2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner

Atermarket Sub with Standard HU & LOC

Subwoofer 
8K views 22 replies 8 participants last post by  cosmicma 
#1 ·
Hi Guys,

Taken a good look on here and it seems I'll need an Line output converter (LOC) in order to install a sub with the existing head unit radio.

I need a little help in how to install the LOC, I have a rough knowledge the converter will bump up the things needed for the AMP to recognize the signal, but how would you go about remotely turning the amp on too? Wire it in to the plug socket into the boot?

Any help would be appreciated guys? I'm a total newbie to this :D

#2 ·
Ok you connect the LOC to a speaker out in the rear of the car, all the LOC does is resist the signal coming from the amp in the head unit to prevent it going over the suitable voltage range for the input of the subs amp. Hope that makes sense.

You just need to remove the interior on one side of the rear passenger seats around the speaker area. Strip back some of the insulation and T into those cables. There is plenty of space in the wing for a LOC or you can place the LOC in the boot area it's upto you.

#3 ·
Mr Fireblade you are a big help. Does it matter which speaker I tap into? And It's just the one I need to tap into right? I've managed to find that Rear Left + Yellow, Rear Left – Brown, Rear Right +Blue, Rear Right – Orange. So i just splice the +'ve of the LOC into the positive and negative to negative and job done?

Will this do the job?
CTLOC10 2 CHANNEL RCA LINE INPUT OUTPUT HIGH TO LOW LEVEL CONVERTER ADAPTOR LEAD | eBay

Also, how would I tell the amp that the car's on? Through use of cutting into the car plug in the boot or?

#4 ·
From my point of view it doesn't matter which side you go into, I went into the passenger side when I did mine.