My install Pictures of your double install - Civinfo
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By CalJames1878
  • 1 Post By CalJames1878
  • 1 Post By Type 666
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 22nd January 2018, 12:08 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
Trev27's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 Civic Si 2.2
Join Date: 5th January 2018
Location: Stockton on Tees GD
Posts: 326
Thanks: 0
Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Pictures of your double install

Hi
I am thinking of installing a Pioneer double din head unit with a connects 2 kit.
Can you post your pictures of your install with this kit and also any problems
you may of encountered just so i can be prepared for the worst !!!!!

Cheers
Trev27 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 22nd January 2018, 12:20
Headlight Technician
 
CalJames1878's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 2.2 Si
Join Date: 14th January 2018
Location: North Wales WALES
Posts: 174
Thanks: 1
Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts
iTrader: (1)
I've just recently installed a double din in my Si, probably the worst experience with one ever.
The problem I had is pictured below, I had to cut a fair amount away and also trim the plastic brackets on the fascia that hold the HU in place.
The cage that came with my HU(DMX7017) didn't fit either, so more 'trimming' was carried out.
It's definitely worth it, just make sure you have plenty of time reserved and are prepared to cut away half of your dash.
I also ended up using cable ties to secure the HU to the cage as no screws were provided with either the HU or fascia kit.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20180102_163453 (1).jpg (64.9 KB, 53 views)
Trev27 likes this.
CalJames1878 is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 22nd January 2018, 12:23 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Trev27's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 Civic Si 2.2
Join Date: 5th January 2018
Location: Stockton on Tees GD
Posts: 326
Thanks: 0
Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by CalJames1878 View Post
I've just recently installed a double din in my Si, probably the worst experience with one ever.
The problem I had is pictured below, I had to cut a fair amount away and also trim the plastic brackets on the fascia that hold the HU in place.
The cage that came with my HU(DMX7017) didn't fit either, so more 'trimming' was carried out.
It's definitely worth it, just make sure you have plenty of time reserved and are prepared to cut away half of your dash.
I also ended up using cable ties to secure the HU to the cage as no screws were provided with either the HU or fascia kit.


so not a direct fit then, what about the wiring, was that easy enough ??
Used to have a EP3 type R and that easy
cheers
Trev27 is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 22nd January 2018, 12:30
Headlight Technician
 
CalJames1878's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 2.2 Si
Join Date: 14th January 2018
Location: North Wales WALES
Posts: 174
Thanks: 1
Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trev27 View Post
so not a direct fit then, what about the wiring, was that easy enough ??
Used to have a EP3 type R and that easy
cheers
Pretty easy, need to crimp a few things. Space behind the HU is a little short. I pulled all the cables down to where the storage compartment goes and seated the fascia and HU and then pushed them back up.
Trev27 likes this.
CalJames1878 is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 23rd January 2018, 00:45
 
Car: 2008 Type S GT 2.2
Join Date: 4th November 2011
Location: Cork IE
Posts: 546
Thanks: 11
Thanked 42 Times in 39 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CalJames1878 View Post
I've just recently installed a double din in my Si, probably the worst experience with one ever.
The problem I had is pictured below, I had to cut a fair amount away and also trim the plastic brackets on the fascia that hold the HU in place.
The cage that came with my HU(DMX7017) didn't fit either, so more 'trimming' was carried out.
It's definitely worth it, just make sure you have plenty of time reserved and are prepared to cut away half of your dash.
I also ended up using cable ties to secure the HU to the cage as no screws were provided with either the HU or fascia kit.
Bloody hell, that sounds like a nightmare of an experience!

Something was seriously wrong if you had to cut away "half of your dash"!
Trev27 likes this.

Last edited by Type 666; 23rd January 2018 at 00:47.
Type 666 is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Technical Double-Din Install TackyAuto Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 8 8th February 2017 21:49
Head Unit Double Din Install DJPinz Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 1 23rd September 2014 19:27
My double din install vish444 General Discussion (8G) 20 25th July 2013 11:52
Head Unit Double din install bikersv Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 71 6th June 2013 20:21
Video What camera did you install? Pictures? Dacoco Electronics (8G) 3 5th September 2012 22:40

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome