Other Power supply - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 20th October 2013, 00:15 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
ljubisa86's Avatar
 
Car: Black Civic 2009 1,8Sport
Join Date: 17th January 2010
Location: MK MK
Posts: 293
Thanks: 42
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Power supply

Hi everyone,

Is it possible to set up the power supply to be stable when turning on the vehicle? What i need is when i plug a unit to a cigarette socket, and when i turn my key to Ignition I, the socket is getting 12V.But when i start the vehicle, the power cuts for a second and then gets back.

Is it possible to get stable 12V after i put the key to Ignition 1?
ljubisa86 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 20th October 2013, 00:20
Type EX,A guy called Mark
 
markvirgo's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Peugeot 208 GTI, 208BHP
Join Date: 22nd June 2007
Location: Northamptonshire ENGLAND
Posts: 3,435
Thanks: 201
Thanked 651 Times in 555 Posts
iTrader: (12)
You would need a chargeable 12v battery in between the socket and your accessory or a direct feed to the battery which I wouldn't advise.
markvirgo is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 20th October 2013, 00:21
Civinfo Hobbyist Trader
 
x5252x's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 CTS GT
Join Date: 8th May 2013
Location: Cambridge, UK GB
Posts: 1,777
Thanks: 356
Thanked 410 Times in 330 Posts
iTrader: (22)
If it's only for a very short period of time, as in less than a second, I believe you could just use a capacitor.
x5252x is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 20th October 2013, 00:41 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
ljubisa86's Avatar
 
Car: Black Civic 2009 1,8Sport
Join Date: 17th January 2010
Location: MK MK
Posts: 293
Thanks: 42
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Okay,

well this is the situation, i got an vehicle camera... and i set it up this morning. It works great... The point is, i run the 12v cable into the underarm area socket. So when i turn the ignition from 0 to I and II i get 12 volts. then i wait about 3-5 sec, so the electronics in the vehicle sets up and then i start the engine.

So when i turn the ignition to II, the camera starts up and records. While i wait for those 3-5 sec the camera is rooling, but when i start the engine, the car dvr is loosing the power for a second, and thinks that its running on battery, and after 10 sec its shutting down. So i need to reconnect the 12v cable or press the power button, to get the camera recording again...
ljubisa86 is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 20th October 2013, 00:42
Civinfo Hobbyist Trader
 
x5252x's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 CTS GT
Join Date: 8th May 2013
Location: Cambridge, UK GB
Posts: 1,777
Thanks: 356
Thanked 410 Times in 330 Posts
iTrader: (22)
So you are saying that starting the engine is taking more than 10 seconds, and the camera is turning off due to this?
x5252x is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 20th October 2013, 01:16
Type EX,A guy called Mark
 
markvirgo's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Peugeot 208 GTI, 208BHP
Join Date: 22nd June 2007
Location: Northamptonshire ENGLAND
Posts: 3,435
Thanks: 201
Thanked 651 Times in 555 Posts
iTrader: (12)
He's saying that the 1 second starting time is putting the camera into battery mode due to confusion from the power shortage. A capacitor on it's own would work.
markvirgo is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 20th October 2013, 01:40
Civinfo Hobbyist Trader
 
x5252x's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 CTS GT
Join Date: 8th May 2013
Location: Cambridge, UK GB
Posts: 1,777
Thanks: 356
Thanked 410 Times in 330 Posts
iTrader: (22)
Quote:
Originally Posted by markvirgo View Post
He's saying that the 1 second starting time is putting the camera into battery mode due to confusion from the power shortage. A capacitor on it's own would work.
My mistake, I think you are correct after reading his post again.

His camera must work differently to mine, as if I remove the power, then plug it back in before the 10 seconds are up, the camera continues to record. That is why I assumed it must not of been getting any power for 10 seconds.

But yes, if only for ~1 second then a capacitor connected to the socket will solve the issue.
x5252x is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 20th October 2013, 02:39
Bye bye Honda...
 
Jon_G's Avatar
 
Car: Volvo V60 VEA D4 (181)
Join Date: 11th May 2012
Location: Ludlow, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 5,784
Thanks: 1,051
Thanked 1,266 Times in 1,043 Posts
iTrader: (1)
The capacitor will have to have a minimum value. If you know the current draw for the load then the formulas Q=IT and Q=CV can be used as a ball-park guide...

e.g., if the load is 0.5A and the time delay is 5 seconds, then the required charge storage (Q) = 0.5A x 5secs, so 2.5 coulombs. Then, re-arranging Q=CV to become Q/V=C (and taking V as 12v), then 2.5c/12v = 0.21 Farads, or 210 mF. An electrolytic capacitor exceeding this value - and with a voltage rating of between 16v and 50v - can then be obtained and fitted across the wiring. You'll also need to fit a diode in the feed to prevent this capacitor discharging back into the car electrical system during starting.

Might be easier to buy one of these... http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Shark-1-Fa...2#ht_196wt_958 but I've no idea how good they are.

Last edited by Jon_G; 20th October 2013 at 09:51.
Jon_G is offline  
Thanks to Jon_G from:
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interior Glovebox light power supply Wee-nemo Lights (8G) 4 18th April 2013 20:41
Phone XCarlink and integrated power supply dotdk Electronics (8G) 5 27th July 2012 22:17
Electrics AFR gauge power supply ash_rage Electronics (8G) 4 5th July 2011 01:09
Other 12v Power supply inside car onweed Electronics (8G) 2 5th October 2009 20:05
Stereo power supply failure. Advice needed! chuan Previous Civics 3 21st April 2009 23:03

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome