[HOW TO] Install a subwoofer and amp - Civinfo
 1Likes
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 8th July 2006, 12:04 Thread Starter
 
Deemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: 27th June 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
[HOW TO] Install a subwoofer and amp

Ok, after upgrading my front speakers (thx Pottsy, http://www.civinfo.com/forum/showthread.php?t=277) I could finally take no more of the poor base, so it was time to put in the Sub

The plan was simple, run a power cable from battery through the car to the amp, run wires from the back speakers into a LOC and then RCA's to the amp, Remote cable would be run from the cigarette lighter in the boot, and earth would also be in the boot........the result? OH YES!!!! NOW THAT HOW IT SHOULD SOUND!!!

Here's some pick of the installation.....

Back door panels come off the same way as the fronts, 3 screws and a load of poppers.

sub01.jpg

sub02.jpg

sub03.jpg


The speakers appear to be the same size as the front ones but I didnít take any sizes (sry), +ve as per front is the right hand side terminal viewed from the back of the speaker, from memory it was the blue cable..

sub04.jpg

Next I started to remove the trim so I could feed the cables through. The this pic shows the kick plate? which is held on by poppers, I did the same at the drivers door.

sub05.jpg

Then the seal can be lifted to allow the middle trim section to come off

sub06.jpg

sub07.jpg

sub08.jpg

Next, rig up the speaker connections and use plenty of black tape on the connector block to secure the wires.

sub09.jpg

Now this is the tricky bit, feeding the cable through the door into the car. My solution was to use a metal coat hanger to pull the cable through. 8)
If you look you can see a red cable, that was my first attempt to feed the cable but the rubber seal was too tight...

sub10.jpg

1st part almost done, feed the cable under the carpet and replaced the trim.
Next thing was the power cable from the battery, and let me tell u it was not easy trying to find a way into the car from the engine bay. but there is one, right in the middle at the back of the engine, all the electrical wires run through a rubber seal into the car, It was difficult to get a picture of this and this is the best one (sry) but you can just make out a bunch of wires and my red power cable..

sub11.jpg

sub12.jpg

The power cable was run down the passenger side of the car under the carpet, as per the speaker cable on drivers side.

Is that light at the end of the tunnel or is a train coming? no I think its light
Final connections now, this is a where all the cables come to meet in the boot, also the earthing point.

sub13.jpg

sub14.jpg

Now, wire up the amp screw in place and your done

sub15.jpg

Lookin good, As u can see I have used the cigarette lighter for the remote, it means I can easily unplug the amp when I need to remove the sub to load up the car and I was easier to do this than find another source and install a switch

So there u have it, how it install a sub in, eh, a few easy steps


Thx to my ** Qaz for his help.
Deemon is offline  
Thank You to Deemon from 10 Users:
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 8th July 2006, 21:23
Supporter
 
Fedorov's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 1.6 Diesel, Sporty Blue
Join Date: 15th April 2006
Posts: 785
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Nice work mate, great set of pictures, not something I would ever dare to try but well done!
Fedorov is offline  
Old 9th July 2006, 13:13 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Deemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: 27th June 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Lol, thx Fedorov, the most difficult part was getting my wife to agree to the sub
Deemon is offline  
 
Old 24th July 2006, 18:58
Administrator
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,770 Times in 823 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
Missed this while I was away... Nice work!

Deemon, may I pinch, resize and directly host the images here to make it a bit easier and nicer to read?
Pottsy is offline  
Old 24th July 2006, 21:46 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Deemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: 27th June 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Yea go for it Pottsy

U now tempted to install a sub yourself?
Deemon is offline  
Old 24th July 2006, 21:55
Administrator
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,770 Times in 823 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
Done.

Yes.

All bits in stock (nice Boston Acoustics sub, big fat PG amp). Was trying to avoid it!
Pottsy is offline  
Old 24th July 2006, 22:02 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Deemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: 27th June 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Thx ** looks better now

You won't be disappointed in the SQ, I'm amazed at how much base I get from the standard headunit, it's real window shaking stuff....Not that I play it loud u understand
Deemon is offline  
Old 24th July 2006, 22:09
Administrator
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,770 Times in 823 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
What amp did you use? I presume the crossover was in the amp, or was it in the LOC?
Pottsy is offline  
Old 24th July 2006, 22:45 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Deemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: 27th June 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
It's an amp I have had for years (Pioneer GM-X404) but it has always gave me good sound and as they say if its not broke don't fix it and yea the amp has a built in crossover so I only needed the LOC to convert from speaker level.
If U are only using the Amp for base u shouldnít have any SQ problems that can sometimes happen when adding an amp to standard HU so an cheap LOC should do the job, the one I used was only £7 from my local ICE dealer.
Deemon is offline  
Old 30th August 2006, 09:51
Jay
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28th August 2006
Location: Denmark
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
This guide is the one I have been looking for - and acually made me cancel my order for the Bassworks package.

I'm not so much of a electronic nut - but is it possible to still have the rear speakes connected while also having the signal mounted to a LOC and further to the amp/sub?

Cause my idea was to upgrade both the front and the rear and then add a sub package to the trunk when I can afford it... :P
Jay is offline  
Old 30th August 2006, 11:24 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Deemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: 27th June 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Yea Jay thatís exactly what I have done so both front and rear speakers work with a signal wire for the LOC/SUB connected to the rear. If u look at the 9th pic down u can see the cable I used. Split, one with connectors to go onto the speaker terminals and one cable running to the LOC.
Deemon is offline  
Old 30th August 2006, 12:53
Supporter
 
Nick7's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10th August 2006
Location: Croatia
Posts: 763
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Only one concern: didn't see a fuse for wire you used to amp amplifier.... I reeeeeally hope you put one.
Nick7 is offline  
Old 30th August 2006, 16:45 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Deemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: 27th June 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
LOL Yea there's on one there just don't show in the pics
Deemon is offline  
Old 30th November 2006, 13:03
 
hondaatje's Avatar
 
Join Date: 30th November 2006
Location: The Netherlands NL
Posts: 272
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
here a picture how i made it:


and this is what you see when it's dark:
hondaatje is offline  
Old 22nd January 2007, 23:04
 
Join Date: 22nd January 2007
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
i have one big question...Do you use the original cd player ? how can I put another source in my civic ? is there some adaptator ?

cheers
NeoWave is offline  
Old 3rd May 2007, 00:04
 
Join Date: 2nd May 2007
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
what's a LOC, i'm going to attemt this in a few weeks but i'm dutch and don't understand it
Evil Ash is offline  
Old 3rd May 2007, 06:11
Administrator
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,770 Times in 823 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
It's a Line Output Converter - reduces the speaker level output of the head unit down to "line level" for sending into an amp. They can range in size a quality, but here's an example:

http://caraudiosecurity.com/shop/pro...s_id/3867.html

HTH.
Pottsy is offline  
Old 12th October 2007, 21:44
 
rammos's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28th August 2007
Location: Sweden SE
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Ok this is a very stupid question, What is RCA cables you are talking about?
rammos is offline  
Old 14th October 2007, 00:00
 
rammos's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28th August 2007
Location: Sweden SE
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
sorry got it
rammos is offline  
Old 29th October 2007, 17:08
p64
Ezermester
 
p64's Avatar
 
Join Date: 3rd July 2007
Location: MS SI
Posts: 149
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hello!
A question: how to get the amp wire through the grommet? In the engine bay there is practically no access. Do I have to just punch it through?
Any suggestion would be fine.

Thanks,
Andrej

Last edited by p64; 29th October 2007 at 17:15. Reason: type-o
p64 is offline  
 

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > This is How To ... (Guides Only) (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Thread Tools



  LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: https://www.civinfo.com/forum/how-guides-only-8g/399-%5Bhow-%5D-install-subwoofer-amp.html
Posted By For Type Date
Untitled document This thread Refback 26th July 2013 16:32
Untitled document This thread Refback 2nd October 2012 18:20
Civic Type-R Owners Club & Forum • View topic - FN2 Sub Amp Wiring This thread Refback 6th June 2012 08:19
Toon onderwerp - Civic bj 2007; aansluiten versterker | Civic Club Holland This thread Refback 13th January 2012 19:33
Untitled document This thread Refback 17th July 2011 14:50
Untitled document This thread Refback 3rd December 2010 22:54
Untitled document This thread Refback 14th November 2010 21:07
www.clubhondacivic.com - Ver Tema - Kit no oficial This thread Refback 21st February 2010 19:59
Untitled document This thread Refback 5th February 2010 14:05
Untitled document This thread Refback 28th June 2009 17:07
Untitled document This thread Refback 10th September 2008 20:40
Honda Performance Club - Forum This thread Refback 20th November 2007 18:20
Cavo-> da batteria a baule - Elettronica This thread Refback 2nd November 2007 21:39
www.clubhondacivic.com :: Ver tema - Duda altavoces delanteros This thread Refback 24th September 2007 17:31

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Subwoofer Hot deal on subwoofer! Koen Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 6 28th October 2007 12:39
Subwoofer & Speakers jamesaberdeen73 Type-R 0 5th October 2007 23:10
LOC Do I need an LOC for my amp? (Subwoofer-only connection) cra41g Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 1 2nd September 2007 13:09
Radio Bass enhancement without subwoofer : Mission Impossible ? type901 Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 12 10th August 2007 14:14
My install my new ICE - install VaTaR Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 9 6th January 2007 08:16

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome