Head Unit Installing Pioneer Bluetooth Head Unit, Sub and Amp - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 29th December 2007, 22:30 Thread Starter
 
j_auluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29th December 2007
Location: Gerrards Cross ENGLAND
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Installing Pioneer Bluetooth Head Unit, Sub and Amp

Hi All

I am new to this forum so please bear with my (perhaps) basic questions. The fact is that I've put an order for CTS GT but didnt think much about the ICE.

I've previously had a Peugeot 206 which i then installed the very first Pioneer Bluetooth head unit, along with a sub and amp in the back. This sounded perfect. Since then, I've had a car accident and the 206 has been written off.

So, here i am with a head unit, sub and amp which my Honda dealer says its very very difficult to install and something they wont do. The reason for this is because the original head unit is embedded into the dash and there isn't really an 'easy' way to remove and replace it.

However, going through some of the threads, I have noticed that perhaps there is an easy way to do it.

If possible, could anyone give me some smart ideas how to do this? I am most definitely going to go to an independent fitter but if anyone can advise on things i should be looking out for, then that would be much appreciated. End of the day, i want to re-use my ICE and want to be listening to quality sound once again.

Ps, from first impressions, seems like there are some very decent and honest users on this forum providing excellent help and coverage. I hope i can contribute to some threads in the future.

Thanks / Jase
j_auluck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 29th December 2007, 23:53
FWH
Administrator
 
FWH's Avatar
 
Car: MX-5, C6 Vette & MB S212
Join Date: 3rd June 2007
Location: Where Polar Bears roam the streets SE
Posts: 22,623
Thanks: 558
Thanked 1,029 Times in 772 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Hi,

What you need to do is keep the original HU, but hide it away somewhere with longer cables. For example in the glovebox.

A good specialist ICE shop should be able to help you out.

There are a number of threads on here about this type of project.
Not easy, but it has been done.

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/ipods-m...nit-facia.html

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/ipods-m...-pictures.html

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/ipods-m...ouble-din.html

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/type-r/...fn2-trunk.html




Last edited by FWH; 30th December 2007 at 00:01.
FWH is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 30th December 2007, 09:41
Administrator
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,772 Times in 824 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
Pottsy is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 30th December 2007, 10:01 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
j_auluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29th December 2007
Location: Gerrards Cross ENGLAND
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Thanks FWH and Pottsy for the links.

Having read them, it seems as if the existing head unit is a central hub where most of the controls for the Civic are run through? Is this the reason why the existing head unit needs to be kept and hidden?

Also, I've noticed that this isn't an 'easy' job as with other European cars. Thus, would you recommend me keeping existing head unit and just installing sub/amp? How does this sound? I remember i did this with my Peugeot 206 before i eventually replaced the head unit which made a massive difference on the 206. Would like some advice on whether i should compromise time/effort/expendiure and just install sub/amp?

Might be more worthwhile

Regards

Jase
j_auluck is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 30th December 2007, 12:45
FWH
Administrator
 
FWH's Avatar
 
Car: MX-5, C6 Vette & MB S212
Join Date: 3rd June 2007
Location: Where Polar Bears roam the streets SE
Posts: 22,623
Thanks: 558
Thanked 1,029 Times in 772 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by j_auluck View Post
Having read them, it seems as if the existing head unit is a central hub where most of the controls for the Civic are run through? Is this the reason why the existing head unit needs to be kept and hidden?
Yes.
"Most" is probably an overstatement, but a number for sure.

Quote:
Originally Posted by j_auluck View Post
Also, I've noticed that this isn't an 'easy' job as with other European cars. Thus, would you recommend me keeping existing head unit and just installing sub/amp? How does this sound? I remember i did this with my Peugeot 206 before i eventually replaced the head unit which made a massive difference on the 206. Would like some advice on whether i should compromise time/effort/expendiure and just install sub/amp?

Several people have done this.
Personally, this is the way I would go if I upgrade my ICE, but then I have the satnav too.

Some people just find that the HU is not to their liking (of course there is better aftermarket stuff out there).
Keeping the HU will bit a compromise regarding sound, but an improvement regarding appearnace, ease of installation etc etc.

Some links:

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/how/560...ce-system.html

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/ipods-m...r-install.html

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/ipods-m...ot-s-pics.html

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/ipods-m...-speakers.html

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/how/399...oofer-amp.html



There are more in the ICE and HOW TO sections of the forum, I suggest you read through them all.




Last edited by FWH; 30th December 2007 at 18:57. Reason: spelling
FWH is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 30th December 2007, 18:53 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
j_auluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29th December 2007
Location: Gerrards Cross ENGLAND
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
@ FWH - Thank You
j_auluck is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Head Unit Head Unit replacement chetan Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 6 28th September 2013 10:04
Head Unit panasonic head unit tulleth Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 12 21st March 2008 16:11
Head Unit Aux head unit ITSRICKSCIVIC Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 1 12th July 2007 10:45
Head Unit Double Din Head Unit! Someone help please.. DanKo Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 15 27th April 2007 22:48
Little compartment under Head unit ? daiashthomas Cleaning 1 15th October 2006 19:06

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome