Head Unit Alpine Head Unit on Type S [no navi] - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 50 (permalink) Old 27th February 2008, 01:26 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
warriorpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: 18th November 2006
Location: Bolton branch of Wigan ENGLAND
Posts: 329
Thanks: 9
Thanked 18 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Alpine Head Unit on Type S [no navi]

Recently had this alpine IVA-W202R unit installed on my Type S [with no navi]
IMG_0001.jpg
honda head unit neatly hidden away
IMG_0008.jpg
amp in boot
IMG_0009.jpg
and ipod hides away in drawer. Mic for phone just below lip above rev counter
IMG_0024.JPG
Fascia available from local dealer - tho they ordered left hand drive first time!!
Work carried out by the lads at K and M Acoustics, Wigan. Had the dension fitted previously by them but this is a much better solution

Last edited by warriorpete; 27th February 2008 at 17:36.
warriorpete is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 50 (permalink) Old 27th February 2008, 08:47
Supporter
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,774 Times in 824 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
The double din really is a neat conversion - are you tempted to attach the Alpine nav unit to it?
Pottsy is offline  
post #3 of 50 (permalink) Old 27th February 2008, 09:09 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
warriorpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: 18th November 2006
Location: Bolton branch of Wigan ENGLAND
Posts: 329
Thanks: 9
Thanked 18 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Couldn't justify the cost as don't use SatNav much, and recently bought the Sony NV-U52 unit for when I do. But the bluetooth phone option was well worth the money, easy to set up and use.
warriorpete is offline  
 
post #4 of 50 (permalink) Old 27th February 2008, 09:55
 
Join Date: 11th November 2007
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
That looks so nice I'm really tempted to do this!

I was wondering if the original HU could be cut and altered so that only the components needed to run the AC and display could be used? This would obviously have the benefit of a smaller storage space for these parts. One for the techy's on here I think?
Homer Simpson is offline  
post #5 of 50 (permalink) Old 28th February 2008, 00:03 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
warriorpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: 18th November 2006
Location: Bolton branch of Wigan ENGLAND
Posts: 329
Thanks: 9
Thanked 18 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Only problem with that is you wont be able to put it back when you sell car and need to reinstall original HU! Plus that glove box is useless anyway with everything you put in it getting cover in a layer of black felt dust!!
warriorpete is offline  
post #6 of 50 (permalink) Old 28th February 2008, 08:34
Supporter
 
Car: Mazda MX-5 (lightly modded)
Join Date: 1st July 2007
Location: GB GB
Posts: 15,644
Thanks: 1,166
Thanked 1,546 Times in 1,415 Posts
iTrader: (8)
I shall look forward to seeing this at the meet Pete.
Well done.
Minor point:
Is the amp attached to your rear seat in the boot?
If so, what happens when you want to fold the seat?
robbo51 is offline  
post #7 of 50 (permalink) Old 28th February 2008, 08:56
Wine and cooking !
 
l-noel's Avatar
 
Car: 2008, Grey Mica 1.5 Materia
Join Date: 5th December 2006
Location: Roanne-France FR
Posts: 1,526
Thanks: 9
Thanked 28 Times in 22 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Is your upper screen still displaying clim infos ?
l-noel is offline  
post #8 of 50 (permalink) Old 28th February 2008, 19:52 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
warriorpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: 18th November 2006
Location: Bolton branch of Wigan ENGLAND
Posts: 329
Thanks: 9
Thanked 18 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by l-noel View Post
Is your upper screen still displaying clim infos ?
Yes. All works well including time display....tho will mean removing panel in glovebox to access controls when summertime arrives??
warriorpete is offline  
post #9 of 50 (permalink) Old 28th February 2008, 19:56 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
warriorpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: 18th November 2006
Location: Bolton branch of Wigan ENGLAND
Posts: 329
Thanks: 9
Thanked 18 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbo51 View Post
I shall look forward to seeing this at the meet Pete.
Well done.
Minor point:
Is the amp attached to your rear seat in the boot?
If so, what happens when you want to fold the seat?

Yes it's attached to seat back as this is best place as the sunken boot holds all my work stuff just nicely!
I believe there is a pull handle on the seat top for when i want to fold the seat!!..............seriously I only drop seat back very rarely so cant see it being a problem.
warriorpete is offline  
post #10 of 50 (permalink) Old 28th February 2008, 20:57
Supporter
 
dragonglance's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24th February 2008
Location: UK GB
Posts: 283
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to dragonglance
i am not so sure on the angle what is it like to view whilst you are driving.......oh and good choice of music
dragonglance is offline  
post #11 of 50 (permalink) Old 28th February 2008, 21:28 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
warriorpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: 18th November 2006
Location: Bolton branch of Wigan ENGLAND
Posts: 329
Thanks: 9
Thanked 18 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (1)
It's as clear as anything, the display brightness is adjustable [currently set at 0] and you can download wallpaper from alpine if you want a darker background
warriorpete is offline  
post #12 of 50 (permalink) Old 29th February 2008, 00:43
Supporter
 
dragonglance's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24th February 2008
Location: UK GB
Posts: 283
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to dragonglance
asde of the brioghtness is it clear to view from your angle as the driver without you actually having to move to the side??
dragonglance is offline  
post #13 of 50 (permalink) Old 29th February 2008, 01:10 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
warriorpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: 18th November 2006
Location: Bolton branch of Wigan ENGLAND
Posts: 329
Thanks: 9
Thanked 18 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (1)
The view is good side on from drivers height, similar to bottom pic only higher, depending on how tall you are! If i remember rightly top pic was taken sitting as tho the driver and then zoomed in on unit so that's the angle [i think]
warriorpete is offline  
post #14 of 50 (permalink) Old 16th March 2008, 18:59
 
Join Date: 16th March 2008
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
That looks so nice !!! Where did u found the Fascia???
JJ.PAP is offline  
post #15 of 50 (permalink) Old 16th March 2008, 19:01
FWH
Supporter
 
FWH's Avatar
 
Car: MX-5, C6 Vette & MB S212
Join Date: 3rd June 2007
Location: Where Polar Bears roam the streets SE
Posts: 22,623
Thanks: 558
Thanked 1,029 Times in 772 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Fascia parts should be available from any Honda dealer.

Part numbers in the Wiki.



FWH is offline  
post #16 of 50 (permalink) Old 16th March 2008, 19:21
Supporter
 
Car: Mazda MX-5 (lightly modded)
Join Date: 1st July 2007
Location: GB GB
Posts: 15,644
Thanks: 1,166
Thanked 1,546 Times in 1,415 Posts
iTrader: (8)
Having seen this..It is a bit good...Honda..Take note!!
robbo51 is offline  
post #17 of 50 (permalink) Old 16th March 2008, 19:30
Supporter
 
Munro's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10th August 2007
Location: Scotland GB
Posts: 1,990
Thanks: 120
Thanked 170 Times in 131 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Garage
The Head unit looks great. What did you do with the speakers ?
Munro is offline  
post #18 of 50 (permalink) Old 16th March 2008, 20:15 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
warriorpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: 18th November 2006
Location: Bolton branch of Wigan ENGLAND
Posts: 329
Thanks: 9
Thanked 18 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Running standard speakers........the head unit and amp make them sound good but think an upgrade in order to get the sound even better!! Dolby surround when watching DVD is unbelievable!
warriorpete is offline  
post #19 of 50 (permalink) Old 16th March 2008, 20:19
Supporter
 
Car: Mazda MX-5 (lightly modded)
Join Date: 1st July 2007
Location: GB GB
Posts: 15,644
Thanks: 1,166
Thanked 1,546 Times in 1,415 Posts
iTrader: (8)
Quote:
Originally Posted by warriorpete View Post
Running standard speakers........the head unit and amp make them sound good but think an upgrade in order to get the sound even better!! Dolby surround when watching DVD is unbelievable!
Somewhat distracting on the motorway though...LOL
robbo51 is offline  
post #20 of 50 (permalink) Old 16th March 2008, 22:57 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
warriorpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: 18th November 2006
Location: Bolton branch of Wigan ENGLAND
Posts: 329
Thanks: 9
Thanked 18 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader: (1)
It's for passengers only when driving......honest!!!!
warriorpete is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Head Unit Double Din facia with aftermarket head unit and navi - fitted with pictures Rizlam Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 125 18th September 2013 17:42
Head Unit What model is the Alpine (satnav) unit charlas Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 6 4th February 2008 22:13
Head Unit Aux head unit ITSRICKSCIVIC Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 1 12th July 2007 11:45
Head Unit Double Din Head Unit! Someone help please.. DanKo Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 15 27th April 2007 23:48
Little compartment under Head unit ? daiashthomas Cleaning 1 15th October 2006 20:06

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome