New Civic 2.2 - Civinfo

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 10th February 2008, 10:00 Thread Starter

Unhappy New Civic 2.2

Hi, I'm new to owning a Honda, but i've just taken delivery of a new Civic diesel (Feb 08).
I've covered 1200 miles in 3 weeks and I must admit I'm a bit disappointed with the economy. After 3 refills (47 MPG, 48 MPG and 41 MPG) measured from the pump, not the internal gauge. The first two tankfulls were mainly motorway/dual carriageway to work and back, 36 miles each way, travelling at 70 to 75 MPH indicated, which according to my GPS equates to 65 to 70 (why is the Civic digital speedo so inaccurate). The third tankfull was a cross country journey with a lot of it stuck in traffic on a Friday afternoon on the M25. I am trying to run the car in as gently as possible, no fast acceleration and keeping the revs down to below 3000 RPM.
I never get 6 eco lights come up on the display unless i am going down any sort of slope with my foot off the throttle. Is this how everybody's ecometer works or have I got a duff car.

sorry I should correct the date, took delivery in January 2008
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 10th February 2008, 10:06

You never get the 6 lights unless you are going down hill .
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 10th February 2008, 10:40
Vivid Blue Rocks!!!

Car: Suzuki Swift Sport
Hi beeno, and welcome to Civinfo

There is info about the MPG that other users get in the Wiki, under the FAQ

http://www.civinfo.com/wiki/index.php?title=Main_Page

This is the survey in full

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/survey....results&sid=32

As for the speedo, yes it is a pain in the proverbial, but a fix has been found for that as well

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/how/834...te-speedo.html

Last edited by Foggy69; 10th February 2008 at 10:42. Reason: Edit link

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 12th February 2008, 14:36
Supporter

Car: 2012 1.8i Ex Navi Leather MR
Hello beeno!

Welcome to the club.