Head Unit Connects2 Pink & Blue Wires - Civinfo
 6Likes
  • 1 Post By rpsmith79
  • 1 Post By M8TJT
  • 1 Post By rpsmith79
  • 1 Post By M8TJT
  • 1 Post By M8TJT
  • 1 Post By Civication
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 5th April 2018, 07:34 Thread Starter
 
rpsmith79's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 1.8 Type S GT, Silver
Join Date: 16th April 2017
Location: Chesvegas
Posts: 58
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Connects2 Pink & Blue Wires

So, i'm trying to get my head around the Connects2 install before i start ripping all my interior out to fit the new head unit, but i am slightly confused by the Connects2 wiring instructions, specifically the Pink & Blue wires shown

All it says is Pink Wire - Speed Pulse
Blue/White Wire - Amp Remote

Do these need wiring up (i am not fitting an Amp) and if so, what should they be wired to

Link to installation instructions

http://www.connects2downloads.co.uk/...s/CTSHO002.pdf

I have read the Wiki, and as many guides as i can find, and not one mention of these 2 wires being wired up

Oh, and i'm fitting an Eonon Android head unit, if that makes any difference
rpsmith79 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 5th April 2018, 07:55
Supporter
 
ExperienceWins's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 Type S 1.8 GT
Join Date: 24th July 2017
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 55
Thanks: 7
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
From memory:

The blue wire you will need to connect to the other blue wire coming from the FM antenna so that it can power the FM Amp (not speaker Amp).
If you've got the civic aerial adapter, you'll see the loose blue cable coming from that.

Pink wire I think is for things like SVC (speed volume control). Let's the head unit know how fast the car is so it can compensate the volume accordingly. I didn't connect that on mine since the head unit I got doesn't support it.
If your head unit does support it, I'm sure it will provide instructions on how to connect it.


Hope this helps!
ExperienceWins is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 5th April 2018, 08:04 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
rpsmith79's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 1.8 Type S GT, Silver
Join Date: 16th April 2017
Location: Chesvegas
Posts: 58
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Nice one, cheers, that makes sense

Looking at the wiring for the new head unit, it doesn't make any mention to speed pulse (or anything of the sort), so i guess i can just ignore that wire then

And yes i do have the Civic aerial adaptor, but there is also a free blue wire (labelled auto antenna) coming out the back of the head unit too, i guess i'll just have to try connecting the aerial to each one, and see which gives me 12v
rpsmith79 is offline  
 
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 5th April 2018, 08:09
Super Moderator
 
M8TJT's Avatar
 
Car: 10G 1.5 Civic Prestige
Join Date: 10th October 2015
Location: Bexhill, Sussex GB
Posts: 2,558
Thanks: 74
Thanked 178 Times in 170 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Check it out with a voltmeter first?
M8TJT is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 5th April 2018, 08:12 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
rpsmith79's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 1.8 Type S GT, Silver
Join Date: 16th April 2017
Location: Chesvegas
Posts: 58
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by M8TJT View Post
Check it out with a voltmeter first?
That means buying a voltmeter though, lol

I guess the radio will either work when connected to one of the wires and not when connected to the other, surely i won't do any damage by not connecting it to 12v
rpsmith79 is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 5th April 2018, 08:12
Supporter
 
ExperienceWins's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 Type S 1.8 GT
Join Date: 24th July 2017
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 55
Thanks: 7
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Ahh, okay. That sounds familiar for what was on mine too. I honestly can't remember what configuration I went with in the end, so a little trial an error might be needed before you put everything back together!
ExperienceWins is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 5th April 2018, 08:14 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
rpsmith79's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 1.8 Type S GT, Silver
Join Date: 16th April 2017
Location: Chesvegas
Posts: 58
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by ExperienceWins View Post
Ahh, okay. That sounds familiar for what was on mine too. I honestly can't remember what configuration I went with in the end, so a little trial an error might be needed before you put everything back together!
Yeah, thats the plan, i just like to get it all straight in my head before i start doing jobs like this, nothing worse than having to stop halfway through and asking for help, then waiting hours for a reply, lol
ExperienceWins likes this.
rpsmith79 is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 5th April 2018, 08:18
Super Moderator
 
M8TJT's Avatar
 
Car: 10G 1.5 Civic Prestige
Join Date: 10th October 2015
Location: Bexhill, Sussex GB
Posts: 2,558
Thanks: 74
Thanked 178 Times in 170 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by rpsmith79 View Post
That means buying a voltmeter though, lol
It's not really good practice to be doing stuff with electrics without one. They cost peanuts these days. Like THIS one at random.
rpsmith79 likes this.
M8TJT is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 5th April 2018, 08:21 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
rpsmith79's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 1.8 Type S GT, Silver
Join Date: 16th April 2017
Location: Chesvegas
Posts: 58
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by M8TJT View Post
It's not really good practice to be doing stuff with electrics without one. They cost peanuts these days. Like THIS one at random.
It was said somewhat "tongue in cheek"

I can borrow one from work, but figured it would be just as easy to connect it to each and see which worked, can't do any damage surely

But yes, i will borrow a voltmeter and stick it across the terminals to see which gives 12v
M8TJT likes this.
rpsmith79 is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 5th April 2018, 08:34
Super Moderator
 
M8TJT's Avatar
 
Car: 10G 1.5 Civic Prestige
Join Date: 10th October 2015
Location: Bexhill, Sussex GB
Posts: 2,558
Thanks: 74
Thanked 178 Times in 170 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by rpsmith79 View Post
It was said somewhat "tongue in cheek"
So was my post. Just thought that I would point out to all and sundry just how little you have to pay for a multimeter these days.
OK, not the finest quality, but will do the job.
rpsmith79 likes this.
M8TJT is offline  
post #11 of 16 (permalink) Old 5th April 2018, 08:37 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
rpsmith79's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 1.8 Type S GT, Silver
Join Date: 16th April 2017
Location: Chesvegas
Posts: 58
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by M8TJT View Post
So was my post. Just thought that I would point out to all and sundry just how little you have to pay for a multimeter these days.
OK, not the finest quality, but will do the job.
Touche

Strange thing is, i'm a mechanical design engineer, but i absolutely hate anything remotely electrical, so try to do as little of it as possible

Give me a mechanical problem any day of the week over something involving electrickery
rpsmith79 is offline  
post #12 of 16 (permalink) Old 5th April 2018, 08:46
Super Moderator
 
M8TJT's Avatar
 
Car: 10G 1.5 Civic Prestige
Join Date: 10th October 2015
Location: Bexhill, Sussex GB
Posts: 2,558
Thanks: 74
Thanked 178 Times in 170 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by rpsmith79 View Post
Strange thing is, i'm a mechanical design engineer, but i absolutely hate anything remotely electrical, so try to do as little of it as possibl
I suppose being mechanical is a bit strange. So get someone else to do it? Simples.
rpsmith79 likes this.
M8TJT is offline  
post #13 of 16 (permalink) Old 6th April 2018, 12:51
Oldboy-racer
 
Civication's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 Milano 2.2 iCTDi
Join Date: 21st October 2011
Location: Edinburgh SCOTLAND
Posts: 908
Thanks: 70
Thanked 102 Times in 84 Posts
iTrader: (5)
It rook ne a while to figure it out but C2 blue wire is not powered. It changes the car display so when the head is on then it says "Civic" otherwise it gives the date when head is off. It needs to be connected to the blue power signal line from the head, but it can only take a small current so don't go powering an amp with it.

Sent from my SM-N910F using Tapatalk
ExperienceWins likes this.
Civication is offline  
post #14 of 16 (permalink) Old 6th April 2018, 13:55
Supporter
 
Trev27's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 Civic Si 2.2
Join Date: 5th January 2018
Location: Stockton on Tees GD
Posts: 321
Thanks: 0
Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Civication View Post
It rook ne a while to figure it out but C2 blue wire is not powered. It changes the car display so when the head is on then it says "Civic" otherwise it gives the date when head is off. It needs to be connected to the blue power signal line from the head, but it can only take a small current so don't go powering an amp with it.

Sent from my SM-N910F using Tapatalk
so if it is connected it will always say civic when ignition is on, prefer the date tbh??
Mine is not connected as i use DAB and have a dash cam at the rear which disrupts the FM signal anyway !
Trev27 is offline  
post #15 of 16 (permalink) Old 6th April 2018, 13:58
Oldboy-racer
 
Civication's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 Milano 2.2 iCTDi
Join Date: 21st October 2011
Location: Edinburgh SCOTLAND
Posts: 908
Thanks: 70
Thanked 102 Times in 84 Posts
iTrader: (5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trev27 View Post
so if it is connected it will always say civic when ignition is on, prefer the date tbh??
Mine is not connected as i use DAB and have a dash cam at the rear which disrupts the FM signal anyway !
If just want the date then leave it disconnected, yes. But it doesn't have anything to with the aerial, that is just used for the power take off.

Sent from my SM-N910F using Tapatalk
Civication is offline  
post #16 of 16 (permalink) Old 6th April 2018, 14:00
Oldboy-racer
 
Civication's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 Milano 2.2 iCTDi
Join Date: 21st October 2011
Location: Edinburgh SCOTLAND
Posts: 908
Thanks: 70
Thanked 102 Times in 84 Posts
iTrader: (5)
Sorry, I mean it shows date when head is fully on.

Sent from my SM-N910F using Tapatalk
Civication is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My install Kenwood DMX7017DABS & Connects2 stimcity Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 18 17th August 2018 18:56
Head Unit Can you wire both antenna and amp wires to the single remote wire on a head unit? TariqD Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 5 26th May 2016 18:36
Technical Useing original wires for amp Drejc Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 4 6th March 2014 23:22
Head Unit Cheap aftermarket touchscreen HU & connects2 (+ reverse cam) LeN-e Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 7 4th November 2012 20:17

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome