 Posts
iTrader: (2)
I had a 2000 Accord,I was told by a guy from Halford that I needed to get at it from under the unit,eg the centre console,the bit by gear stick etc,it sounded hard to do,but I managed it really easily.
If no luck,ask advise at your local I.C.E. fitting place or try looking on Google.
Hope that helps.
Helen Witch is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > Other Hondas > Honda Accord

Tags
accord , bose , eee , removal

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to reset ECU (2000 Civic) chris0628 Previous Civics 10 12th September 2009 03:02
Service for 2000 ym hon65 Previous Civics 1 1st May 2009 12:32
Alloys Choice £2000 for blades!!! mjay Wheels, Tyres, Suspension and Brakes (8G) 10 11th September 2008 00:52
leeds anyone? 2000 - 05 Type R? Daisybeck Introduce yourself 7 15th September 2007 18:58
Now we are really growing - 2000 up richierich Any non Civic chat here please! 9 25th January 2007 00:38

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome