My install Double Din Install - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 43 (permalink) Old 23rd April 2008, 04:57 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
Dayz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19th September 2007
Location: Oxfordshire, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 53
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Double Din Install

Hi Everyone, this is my first post even though ive been a member since Sept 07' when I got my baby.. "NHB Type R GT"

After a post from "Rizlam" who I cant thank enough for the ground work, gave the lads at Huets in Worthing a call about my Double Din ice install.
They started work end of November & had my baby for a week , but it was well worth the wait..

Had a Pioneer Avic HD3 head unit installed..
IMG_0124 - Copy.jpgIMG_0108 - Copy.jpg

Pioneer AVD-W7900 Screens in the seats..
IMG_0126.jpgIMG_0116 - Copy.jpg

JL Audio C5 2-Way Component in the doors powered by JL Audio 300/2 Amp..

JL Audio 8W7 ProWedge Sub powered by JL Audio 500/1 Amp..

The fitting is first class & it sounds fantastic.
Dayz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 43 (permalink) Old 23rd April 2008, 06:22
Type-R GT [R-11523]
 
Harlequin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 13th March 2008
Location: Brisbane, AUS AU
Posts: 278
Thanks: 3
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to Harlequin
Very nice...

I'm wanting to do something like this to mine but both Honda Australia and my Dealer are telling me that the Fascia is a) not available here and b) won't fit the "Australian Model"...

Load of [email protected] the "Australian Model" is the same as everywhere else!!!

-H
Harlequin is offline  
post #3 of 43 (permalink) Old 23rd April 2008, 10:14
 
Join Date: 28th February 2008
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
now that's nice.. Very tidy install..

Am i allowed to ask how many pennies it cost?

Drewster
Drewster is offline  
 
post #4 of 43 (permalink) Old 23rd April 2008, 10:25
Supporter
 
mike_civic's Avatar
 
Car: 2018 10g 1.5t Hatch
Join Date: 21st February 2008
Location: Piraeus, Greece GR
Posts: 6,235
Thanks: 1,635
Thanked 1,174 Times in 940 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Dayz you have done a great job !
mike_civic is offline  
post #5 of 43 (permalink) Old 23rd April 2008, 12:51 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Dayz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19th September 2007
Location: Oxfordshire, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 53
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Drewster, it cost a quite bit more than I intended to spend, was originally only going to have the head unit fitted & door speakers, but somewhere along the way lost the plot...

As a result though im well happy...
Dayz is offline  
post #6 of 43 (permalink) Old 23rd April 2008, 14:42
Supporter
 
mike_civic's Avatar
 
Car: 2018 10g 1.5t Hatch
Join Date: 21st February 2008
Location: Piraeus, Greece GR
Posts: 6,235
Thanks: 1,635
Thanked 1,174 Times in 940 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Can I ask you something ?
You bought the fascia, as I did, but have you bought any inside frames honda officials, for installing the head unit, or did you install it using frames of the market ?
mike_civic is offline  
post #7 of 43 (permalink) Old 23rd April 2008, 14:54 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Dayz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19th September 2007
Location: Oxfordshire, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 53
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Hi Mike, didnt fit the unit myself, everything was done by Huets down in Worthing but in the head unit installation manual it shows the Pioneer unit comes with its own frame
Dayz is offline  
post #8 of 43 (permalink) Old 23rd April 2008, 14:56
Supporter
 
mike_civic's Avatar
 
Car: 2018 10g 1.5t Hatch
Join Date: 21st February 2008
Location: Piraeus, Greece GR
Posts: 6,235
Thanks: 1,635
Thanked 1,174 Times in 940 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Thanks for the info Dayz.
mike_civic is offline  
post #9 of 43 (permalink) Old 23rd April 2008, 16:54
THP
Form & Function
 
THP's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 NHB CTR GT
Join Date: 7th February 2008
Location: Pisa ,Toscana, Italia IT
Posts: 233
Thanks: 13
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
iTrader: (2)
One double DIN is amazing, 2 are cool, 3 are....no words!
Great great job !!!!
The most important fact ( for me ) is that everything you've
installed looks like factory installed....this mean...perfection!
Congratulations, better than Pimp my ride!
THP is offline  
post #10 of 43 (permalink) Old 23rd April 2008, 23:00
 
Join Date: 29th March 2008
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
hi guys the facia panel is available to uk customers,someone on here from greece i think said the trim was 20 pounds but i can get for 90.00 all in and posted to uk customers included.
jimventura is offline  
post #11 of 43 (permalink) Old 24th April 2008, 01:21
Supporter
 
ritchie_perriam's Avatar
 
Car: 1989 BMW 325i sport
Join Date: 30th November 2007
Location: guildford, surrey ENGLAND
Posts: 702
Thanks: 4
Thanked 40 Times in 18 Posts
iTrader: (1)
that must sound the nuts! nice work
ritchie_perriam is offline  
post #12 of 43 (permalink) Old 24th April 2008, 02:46 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Dayz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19th September 2007
Location: Oxfordshire, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 53
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Thanks for the positive feedback guys, much appreciated..
Dayz is offline  
post #13 of 43 (permalink) Old 24th April 2008, 02:59
 
Join Date: 30th October 2007
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Great job on the install - looks fantastic - its exactly what I want to do to mine (headunit).
Im from Australia and am having big issues getting the facia - sounds like that will be resolved very shortly by jimventura!
2 questions - do you have the steering wheel controls working? What happens to the top dash screen?
Coldie is offline  
post #14 of 43 (permalink) Old 24th April 2008, 03:02 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Dayz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19th September 2007
Location: Oxfordshire, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 53
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (2)
It sounds fantasic ritchie p & youve done a great job with your boot install, those JL's really drop..
Will post up a few pics of my boot install when I get a min'

Last edited by Dayz; 24th April 2008 at 19:20.
Dayz is offline  
post #15 of 43 (permalink) Old 24th April 2008, 03:37 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Dayz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19th September 2007
Location: Oxfordshire, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 53
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Hi Coldie, Huets managed to connect the Pioneer to my existing steering wheel controls so Volume, Track/Channel Fwd & Bk & Mode for switching source all work.

As for the screen, your original radio is relocated, you need this to change the clock and I believe if you have dual zone climate control, components on the radio bracket are also needed for this, your original radio is switched off so the middle part of the display screen is now blank but clock & climate display all work ok
Dayz is offline  
post #16 of 43 (permalink) Old 24th April 2008, 18:55 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Dayz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19th September 2007
Location: Oxfordshire, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 53
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Boot Install

Pics of the Boot Install...

JL Audio 8W7 ProWedge Sub..
IMG_0035 - Copy.jpgIMG_0038 - Copy.jpg

JL Audio 500/1 Amp & JL Audio 300/2 Amp..
IMG_0039 - Copy.jpgIMG_0040 - Copy.jpg
Dayz is offline  
post #17 of 43 (permalink) Old 24th April 2008, 19:47
 
Join Date: 20th March 2008
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
looks nice, that would be quite an expensive install, equipment will be well over 3k, and huets do very good work and for that reason charge a high fee

how come you went for a 8" sub?
nik nunez is offline  
post #18 of 43 (permalink) Old 24th April 2008, 19:59 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Dayz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19th September 2007
Location: Oxfordshire, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 53
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Hi Nik, wanted a sub that didnt take up too much room & something I could easily take out.
Honest tho if you heard this for an 8" sub.. Most of my mates thought I had at least a 12" sub installed when they first heard it.
Dayz is offline  
post #19 of 43 (permalink) Old 24th April 2008, 20:02
 
Join Date: 13th September 2006
Posts: 64
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Has anyone else tried installing their own aftermarket head unit? I've done mine, took about an hour and a half. got the iso connector from caraudiosecurity and the aerial adaptor from halfords after a few disagreements over its existence
BERT is offline  
post #20 of 43 (permalink) Old 24th April 2008, 20:09 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Dayz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19th September 2007
Location: Oxfordshire, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 53
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Was this in place of the original unit ?
Dayz is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Head Unit adapter Double Din ulysse13 Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 41 12th April 2014 04:21
Radio my double din dst_cvc Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 0 11th December 2007 12:57
Its Another Double Birthday Topcat Any non Civic chat here please! 3 9th April 2007 19:57
A double birthday Topcat Any non Civic chat here please! 10 8th April 2007 23:58

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome