Built in CD MP3 CD's in Album not Alphabetical order? Help. - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 25th June 2006, 14:09 Thread Starter
 
Roger Harris's Avatar
 
Join Date: 23rd May 2006
Location: Kent
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via AIM to Roger Harris
MP3 CD's in Album not Alphabetical order? Help.

Hi Folks,

Does anyone know how to burn MP3 Cd's so the songs come up on the Civic in
Album order? All mine get listed alphabetically, which can be a bit irritating on
most if not all albums. (Try listening to 'The Wall' out of sequence)

For info, My music database is iTunes, I'm using Toast to burn the discs and I'm on
a Mac, not a PC.

Any help much appreciated.

Sorry if this post is off-topic
Roger Harris is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 25th June 2006, 14:37 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Roger Harris's Avatar
 
Join Date: 23rd May 2006
Location: Kent
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via AIM to Roger Harris
OK, never mind, I've sussed it.

Just in case anyone wants to know: You need to set the preferences in iTunes to 'create track names with number'
that way, all the song titles get numbered, assuming their tags are correct. If not, you have to do it manually.

bye.
Roger Harris is offline  
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 3rd July 2006, 20:18
Supporter
 
Honda100's Avatar
 
Join Date: 31st May 2006
Location: Stockport
Posts: 246
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I am struggling with the same problem using musicmatch. (iTunes has all my AAC files in it so can't really use that)

The problem is that whatever settings I use to burn the cd with MP3s, the cd player in the civic insists on reading them in alphabetical order and not the order that they should be played in.

I must have gone through half a dozen discs with different combinations of settings but to no avail and am just about ready to tear my hair out, especially as I can't link my iPod to the head unit!

Any suggestions?
Thanks
Honda100 is offline  
 
post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 3rd July 2006, 21:36
Administrator
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,772 Times in 824 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
All my MP3's have filenames like:

01 - Track name - Artist
02 - Track name - Artist
03 - Track name - Artist
04 - Track name - Artist

so no problems.

I don't use any of these odd special bits of software that are meant to help you (iTunes and so on), just EAC to rip and Tagscanner to rename the files and fill in any missing tags.
Pottsy is offline  
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 4th July 2006, 06:35
您看了
 
CivPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: 1st May 2006
Location: Surrey/Hants ENGLAND
Posts: 456
Thanks: 3
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I use "EZ CD DA Creator version 7" (I think its version 7?). Very good program lets you choose from a huge number of extraction file name criteria, or lets you decide your own.
CivPilot is offline  
post #6 of 22 (permalink) Old 4th July 2006, 08:02
Supporter
 
Honda100's Avatar
 
Join Date: 31st May 2006
Location: Stockport
Posts: 246
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Thanks for both the responses. I will find the programmes and give them a try.
Music match is not my favourite programme I have to say and it is proving to be a pain for this purpose.
Honda100 is offline  
post #7 of 22 (permalink) Old 4th July 2006, 08:05
Explosive Mind Unleashed
 
Kpow99's Avatar
 
Join Date: 5th May 2006
Location: London
Posts: 549
Thanks: 1
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to Kpow99
I just use WMP10, does the job for me
Kpow99 is offline  
post #8 of 22 (permalink) Old 4th July 2006, 18:28
Supporter
 
Honda100's Avatar
 
Join Date: 31st May 2006
Location: Stockport
Posts: 246
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
With all your tips I have worked out how to sort this, albeit many ruined disks later!

My mp3 files in MusicMatch did not have the track number preceding the name of the track. So it is now automatically renaming all tracks as 'number'-'track name' which now allows the car player to play the tracks in the correct order.

Thanks again for all the advice.
Honda100 is offline  
post #9 of 22 (permalink) Old 11th July 2006, 18:22
 
Parky's Avatar
 
Join Date: 4th July 2006
Posts: 336
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Re: MP3 CD's in Album not Alphabetical order? Help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Harris
Hi Folks,

Does anyone know how to burn MP3 Cd's so the songs come up on the Civic in
Album order? All mine get listed alphabetically, which can be a bit irritating on
most if not all albums. (Try listening to 'The Wall' out of sequence)

For info, My music database is iTunes, I'm using Toast to burn the discs and I'm on
a Mac, not a PC.

Any help much appreciated.

Sorry if this post is off-topic
Why use Toast when iTunes can make MP3 CD's?

Ian
Parky is offline  
post #10 of 22 (permalink) Old 11th July 2006, 18:57
 
Join Date: 3rd June 2006
Posts: 430
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Re: MP3 CD's in Album not Alphabetical order? Help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Parky
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Harris
Hi Folks,

Does anyone know how to burn MP3 Cd's so the songs come up on the Civic in
Album order? All mine get listed alphabetically, which can be a bit irritating on
most if not all albums. (Try listening to 'The Wall' out of sequence)

For info, My music database is iTunes, I'm using Toast to burn the discs and I'm on
a Mac, not a PC.

Any help much appreciated.

Sorry if this post is off-topic
Why use Toast when iTunes can make MP3 CD's?

Ian
Just done this for my Dad tonight. He had all his tunes in AAC - so the first thing we did was to 'convert selection to MP3' (not sure if you need to do that or not??

Then go to

EDIT : PREFERENCES : ADVANCED : BURNING,

and then select DISC FORMAT as MP3 CD.


you can then burn directly form iTunes.

Job Done
karlak is offline  
post #11 of 22 (permalink) Old 11th July 2006, 19:01
 
kan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2nd July 2006
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
can you add folders in itunes?
kan2 is offline  
post #12 of 22 (permalink) Old 11th July 2006, 19:02
Supporter
 
Honda100's Avatar
 
Join Date: 31st May 2006
Location: Stockport
Posts: 246
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Great information, and would mean that I only need to keep one lot of files, AAC.
Any idea what bit rate they convert at?
Thanks
Simon
Honda100 is offline  
post #13 of 22 (permalink) Old 11th July 2006, 19:03
 
Parky's Avatar
 
Join Date: 4th July 2006
Posts: 336
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kan2
can you add folders in itunes?
You don't use 'Folders' as such in iTunes as it automatically manages your CD / Tracks for you by Artist / Title / Track, etc.

Ian
Parky is offline  
post #14 of 22 (permalink) Old 11th July 2006, 19:13
 
Join Date: 3rd June 2006
Posts: 430
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Honda100
Great information, and would mean that I only need to keep one lot of files, AAC.
Any idea what bit rate they convert at?
Thanks
Simon
They will convert at the rate at which you set the import to.

Obviously it would not convert a 128 AAC to a 196 MP3 - I guess in this case it would stick to 128.


As I say I have not got a CIVIC yet, so just spent 10 minutes round at my Dads trying to get his iTunes and Mp3's sorted.
karlak is offline  
post #15 of 22 (permalink) Old 11th July 2006, 19:13
 
Parky's Avatar
 
Join Date: 4th July 2006
Posts: 336
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Honda100
Great information, and would mean that I only need to keep one lot of files, AAC.
Any idea what bit rate they convert at?
Thanks
Simon
You will loose quality if you convert from AAC to MP3.

As you convert from a CD to AAC you loose quality as this is a lossy conversion, then if you convert to MP3 you loose even more quality.

In iTunes you can define the quality you use for each conversion. The usual rate for AAC is 128 and the MP3 rate is 160, but you can select any you like.

Even if you do convert AAC files to MP3 files in iTunes you will have two copies, it does not delete the original AAC files.

The best thing to do if you have the original CD's is to import the CD's again with the setting to MP3 160 (good quality), burn your MP3 CD and then delete the MP3 files from iTunes. If you need them back to burn a different mix you can always pull the MP3 files off the CD's you have burned.

Remember you will not be able to convert tracks bought from the iTunes Music Store into MP3's as they are protected AAC files.
The only way to make MP3's of these files is to burn a CD music of the purchased music (which is then unprotected) and then import the CD as MP3's.

If anyone wants anymore iTunes advice, please just ask, I will do my best to help.

Ian
Parky is offline  
post #16 of 22 (permalink) Old 11th July 2006, 19:18
 
Parky's Avatar
 
Join Date: 4th July 2006
Posts: 336
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by karlak
Quote:
Originally Posted by Honda100
Great information, and would mean that I only need to keep one lot of files, AAC.
Any idea what bit rate they convert at?
Thanks
Simon
They will convert at the rate at which you set the import to.

Obviously it would not convert a 128 AAC to a 196 MP3 - I guess in this case it would stick to 128.


As I say I have not got a CIVIC yet, so just spent 10 minutes round at my Dads trying to get his iTunes and Mp3's sorted.
Actually it will convert 128 AAC to 196 MP3, you just won't get the quality of a 196 MP3 that was ripped from the original CD.
You would get a better version of the AAC file if you used MP3 192 rather than MP3 128 (lees is thrown away in the conversion), but the files will be bigger and you won't get as many on a CD.

Ian
Parky is offline  
post #17 of 22 (permalink) Old 11th July 2006, 19:19
 
Join Date: 3rd June 2006
Posts: 430
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parky
Quote:
Originally Posted by Honda100
Great information, and would mean that I only need to keep one lot of files, AAC.
Any idea what bit rate they convert at?
Thanks
Simon
You will loose quality if you convert from AAC to MP3.

As you convert from a CD to AAC you loose quality as this is a lossy conversion, then if you convert to MP3 you loose even more quality.

In iTunes you can define the quality you use for each conversion. The usual rate for AAC is 128 and the MP3 rate is 160, but you can select any you like.

Even if you do convert AAC files to MP3 files in iTunes you will have two copies, it does not delete the original AAC files.

The best thing to do if you have the original CD's is to import the CD's again with the setting to MP3 160 (good quality), burn your MP3 CD and then delete the fMP3 files from iTunes. If you need them back to burn a different mix you can always pull the MP3 files off the CD's you have burned.

Remember you will not be able to convert tracks bought from the iTunes Music Store into MP3's as they are protected AAC files.
The only way to make MP3's of these files is to burn a CD music of the purchased music (which is then unprotected) and then import the CD as MP3's.

If anyone wants anymore iTunes advice, please just ask, I will do my best to help.

Ian
Good Shout.

I would also recommend a re-import using the MP3 format - However a lengthy process for some. This conversion could be a tempory fix, and I must say that I found no difference between the AAC and Mp3 converted file (even though I know that theoretically there is). The real bottom line is that listening to an MP3 is a compromise anyway, but in a car environment then they sound very good indeed.

I personally use nothing less than 192kbs as a compression (some are 320kbs), but this is because I have a 'fairly' good stereo system at home which seems to pick out the difference in Bass when a lower compression is used. Anyway, as mentioned if you want the better quality then be prepared to spin the orignal Audio disc.
karlak is offline  
post #18 of 22 (permalink) Old 11th July 2006, 19:22
Administrator
 
basegreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15th April 2006
Location: noitacoL
Posts: 3,005
Thanks: 3
Thanked 178 Times in 24 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Send a message via MSN to basegreen
Seconded - anything less than 192k sounds pretty poor on my setup in the Civic.
basegreen is offline  
post #19 of 22 (permalink) Old 12th July 2006, 08:18 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Roger Harris's Avatar
 
Join Date: 23rd May 2006
Location: Kent
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via AIM to Roger Harris
HI Chaps

Regarding why I use toast and not itunes for burning:

As far as I'm aware, when you burn a playlist onto an MP3 cd in itunes there is no folder structure to the resultant
disk, so you just get a disk full of tracks not seperated into artist etc. Using Toast I can create (or just drag) the whole artist folder into
the window and get a disk I can view by artist/album on the civic screen. Much better.

Please correct me if I'm wrong as it would save me lots of time.

cheers
Roger
Roger Harris is offline  
post #20 of 22 (permalink) Old 12th July 2006, 08:26
 
Join Date: 3rd June 2006
Posts: 430
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Harris
HI Chaps

Regarding why I use toast and not itunes for burning:

As far as I'm aware, when you burn a playlist onto an MP3 cd in itunes there is no folder structure to the resultant
disk, so you just get a disk full of tracks not seperated into artist etc. Using Toast I can create (or just drag) the whole artist folder into
the window and get a disk I can view by artist/album on the civic screen. Much better.

Please correct me if I'm wrong as it would save me lots of time.

cheers
Roger
All of the info for Artist,File,Song,Album were viewable on my Dads car. (By the way I am not a 15 year old sorting my dads car out. I am 39 with a Dad who likes his technology-ipods,civics,iTunes etc )
karlak is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Radiohead album! czechplastik Any non Civic chat here please! 9 10th October 2007 09:11
Built in CD 90Min CD's with WMA & MP3 goumet Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 8 2nd October 2007 15:15
Built in CD Mp3 CD's kevin_lufc Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 36 18th May 2007 10:22
Can you cancel order and re-order amh Type-R 14 28th February 2007 17:20
Built in CD Playing mp3 cd's and seeing what's next? (EX question) stu_iow Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 5 10th December 2006 09:46

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome