My install Double Din sanity check - Civinfo
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By ExperienceWins
  • 1 Post By ExperienceWins
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 31st October 2017, 18:34 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
Join Date: 26th October 2017
Posts: 267
Thanks: 63
Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Double Din sanity check

Hi all and thanks in advance for any advice.

I've trawled through many posts and "THINK" I'm on the right lines to order the start of a new installation that I'll add to over time for my FN2 (Non satnav).

I think there are two sets of wiring adaptor kits including fascias that I could use, Connects2 and Impulse (although I can't find the impulse kit to buy online).

I don't want to lose any dash display or steering wheel control functionality, and want the fascia to look as OEM as possible, will either kit do or does one offer an advantage over the other? I see the Connects varies between £97 (ebay) and £149 from ICE dealers.

Head unit wise I'm looking at something like the Pioneer AVH-Z5000DAB or the Kenwood DMX7017DABS as I intend to use Android based mapping (Google / Waze) for now so see no need for a dedicated Nav unit. I will be upgrading speakers etc over time and wish to add a reversing camera at some point, the Kenwood appeals as it can also support a dash cam (thinking of insurance next year).

Am I missing anything or any advice appreciated.

Cheers,

Stim.
stimcity is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 31st October 2017, 20:07
Supporter
 
Vyse's Avatar
 
Join Date: 6th May 2012
Location: UK JP
Posts: 749
Thanks: 74
Thanked 62 Times in 55 Posts
iTrader: (1)
You want the impulse kit, however, I think the company that sold it folded a few years ago. Impulse contains a OEM double din fascia.
Vyse is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 31st October 2017, 21:17
Supporter
 
ExperienceWins's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 Type S 1.8 GT
Join Date: 24th July 2017
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 55
Thanks: 7
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
I used the connects2 kit, bought from eBay for about £120. Works perfect with SWC, AC and dash display.

Only thing I needed which wasn't part of the kit was a Cage Kit (couldn't get the attachment thing with the fascia to work because I'm useless) and a DAB aerial.

Looks pretty good, matches quite well though the camera makes it look a different shade. I need to get a daytime pic really (and a clean screen...)

Head unit is a Kenwood DMX7017DABS

Bones126 likes this.
ExperienceWins is offline  
Thanks to ExperienceWins from:
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 1st November 2017, 13:44 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 26th October 2017
Posts: 267
Thanks: 63
Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Thanks guys, appreciate it - so Connects2 it is!
stimcity is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 1st November 2017, 22:29
 
Car: 2008 Type S GT 2.2
Join Date: 4th November 2011
Location: Cork IE
Posts: 537
Thanks: 11
Thanked 42 Times in 39 Posts
iTrader: (0)
You can get an OEM fascia from Connects2 as well.
Type 666 is offline  
Thanks to Type 666 from:
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 5th November 2017, 19:17 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 26th October 2017
Posts: 267
Thanks: 63
Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts
iTrader: (3)
How's your setup working @ExperienceWins ? Had a heck of a time getting mine sorted (so far) outlined it in a seperate thread as it may help others!
stimcity is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 5th January 2018, 13:05
Supporter
 
Trev27's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 Civic Si 2.2
Join Date: 5th January 2018
Location: Stockton on Tees GD
Posts: 322
Thanks: 0
Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Hi
Does the clock still work with after market head units or is not possible to adjust it ???
Trev27 is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 5th January 2018, 13:16
Supporter
 
ExperienceWins's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 Type S 1.8 GT
Join Date: 24th July 2017
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 55
Thanks: 7
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trev27 View Post
Hi
Does the clock still work with after market head units or is not possible to adjust it ???
With the Connects2 box, you can use the steering wheel controls to adjust the clock. Still works perfectly fine
Trev27 likes this.
ExperienceWins is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrics Double Din frame does not fit with the double din FN2 facia panel Marti Electronics (8G) 0 1st February 2015 19:31
Head Unit 2x Single Din into Double Din? total_k-os Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 7 6th December 2011 11:32
Computer Save my sanity Chilled Electronics (8G) 4 20th January 2010 13:45
Head Unit How and how much can I get from this Double DIN adapter,Double DIN head unit fascia, sanyo Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 5 13th December 2009 11:04

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome