Head Unit Finally bought my double din... Now a question about DAB ?? - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 29 (permalink) Old 2nd November 2013, 22:39 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
stokiedan's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 CTS, Tangerine
Join Date: 25th May 2012
Location: Stoke-on-Trent UK GB
Posts: 1,280
Thanks: 73
Thanked 108 Times in 102 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Finally bought my double din... Now a question about DAB ??

So I went shopping and got a little carried away and came home with a Pioneer AVH-X3500DAB.
One of these:
http://bit.ly/HyAmh8

Don't know why I went for the DAB model but it seemed like a good idea at the time

So who's got DAB and where have you fitted your dab aerial ? The guy in the shop advisedly where to fit it but I'm just seeing what others have done to see what works best
stokiedan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 29 (permalink) Old 2nd November 2013, 22:54
Civinfo Hobbyist Trader
 
x5252x's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 CTS GT
Join Date: 8th May 2013
Location: Cambridge, UK GB
Posts: 1,777
Thanks: 356
Thanked 410 Times in 330 Posts
iTrader: (22)
How large is the aerial, and what shape? Maybe a picture would help.
x5252x is offline  
post #3 of 29 (permalink) Old 2nd November 2013, 23:15 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
stokiedan's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 CTS, Tangerine
Join Date: 25th May 2012
Location: Stoke-on-Trent UK GB
Posts: 1,280
Thanks: 73
Thanked 108 Times in 102 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Good thinking pal



Well I'll tell you how the guy in the shop advised me to fit it first too. He said:
Take off the a pillar trim on the passenger side and put it half way up the window. He says the black piece that's an L shape is a sticker with a copper base which needs to be earthed to metal so to stick the little black box next to the a pillar with the L shaped piece sticking on the metal of the a pillar so when the a pillar trim is put back on all you can see is the little black box stuck to the windscreen.

I hope that kind of makes sense lol
stokiedan is offline  
 
post #4 of 29 (permalink) Old 2nd November 2013, 23:47
Civinfo Hobbyist Trader
 
x5252x's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 CTS GT
Join Date: 8th May 2013
Location: Cambridge, UK GB
Posts: 1,777
Thanks: 356
Thanked 410 Times in 330 Posts
iTrader: (22)
Do you have a glass roof? I would be tempted to put it up there, where the bar runs across.

You will also have the thin strip stuck to the window too, as shown below. (Stolen from Kenwood website)



You should be able to attach some wire to the black sticker and run that to a convenient ground point.

Depends how much having that black box and little wire shown on the windscreen would annoy you, the A pillar suggestion is perfectly fine.
x5252x is offline  
post #5 of 29 (permalink) Old 3rd November 2013, 00:00 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
stokiedan's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 CTS, Tangerine
Join Date: 25th May 2012
Location: Stoke-on-Trent UK GB
Posts: 1,280
Thanks: 73
Thanked 108 Times in 102 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Yes mate I do have a glass roof and that's a cracking suggestion. Not sure if the signal strength may suffer a bit though. I'll do some more internet searching on that as I like that idea
stokiedan is offline  
post #6 of 29 (permalink) Old 3rd November 2013, 13:42 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
stokiedan's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 CTS, Tangerine
Join Date: 25th May 2012
Location: Stoke-on-Trent UK GB
Posts: 1,280
Thanks: 73
Thanked 108 Times in 102 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Sunday morning bump... Some of you guys must have bought and fitted a dab radio. Or are they pants and I've messed up buying one ?? Lol
stokiedan is offline  
post #7 of 29 (permalink) Old 3rd November 2013, 20:56
Civinfo Hobbyist Trader
 
x5252x's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 CTS GT
Join Date: 8th May 2013
Location: Cambridge, UK GB
Posts: 1,777
Thanks: 356
Thanked 410 Times in 330 Posts
iTrader: (22)
I don't think you really have many choices for fitting it, either at the top of the windscreen if you can find a ground point, on the glass roof, or by the A pillar as you mentioned.

I would assume that most people who upgrade their headunit would have their music on a USB drive or equivalent, rather than listening to the radio.
x5252x is offline  
post #8 of 29 (permalink) Old 3rd November 2013, 20:59
Supporter
 
civicnewbie's Avatar
 
Car: 2014 Aygo
Join Date: 18th December 2011
Location: Glasgow SCOTLAND
Posts: 3,159
Thanks: 332
Thanked 847 Times in 734 Posts
iTrader: (12)
I have dab fitted as standard on my new ex, whilst I haven't played around too much I have noticed the sound quality is far superior and there is a greater choice of stations
civicnewbie is offline  
post #9 of 29 (permalink) Old 3rd November 2013, 21:17
Supporter
 
NE1L's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Tourer SE+T
Join Date: 18th March 2012
Location: Bellshill GB
Posts: 610
Thanks: 53
Thanked 34 Times in 26 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Finally bought my double bin... Now a question about DAB ??

I had he exact same headunit as you installed in my Civic.

The DAB was great. As mentioned so much more availability of stations, including some that are only available on DAB. I particularly loved the 'Absolute 90's' station. There was a 70's, 80's, 00's available too.

Quality of sound was superior to standard FM/AM also. Clearer. Like comparing CD/IPOD to a tape.

A good feature of the X3500DAB I also enjoyed was when you are listening to a DAB station and lose signal it automatically switches to the FM broadcast if DAB signal is lost or weak and back again once the DAB signal improves again.

I found in most places in the UK. DAB coverage to be pretty good. Only really found the signal being hit and miss when I went north of Central Scotland but even then it wasn't drastically poor.

It's also good as quite a few local stations are available nationwide on DAB. I was able to listen to BBC Scotland all over the UK and Clyde 1 (only available in West Central Scotland on FM) all over Scotland meaning when away with work I was able to listen to Scottish football etc.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Last edited by NE1L; 3rd November 2013 at 21:22.
NE1L is offline  
Thanks to NE1L from:
post #10 of 29 (permalink) Old 3rd November 2013, 22:47 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
stokiedan's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 CTS, Tangerine
Join Date: 25th May 2012
Location: Stoke-on-Trent UK GB
Posts: 1,280
Thanks: 73
Thanked 108 Times in 102 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NE1L View Post
I had he exact same headunit as you installed in my Civic.

The DAB was great. As mentioned so much more availability of stations, including some that are only available on DAB. I particularly loved the 'Absolute 90's' station. There was a 70's, 80's, 00's available too.

Quality of sound was superior to standard FM/AM also. Clearer. Like comparing CD/IPOD to a tape.

A good feature of the X3500DAB I also enjoyed was when you are listening to a DAB station and lose signal it automatically switches to the FM broadcast if DAB signal is lost or weak and back again once the DAB signal improves again.

I found in most places in the UK. DAB coverage to be pretty good. Only really found the signal being hit and miss when I went north of Central Scotland but even then it wasn't drastically poor.

It's also good as quite a few local stations are available nationwide on DAB. I was able to listen to BBC Scotland all over the UK and Clyde 1 (only available in West Central Scotland on FM) all over Scotland meaning when away with work I was able to listen to Scottish football etc.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
That's great to hear a good review from someone who had the same unit mate. Really appreciate that. Where did you have your dab aerial mounted ?
stokiedan is offline  
post #11 of 29 (permalink) Old 3rd November 2013, 23:51
Supporter
 
NE1L's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Tourer SE+T
Join Date: 18th March 2012
Location: Bellshill GB
Posts: 610
Thanks: 53
Thanked 34 Times in 26 Posts
iTrader: (2)
I had mine on the top of the windscreen directly behind the rear view mirror. The black matrix hid the copper part and the mirror itself hid the black box from view so nothing was obviously on view from inside or outside the car.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
NE1L is offline  
Thanks to NE1L from:
post #12 of 29 (permalink) Old 4th November 2013, 16:55 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
stokiedan's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 CTS, Tangerine
Join Date: 25th May 2012
Location: Stoke-on-Trent UK GB
Posts: 1,280
Thanks: 73
Thanked 108 Times in 102 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NE1L View Post
I had mine on the top of the windscreen directly behind the rear view mirror. The black matrix hid the copper part and the mirror itself hid the black box from view so nothing was obviously on view from inside or outside the car.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
This seems to be the best place to put it but according to my instructions the black sticker part with the copper base needs to go to metal to be earthed ? Or does that not really matter ?
stokiedan is offline  
post #13 of 29 (permalink) Old 4th November 2013, 16:58
Supporter
 
NE1L's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Tourer SE+T
Join Date: 18th March 2012
Location: Bellshill GB
Posts: 610
Thanks: 53
Thanked 34 Times in 26 Posts
iTrader: (2)
I never earthed mine and it worked fine? Is it the official Pioneer DAB Aerial. I had the proper Pioneer one and it never mentioned earthing anything.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
NE1L is offline  
post #14 of 29 (permalink) Old 4th November 2013, 17:03
Supporter
 
Join Date: 25th June 2013
Location: Blackpool GB
Posts: 257
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Double Bin ? I was expecting this ?
TonyGTB is offline  
post #15 of 29 (permalink) Old 4th November 2013, 17:04 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
stokiedan's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 CTS, Tangerine
Join Date: 25th May 2012
Location: Stoke-on-Trent UK GB
Posts: 1,280
Thanks: 73
Thanked 108 Times in 102 Posts
iTrader: (4)
The guy at the shop said they use the Alpine dab aerial as they've found they work better but are the same design. It was him who told me to mount it by the a pillar and stick the black onto the metal behind the pillar.

Did you so your yourself ? If so how do I remove the a pillar ? I don't want just go pulling at it because of the airbag lol
stokiedan is offline  
post #16 of 29 (permalink) Old 4th November 2013, 17:05 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
stokiedan's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 CTS, Tangerine
Join Date: 25th May 2012
Location: Stoke-on-Trent UK GB
Posts: 1,280
Thanks: 73
Thanked 108 Times in 102 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyGTB View Post
Double Bin ? I was expecting this ?
Ha ha. Knew someone would be along with a funny pic at some point lol
stokiedan is offline  
post #17 of 29 (permalink) Old 4th November 2013, 17:07
Supporter
 
NE1L's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Tourer SE+T
Join Date: 18th March 2012
Location: Bellshill GB
Posts: 610
Thanks: 53
Thanked 34 Times in 26 Posts
iTrader: (2)
I simply tucked the cable in all the way around the windscreen. Didn't need to remove anything.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
NE1L is offline  
Thanks to NE1L from:
post #18 of 29 (permalink) Old 4th November 2013, 17:13 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
stokiedan's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 CTS, Tangerine
Join Date: 25th May 2012
Location: Stoke-on-Trent UK GB
Posts: 1,280
Thanks: 73
Thanked 108 Times in 102 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Lol I'm obviously over complicating things. Never thought of that :I lol
stokiedan is offline  
post #19 of 29 (permalink) Old 4th November 2013, 18:55
Civinfo Hobbyist Trader
 
x5252x's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 CTS GT
Join Date: 8th May 2013
Location: Cambridge, UK GB
Posts: 1,777
Thanks: 356
Thanked 410 Times in 330 Posts
iTrader: (22)
Quote:
Originally Posted by stokiedan View Post
Lol I'm obviously over complicating things. Never thought of that :I lol
As mentioned above, no need to actually remove anything if you don't need to ground the aerial.

You can just push the wire up and round, I've done this with the wire for my dash camera, which I will be posting pictures of in my thread today.
x5252x is offline  
post #20 of 29 (permalink) Old 4th November 2013, 21:01
Supporter
 
lrthumwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29th September 2013
Location: Chatham GB
Posts: 284
Thanks: 26
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Nice looking system, are you connecting an iphone to the system? Don't suppose you have had a play with the screen mirroring (navigation in particular)? Would be interested to hear your opinions
lrthumwood is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finally bought a pressure washer :) ... And new drying towel :) stokiedan Cleaning 5 14th March 2013 19:13
Alloys Other Just bought a set, one question (Urgent!) Arkynsei Wheels, Tyres, Suspension and Brakes (8G) 6 23rd October 2012 01:11
Head Unit Finally installed my Kenwood double din Essexboy Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 23 30th June 2009 21:01
I did it - finally bought a Gruppe M! Mr JP Type-R 23 14th April 2009 17:44
Finally Bought One redcal Type-R 29 14th March 2009 00:47

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome