Head Unit - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 28th October 2013, 20:01 Thread Starter
 
DW87's Avatar
 
Join Date: 26th August 2010
Location: Staffordshire, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Head Unit

Not sure if this is the correct place to post this so apologies if not.

Just wondering how easy or difficult it would be to get a better head unit put in to my Honda Civic (2006)

The standard one is in there right now so it looks like the picture below



I've seen some blank plates on a few online sites but as the vents etc are all in the same panel i'm not sure if it's going to be

A) a pain
B) expensive.

Any one changed theirs and can advise?
DW87 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 28th October 2013, 20:19
Supporter
 
Man in Black's Avatar
 
Car: 08 Type R GT
Join Date: 9th July 2010
Location: Stirling Scotland SCOTLAND
Posts: 1,462
Thanks: 14
Thanked 210 Times in 180 Posts
iTrader: (2)
double din..... thers a load of threads on it....
Man in Black is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 28th October 2013, 22:19
Civinfo Hobbyist Trader
 
x5252x's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 CTS GT
Join Date: 8th May 2013
Location: Cambridge, UK GB
Posts: 1,777
Thanks: 356
Thanked 410 Times in 330 Posts
iTrader: (22)
See my thread here, should answer most of your questions.
x5252x is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 28th October 2013, 22:53
Supporter
 
Type-R6's Avatar
 
Join Date: 9th March 2012
Location: Derbyshire ENGLAND
Posts: 1,079
Thanks: 54
Thanked 111 Times in 98 Posts
iTrader: (1)
It's straight forward enough to swap. Might take a few hours your first time.
Use the how to install a parrot guide.
Graham
Type-R6 is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 29th October 2013, 12:58 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
DW87's Avatar
 
Join Date: 26th August 2010
Location: Staffordshire, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Thanks for your responses. Found some interesting threads.
DW87 is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 29th October 2013, 13:05
SHOCKD
 
JackW's Avatar
 
Car: BMW 116i 2.0
Join Date: 4th November 2012
Location: Newcastle, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 4,351
Thanks: 208
Thanked 669 Times in 632 Posts
iTrader: (11)
Change to a double din mate they are a lot lot better.

I have the standard set up and USED to use a xcarlink to connect my iPhone and iPod to the car but then I replaced that with a Parrot MKi9200 so I could have hands free bluetooth (my car doesnt have that as standard)

Simple enough job to do you just have to be brave removing the centre console and dash as it does put up a fight
JackW is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 29th October 2013, 13:15
Syx
#MrGrumpy
 
Syx's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 CTS GT
Join Date: 22nd December 2009
Location: Luton, UK GB
Posts: 13,117
Thanks: 1,272
Thanked 2,657 Times in 2,260 Posts
iTrader: (94)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Syx
You will need:
  1. New stereo
  2. Fascia and mount (cage or brackets) to replace existing stereo
  3. Wiring loom to connect new stereo to existing wiring
  4. Patience

Beyond that, it's a matter of following the guides on the forum to remove the old stereo and then following the installation manual of the new stereo to install it!
It looks a lot scarier than it actually is
Syx is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 30th October 2013, 20:26
Supporter
 
lrthumwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29th September 2013
Location: Chatham GB
Posts: 284
Thanks: 26
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
iTrader: (1)
If you remove the factory fitted system, how do you go about changing the time on the clock?
lrthumwood is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 30th October 2013, 21:10
Civinfo Hobbyist Trader
 
x5252x's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 CTS GT
Join Date: 8th May 2013
Location: Cambridge, UK GB
Posts: 1,777
Thanks: 356
Thanked 410 Times in 330 Posts
iTrader: (22)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrthumwood View Post
If you remove the factory fitted system, how do you go about changing the time on the clock?
It's mentioned in my thread, the Connects2 kit allows you to hold the "mode" button on the steering wheel, then use "CH" and "VOL" to alter the time/date.
x5252x is offline  
Thanks to x5252x from:
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Head Unit New head unit 7even_up Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 22 27th March 2013 05:29
Other head unit dwall31 Electronics (8G) 3 30th March 2012 19:55
head unit dwall31 General Discussion (8G) 3 23rd March 2012 21:23
Head Unit Has anyone taken apart the head unit? Koen Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 2 9th August 2009 23:38
Head Unit Aux head unit ITSRICKSCIVIC Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 1 12th July 2007 11:45

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome