Amplifier So I've just bought an amp... - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 60 (permalink) Old 22nd October 2013, 18:12 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
l7kus's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2,5 door,NighthawkBlk
Join Date: 21st August 2010
Location: North Yorkshire/Port Talbot WALES
Posts: 429
Thanks: 28
Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
iTrader: (3)
So I've just bought an amp...

Right, just bought an amp and some new 6.5 inch speakers

Looking at the amp I bought it has an RCA input, will this need to be used or can I just connect my speakers to the speaker terminals and they will be amped?

Not got much knowledge in this field so go easy...
l7kus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 60 (permalink) Old 22nd October 2013, 19:46
Supporter
 
discus's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 CTR, Milano red
Join Date: 6th July 2007
Location: Northants ENGLAND
Posts: 1,677
Thanks: 22
Thanked 240 Times in 228 Posts
iTrader: (6)
You will need a LOC (line output converter).
discus is offline  
post #3 of 60 (permalink) Old 22nd October 2013, 21:35 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
l7kus's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2,5 door,NighthawkBlk
Join Date: 21st August 2010
Location: North Yorkshire/Port Talbot WALES
Posts: 429
Thanks: 28
Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Ahhh **** I thought that. I'm not connecting a sub just the door speakers. Will I still need to put the input thru the RCA?
l7kus is offline  
 
post #4 of 60 (permalink) Old 22nd October 2013, 22:14 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
l7kus's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2,5 door,NighthawkBlk
Join Date: 21st August 2010
Location: North Yorkshire/Port Talbot WALES
Posts: 429
Thanks: 28
Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Would this set up work? Excuse the drawing I did it with fingers on my phone

l7kus is offline  
post #5 of 60 (permalink) Old 22nd October 2013, 22:56
Marty says BWAAAHHH!!!
 
optiknerv's Avatar
 
Car: 09 Milano Red CTR GT
Join Date: 15th January 2013
Location: Great Sutton UK GB
Posts: 820
Thanks: 46
Thanked 77 Times in 72 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
The sound source i.e. what comes out the head unit needs to be converted into a low level signal (via LOC) and then that signal input into the RCA input of the amp. The new speakers then connected to the outputs of the amp. We are all assuming you have the standard head unit without a low level output. Some amps have a built in LOC but yours musnt.

Connecting the speaker wires from the stereo to the speaker outputs of the amp WILL NOT work at all.

Your drawing looks OK.

Last edited by optiknerv; 22nd October 2013 at 22:59.
optiknerv is offline  
Thanks to optiknerv from:
post #6 of 60 (permalink) Old 22nd October 2013, 22:59 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
l7kus's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2,5 door,NighthawkBlk
Join Date: 21st August 2010
Location: North Yorkshire/Port Talbot WALES
Posts: 429
Thanks: 28
Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Cheers mate so ill install the lock from from the speaker cables coming from oem head unit. Then run RCA leads to input on amp, then cable from amp to door speakers? Think I've got it
l7kus is offline  
post #7 of 60 (permalink) Old 22nd October 2013, 23:03
Marty says BWAAAHHH!!!
 
optiknerv's Avatar
 
Car: 09 Milano Red CTR GT
Join Date: 15th January 2013
Location: Great Sutton UK GB
Posts: 820
Thanks: 46
Thanked 77 Times in 72 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by l7kus View Post
Cheers mate so ill install the lock from from the speaker cables coming from oem head unit. Then run RCA leads to input on amp, then cable from amp to door speakers? Think I've got it
Correctemundo.
optiknerv is offline  
Thanks to optiknerv from:
post #8 of 60 (permalink) Old 22nd October 2013, 23:31 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
l7kus's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2,5 door,NighthawkBlk
Join Date: 21st August 2010
Location: North Yorkshire/Port Talbot WALES
Posts: 429
Thanks: 28
Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
iTrader: (3)
One thing I've noticed is the LOC I have ordered has 5 wires to connect, am I ok to only use 2 and connect right and left + to just the right speaker +?
l7kus is offline  
post #9 of 60 (permalink) Old 23rd October 2013, 00:28
Marty says BWAAAHHH!!!
 
optiknerv's Avatar
 
Car: 09 Milano Red CTR GT
Join Date: 15th January 2013
Location: Great Sutton UK GB
Posts: 820
Thanks: 46
Thanked 77 Times in 72 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Errr. Nope. Never used an LOC but you can't short out left and right channels. You wouldn't ave stereo separation even if it did work. Do you have a link to it? How many channels does it say it has?

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 4
optiknerv is offline  
post #10 of 60 (permalink) Old 23rd October 2013, 00:33 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
l7kus's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2,5 door,NighthawkBlk
Join Date: 21st August 2010
Location: North Yorkshire/Port Talbot WALES
Posts: 429
Thanks: 28
Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
iTrader: (3)
l7kus is offline  
post #11 of 60 (permalink) Old 23rd October 2013, 00:35 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
l7kus's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2,5 door,NighthawkBlk
Join Date: 21st August 2010
Location: North Yorkshire/Port Talbot WALES
Posts: 429
Thanks: 28
Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Also where would the earth cable connect to?
l7kus is offline  
post #12 of 60 (permalink) Old 23rd October 2013, 05:34
Marty says BWAAAHHH!!!
 
optiknerv's Avatar
 
Car: 09 Milano Red CTR GT
Join Date: 15th January 2013
Location: Great Sutton UK GB
Posts: 820
Thanks: 46
Thanked 77 Times in 72 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
That is ok. The speaker outputs from the head unit will wire to 4 of the wires. The LOC states in the listing that these are green and grey. I think these conform to standard colour codes if I remember correctly. The wire with the white stripe in each case is the negative. Make sure you get the polarity correct, I've not had the stereo or speakers out of my civic so maybe search on here to find the polarity of the car's wiring if it isn't marked on the speaker or if the wires don't conform to standard colour and polarity coding. It may be the case that Honda chooses a different colour than green or grey or might mark the positive with a stripe (like I sed I'm not sure)! Make sure you know what they are before you connect them up wrong!

The earth cable is connected to the body work somewhere (the car's earth!!). Just find a nice bolt that goes into the body of the car somewhere. You need to find a good earth for your amp anyway.

Last edited by optiknerv; 23rd October 2013 at 05:44.
optiknerv is offline  
post #13 of 60 (permalink) Old 23rd October 2013, 10:44 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
l7kus's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2,5 door,NighthawkBlk
Join Date: 21st August 2010
Location: North Yorkshire/Port Talbot WALES
Posts: 429
Thanks: 28
Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Does anyone know if there's and earth cable coming from the back of the oem head unit?
l7kus is offline  
post #14 of 60 (permalink) Old 23rd October 2013, 11:23
Marty says BWAAAHHH!!!
 
optiknerv's Avatar
 
Car: 09 Milano Red CTR GT
Join Date: 15th January 2013
Location: Great Sutton UK GB
Posts: 820
Thanks: 46
Thanked 77 Times in 72 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
You don't need an earth cable. The car's body is the earth. As long as you get a connection to the body then you are fine. You will need to earth your amp as well as provide it with power from the battery.

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 4
optiknerv is offline  
Thanks to optiknerv from:
post #15 of 60 (permalink) Old 23rd October 2013, 12:01 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
l7kus's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2,5 door,NighthawkBlk
Join Date: 21st August 2010
Location: North Yorkshire/Port Talbot WALES
Posts: 429
Thanks: 28
Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Looks like a fun weekend ahead then
l7kus is offline  
post #16 of 60 (permalink) Old 23rd October 2013, 13:28 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
l7kus's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2,5 door,NighthawkBlk
Join Date: 21st August 2010
Location: North Yorkshire/Port Talbot WALES
Posts: 429
Thanks: 28
Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Still happy to take advice off anyone who has installed an amp with oem sat nav
l7kus is offline  
post #17 of 60 (permalink) Old 23rd October 2013, 13:44
Marty says BWAAAHHH!!!
 
optiknerv's Avatar
 
Car: 09 Milano Red CTR GT
Join Date: 15th January 2013
Location: Great Sutton UK GB
Posts: 820
Thanks: 46
Thanked 77 Times in 72 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Shouldnt be any different to the regular stereo. All you are utilising from the stereo is the speaker outputs and these would be the same on either unit. The prcedure for removing the stereo is the same for both nav and standard.
optiknerv is offline  
post #18 of 60 (permalink) Old 24th October 2013, 09:39 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
l7kus's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2,5 door,NighthawkBlk
Join Date: 21st August 2010
Location: North Yorkshire/Port Talbot WALES
Posts: 429
Thanks: 28
Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Does anybody know the colours of front right and left speaker wires around the back of the stereo?
l7kus is offline  
post #19 of 60 (permalink) Old 24th October 2013, 10:08
Marty says BWAAAHHH!!!
 
optiknerv's Avatar
 
Car: 09 Milano Red CTR GT
Join Date: 15th January 2013
Location: Great Sutton UK GB
Posts: 820
Thanks: 46
Thanked 77 Times in 72 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by l7kus View Post
Does anybody know the colours of front right and left speaker wires around the back of the stereo?

Mod - install Infinity front speakers - Civinfo Wiki
optiknerv is offline  
post #20 of 60 (permalink) Old 24th October 2013, 10:29 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
l7kus's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2,5 door,NighthawkBlk
Join Date: 21st August 2010
Location: North Yorkshire/Port Talbot WALES
Posts: 429
Thanks: 28
Thanked 34 Times in 30 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Cheers mate! I shall be connecting the wires from the amp to the snipped speaker wires behing the head unit to save me going through the doors, will this work?
l7kus is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tyre Choice Look what I just bought!!! redH88 Wheels, Tyres, Suspension and Brakes (8G) 4 5th September 2012 09:05
has anyone bought one? tcooc Any non Civic chat here please! 8 10th January 2012 07:47
My car I have bought one at last :) Smash Buying, Dealers and Servicing 4 6th March 2010 17:20
just bought a crv bandit Honda CR-V 5 16th February 2009 00:10
My car Just bought.... n3il123 Buying, Dealers and Servicing 7 19th May 2008 14:00

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome