Amplifier Need help with AMP - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 22nd January 2014, 16:14 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
Join Date: 18th November 2013
Location: rotherham GB
Posts: 56
Thanks: 20
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Need help with AMP

Hi i need some help with connecting the blue remote wire i was wondering what is the best method connecting this can i use the yellow thick wire (boot aux) in the wire loom to use this to connect the remote wire thanks for your help
faisalali1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 22nd January 2014, 18:03 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 18th November 2013
Location: rotherham GB
Posts: 56
Thanks: 20
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
any one please...
faisalali1 is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 22nd January 2014, 18:54
Supporter
 
Join Date: 25th June 2013
Location: Blackpool GB
Posts: 257
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
iTrader: (3)
You usually use the remote wire from the head unit that goes live when the head unit is turned on.

If you use the wire you have mentioned above you amp will be constantly on (dont know if boot aux is permanently live) so will flatten your battery.
TonyGTB is offline  
Thanks to TonyGTB from:
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 22nd January 2014, 19:09 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 18th November 2013
Location: rotherham GB
Posts: 56
Thanks: 20
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
thanks for your reply would it be a good idea just using the fuse box
faisalali1 is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 22nd January 2014, 19:44
Civinfo Hobbyist Trader
 
x5252x's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 CTS GT
Join Date: 8th May 2013
Location: Cambridge, UK GB
Posts: 1,777
Thanks: 356
Thanked 410 Times in 330 Posts
iTrader: (22)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyGTB View Post
If you use the wire you have mentioned above you amp will be constantly on (dont know if boot aux is permanently live) so will flatten your battery.
Not true.

The power socket is only live when the key is in slot 1 or 2.

I don't believe the stock head unit has a remote wire, in which case the best you are going to get is an ignition live (such as the power socket).

I personally ran my sub remote from this very connection until I replaced the headunit.

Unless you sit there with the engine off listening to loud music, you will not kill the battery. Remember that the amp will draw very little power if not actually driving the speakers. So even if you sit there with the radio turned off, the power draw from the amp will be so minimal it's probably not worth mentioning.
x5252x is offline  
Thanks to x5252x from:
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 22nd January 2014, 19:50 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 18th November 2013
Location: rotherham GB
Posts: 56
Thanks: 20
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
so there shouldnt be an issue connecting the remote wire on the thick yellow wire (aux boot) thanks
faisalali1 is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 23rd January 2014, 02:51 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 18th November 2013
Location: rotherham GB
Posts: 56
Thanks: 20
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I got everything connected but the theres no music coming through sub just a hissing noise but thr sub deffo works and i accidently cut the res wire which was the abs lol i was in shock but got that soldered back on phew
faisalali1 is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 23rd January 2014, 13:33 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 18th November 2013
Location: rotherham GB
Posts: 56
Thanks: 20
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
regarding the loc when connecting the rear speaker do you have to cut the wire and connect it with the loc wire thanks
faisalali1 is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome