Technical Upgrading Radio - Civinfo

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 25th December 2017, 20:52 Thread Starter

Car: 2007/57 Civic 2.2 i-CTDi
Upgrading Radio

Hi, all - happy Christmas!

For Christmas this year, I've been gifted a JVC KW-R520 double-DIN head unit - and I have very little experience in installing head units in cars, so I'm just after a little bit of advice with regards to fitting it, please. I am okay with getting the stock fascia off, and I know I have to order a fascia to fit the new unit (that will be on the way very soon) - but I get stumped at the wiring. I haven't attempted to change it yet - but do I need a wiring harness? I needed one for my old Corsa, but there is a wiring harness in the box with the unit - so do I need an extra wiring loom as a necessity? That's the only thing I'm a little worried about!

Thanks in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 25th December 2017, 21:05

Car: 2008 Type S GT 2.2
The wiring is straight forward if you get the Connects2 kit with the Honda adaptor. There is a bit of soldering and joining wires to be done - I just got a local auto electrician to do mine, done in a few seconds for free.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 25th December 2017, 21:09 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **

Quote:
Originally Posted by Type 666 View Post
The wiring is straight forward if you get the Connects2 kit with the Honda adaptor. There is a bit of soldering and joining wires to be done - I just got a local auto electrician to do mine, done in a few seconds for free.
Ahh - thanks very much for the reply. Is it not as straight-forward as plugging the stock wires into the harness that has come with the new unit, and that's it? I'm not too concerned about losing the antenna for the radio - I just want to be able to listen to my music on my phone, haha!

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 25th December 2017, 21:58

Quote:
Originally Posted by S8ORX View Post
Hi, all - happy Christmas!