Head Unit Help: Wiring Kenwood headunit (pics inside) - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 16th February 2014, 02:49 Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 4th December 2013
Location: London, UK GB
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Help: Wiring Kenwood headunit (pics inside)

Hi All,

Decided to upgrade my sound system so I got me a new kenwood headunit, fascia, wiring loom, sub and amp.

I've managed to connect my headunit and it works BUT I DON'T HAVE STEERING WHEEL CONTROL....

I have a few wires I don't know where on earth they go!

The pic below shows 3 unused wire
1) remote steering wheel control
2) mute
3) antenna control



Where do these go?

I have a black box with a wire, no idea where it goes. I also have one connector from the car side not headunit, unused, nothing really fits it. See pic below of the black box and the wire coming out of it and the unused connector. Sorry about the crappy pics...



This pic below shows what is coming out of the black box from the pic above. Where does this go?



And finally, one of the headunit...



Thanks

Last edited by Majeed; 16th February 2014 at 11:41.
Majeed is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 16th February 2014, 11:21 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 4th December 2013
Location: London, UK GB
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
What is a patch lead and do I need it?
Majeed is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 16th February 2014, 12:20
D and A said i did it
 
Kevino's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 CTR GT Deep Bronze
Join Date: 14th March 2012
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 450
Thanks: 21
Thanked 63 Times in 59 Posts
iTrader: (1)
You need the patch lead to get your steering controls working goes from black box to head unit! Where did you get your fascia and wiring from? Impulse have instructions with theirs!
Kevino is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 16th February 2014, 12:31 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 4th December 2013
Location: London, UK GB
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I bought the fascia and loom 2nd hand off ebay, the seller said it is for a pioneer.

No idea what what brand it is for. Nonetheless, I will look into what you have said! thanks.
Majeed is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 16th February 2014, 12:52
D and A said i did it
 
Kevino's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 CTR GT Deep Bronze
Join Date: 14th March 2012
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 450
Thanks: 21
Thanked 63 Times in 59 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Patch leada are aroun a fiver try hondabitz.com and get a kenwood patch lead they are manufacter specific!
http://www.hondabitz.com/radio_patch...ood_patch_lead
That should sort you
Kevino is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 16th February 2014, 19:36 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 4th December 2013
Location: London, UK GB
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Thanks...

How can I find out what brand my loom is made by? impulse, autoleads, connects2, etc??

Mine doesnt really say much on it.

Last edited by Majeed; 16th February 2014 at 19:43.
Majeed is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 17th February 2014, 18:27
Supporter
 
BioTeq's Avatar
 
Join Date: 8th November 2012
Location: Germany DE
Posts: 114
Thanks: 27
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
iTrader: (0)
The black box has a hologram on it, but from the look of it I'd bet it's a connects2
BioTeq is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 23rd February 2014, 12:26 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 4th December 2013
Location: London, UK GB
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
No hologram but it is a connects2.

I bought a kenwood patch lead and that solved the problem

Thanks everyone.
Majeed is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G)

Tags
headunit , kenwood , wiring

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Satnav Sat Nav headunit wiring instructions metzer Electronics (8G) 31 1st May 2018 19:51
Head Unit Kenwood install - wiring diagram Essexboy Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 4 11th July 2009 07:51
Electrics Connector plan of the headunit back with wiring DynoFK2 Electronics (8G) 4 12th April 2008 21:36

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome