Head Unit Which double din? - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 13th December 2013, 10:49 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
4shm3x's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 CTR FN2, NHB
Join Date: 24th February 2012
Location: Haverhill, UK GB
Posts: 1,780
Thanks: 273
Thanked 166 Times in 146 Posts
iTrader: (10)
Which double din?

Hey all,

I'm looking to get a double din for my xmas present. I have been toying with an android system that another user on here has shown and I really like the idea of it.

But I am also would like the peace in mind from something more reputable.
So these are the headunits I am thinking about, any views an opinions would be great!

App Radio 2
App Radio 3 (I have a rooted android phone, so these might be useful for that?)
Sony XAV-601BT (Sony's mirrorlink HU, work similar to app radio but not great support)
Sony XAV-64BT
Sony XAV-741
JVC KW-AV70BT

Looking for great sound quality, good handsfree and connectivity. Satnav would be a great bonus so I guess one of the mirrolink devices?

THanks
4shm3x is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 13th December 2013, 11:03
Supporter
 
lrthumwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29th September 2013
Location: Chatham GB
Posts: 284
Thanks: 26
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Cant speak for any of the others although I have just purchased an App Radio 3. I link it up to my iphone and I am delighted with it. By all accounts, as an Android user you will be able to get more out of the unit than with an iphone, if you have rooted your phone you will be able to utilise full screen mirroring of the Android system (with working touch screen)

Us Iphone users are awaiting the OS 7.* jailbreak in order to achieve the same results although like I said, even out the box this system is great.
lrthumwood is offline  
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 13th December 2013, 13:10
aka Paul
 
Revs FN2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14th April 2012
Location: Huddersfield GB
Posts: 4,524
Thanks: 1,442
Thanked 1,117 Times in 934 Posts
iTrader: (11)
I recently bought a Pioneer AVH-X3500DAB and I love it! Awesome bit of kit, especially for the money. Sound quality is great, it even sounds half reasonable with the stock speakers.

JVC and Sony wouldn't be my choice for sound quality. Pioneer or Alpine is the way to go IMO

Last edited by Revs FN2; 13th December 2013 at 13:14.
Revs FN2 is offline  
 
post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 13th December 2013, 17:36
Supporter
 
stokiedan's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 CTS, Tangerine
Join Date: 25th May 2012
Location: Stoke-on-Trent UK GB
Posts: 1,280
Thanks: 73
Thanked 108 Times in 102 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revs FN2 View Post
I recently bought a Pioneer AVH-X3500DAB and I love it! Awesome bit of kit, especially for the money. Sound quality is great, it even sounds half reasonable with the stock speakers.

JVC and Sony wouldn't be my choice for sound quality. Pioneer or Alpine is the way to go IMO
I've just bought this same unit and think it's a great bit of kit and can't recommend highly enough only down side for me is in order to get my iPhone 5 to work in app mode I'd have to spend 100 on cables which just isn't going to happen
The iPhone 5 does charge and play music via the USB though which is something.
stokiedan is offline  
post #5 of 21 (permalink) Old 13th December 2013, 17:42
Supporter
 
Join Date: 5th May 2013
Location: Southampton ENGLAND
Posts: 291
Thanks: 7
Thanked 62 Times in 47 Posts
iTrader: (4)
If you can find a bargain on an AR2 and aren't bothered about streaming over bluetooth, go with that. Else AR3.
Starscream is offline  
post #6 of 21 (permalink) Old 14th December 2013, 13:57 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
4shm3x's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 CTR FN2, NHB
Join Date: 24th February 2012
Location: Haverhill, UK GB
Posts: 1,780
Thanks: 273
Thanked 166 Times in 146 Posts
iTrader: (10)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starscream View Post
If you can find a bargain on an AR2 and aren't bothered about streaming over bluetooth, go with that. Else AR3.
Will Ar2 support xperia z phone?

Planning on making the most of ARliberator as my phone rooted
4shm3x is offline  
post #7 of 21 (permalink) Old 14th December 2013, 13:59
Supporter
 
devil84's Avatar
 
Car: Milano Red FN2 GT
Join Date: 2nd August 2009
Location: Buckinghamshire, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 2,053
Thanks: 238
Thanked 154 Times in 149 Posts
iTrader: (16)
Kenwood DNX Double Din Series

Sat Nav
Bluetooth
SD Card
USB card
rear camera support
DVD

LOVE IT!
devil84 is offline  
post #8 of 21 (permalink) Old 14th December 2013, 14:01
Supporter
 
Join Date: 5th May 2013
Location: Southampton ENGLAND
Posts: 291
Thanks: 7
Thanked 62 Times in 47 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4shm3x View Post
Will Ar2 support xperia z phone?

Planning on making the most of ARliberator as my phone rooted
Anyone tested Sony Xperia Z + Appradio2

Looks positive.
Starscream is offline  
post #9 of 21 (permalink) Old 14th December 2013, 16:01
Supporter
 
Twitch's Avatar
 
Car: 56 reg Civic SE 1.8 I-shift
Join Date: 14th July 2012
Location: Poole, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 501
Thanks: 98
Thanked 88 Times in 84 Posts
iTrader: (2)
As an Appradio 2 owner, i would not recommend them, the problem is the software, in your case it won't be as bad, but with iphone the appradio software isnt working with IOS 7. Hence why I have kept IOS 6. When my phone contract expires in May its going to be a pain. Due to the cables needed if swapping from iphone to android it would be around 100 and a stereo/dash apart jobbie. Upgrading to new iphone and needing the lightning adaptor/hdmi is the same result. Its very inconvenient.
Twitch is offline  
post #10 of 21 (permalink) Old 14th December 2013, 16:28
 
Car: 2007 (57) 1.8i ES
Join Date: 5th November 2013
Location: Poole, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
You don't need the expensive Pioneer cable kit.

I just use a basic HDMI cable (99p ebay job) and the Samsung HDTV adapter (9 on Amazon) for my Galaxy S3 and it works just fine!
kev24uk is offline  
post #11 of 21 (permalink) Old 14th December 2013, 16:52
Supporter
 
Join Date: 5th May 2013
Location: Southampton ENGLAND
Posts: 291
Thanks: 7
Thanked 62 Times in 47 Posts
iTrader: (4)
No problems with iOS7 here.
Starscream is offline  
post #12 of 21 (permalink) Old 14th December 2013, 16:53
Supporter
 
lrthumwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29th September 2013
Location: Chatham GB
Posts: 284
Thanks: 26
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
iTrader: (1)
IOS7 works perfectly here also
lrthumwood is offline  
post #13 of 21 (permalink) Old 14th December 2013, 20:30
Supporter
 
Twitch's Avatar
 
Car: 56 reg Civic SE 1.8 I-shift
Join Date: 14th July 2012
Location: Poole, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 501
Thanks: 98
Thanked 88 Times in 84 Posts
iTrader: (2)
What cables are you using though? I've got a 4S and appradio 2. I was told updating to IOS7 will stop the appradio apps from working. If you have a 5 or 5S it should work with hdmi
Twitch is offline  
post #14 of 21 (permalink) Old 14th December 2013, 20:39
Supporter
 
lrthumwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29th September 2013
Location: Chatham GB
Posts: 284
Thanks: 26
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twitch View Post
What cables are you using though? I've got a 4S and appradio 2. I was told updating to IOS7 will stop the appradio apps from working. If you have a 5 or 5S it should work with hdmi
Ah, explains that then... I have an app radio 3 connected up to a 5S via HDMI.
lrthumwood is offline  
post #15 of 21 (permalink) Old 15th December 2013, 11:03
Supporter
 
discus's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 CTR, Milano red
Join Date: 6th July 2007
Location: Northants ENGLAND
Posts: 1,677
Thanks: 22
Thanked 240 Times in 228 Posts
iTrader: (6)
I have a 940BT which I think is appradio 1 and mine works fine with IOS7.
discus is offline  
post #16 of 21 (permalink) Old 15th December 2013, 11:09
D and A said i did it
 
Kevino's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 CTR GT Deep Bronze
Join Date: 14th March 2012
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 450
Thanks: 21
Thanked 63 Times in 59 Posts
iTrader: (1)
The op has a rooted android phone so i dont see why all the apple users are having a go at the pioneer units connectivity?? I have just bought a pioneer and it works fine with android.
Kevino is offline  
Thanks to Kevino from:
post #17 of 21 (permalink) Old 20th December 2013, 11:59 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
4shm3x's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 CTR FN2, NHB
Join Date: 24th February 2012
Location: Haverhill, UK GB
Posts: 1,780
Thanks: 273
Thanked 166 Times in 146 Posts
iTrader: (10)
Android with the App radio does seem the way to go. Anyway fitting mine just after christmas when the fascia kit arrives
4shm3x is offline  
post #18 of 21 (permalink) Old 20th December 2013, 12:54
Supporter
 
calum001's Avatar
 
Car: '09 BRONZE CTR GT
Join Date: 14th November 2013
Location: Fife, Scotland SCOTLAND
Posts: 183
Thanks: 35
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
iTrader: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4shm3x View Post
Android with the App radio does seem the way to go. Anyway fitting mine just after christmas when the fascia kit arrives
likewise

App Radio 3 with an HTC One (might root it)
calum001 is offline  
post #19 of 21 (permalink) Old 20th December 2013, 12:56 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
4shm3x's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 CTR FN2, NHB
Join Date: 24th February 2012
Location: Haverhill, UK GB
Posts: 1,780
Thanks: 273
Thanked 166 Times in 146 Posts
iTrader: (10)
Quote:
Originally Posted by calum001 View Post
likewise

App Radio 3 with an HTC One (might root it)
I definitely would, be like having your phone but larger in the dash
4shm3x is offline  
post #20 of 21 (permalink) Old 20th December 2013, 13:10
Supporter
 
calum001's Avatar
 
Car: '09 BRONZE CTR GT
Join Date: 14th November 2013
Location: Fife, Scotland SCOTLAND
Posts: 183
Thanks: 35
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
iTrader: (4)
i know it should be quality, will see whats it's like without rooting it first and try and find a wee video review with a rooted one and see if its worth it
calum001 is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Head Unit Double Din (HELP ***) deepster2020 Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 9 26th February 2013 14:42
Head Unit double din aggy00 Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 4 25th June 2010 16:07
Head Unit How and how much can I get from this Double DIN adapter,Double DIN head unit fascia, sanyo Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 5 13th December 2009 12:04

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome