Radio Radio Text - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 11th July 2006, 11:49 Thread Starter
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: 3rd July 2006
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 37
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Radio Text

Hi all

I have a EX with the Satnav and wanted to know if you can display Radio text, I know you can get CD/MP3 Text (and this is working fine), but I canít seen to find the radio text? Anyone know/found out how to do this?

Ps I donít mean the RDS fashion that will turn 98.2 into ďRADIO 1Ē. Thatís bit is all working fine.

Thanks in advance
Alan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 11th July 2006, 11:49
 
kan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2nd July 2006
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
far as i know this isnt supported in england yet. read somewhere virgin are going to bring it out, may be wrong though, fee free to correct me
kan2 is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 11th July 2006, 12:05 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: 3rd July 2006
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 37
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Oh defiantly out and working in the UK, my old car had it and my wifeís car (SAAB) too, but I must admit ,there not much info on there , just like whoís show is on and contact number/e-mail/ txt numbers , sometime you get at bit more.
Alan is offline  
 
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 11th July 2006, 12:13
 
kan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2nd July 2006
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
which stations did you get it on in your old car?
kan2 is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 11th July 2006, 12:15
 
Join Date: 22nd June 2006
Location: Paisley
Posts: 172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
sounds as though the car had a DAB radio and I do not think the Civic has one and cannot display text.
Nadz is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 11th July 2006, 13:13 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: 3rd July 2006
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 37
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
No it's not a DAB radio, donít get me wrong, the radio text didnít show you which track/song was playing, only the kind off info as above (in my other post), my old car, had a Kenwood head unit, and the SAAB is the standard head unit, (but it is also a Satnav system ) , Iíll have a look around the web and see if I can find something to explain what I mean, a bit better
Alan is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 11th July 2006, 13:16 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: 3rd July 2006
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 37
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
here you go:

Radio Text

Along with RDS & EON data, some radio stations are also transmitting further information called radio text. This usually gives information on the programme being transmitted and other useful information, phone numbers etc. When selected, this information is scrolled across the radio's display.

from:
http://www.justkenwood.co.uk/editorial/glos_cass.asp
or
http://www.radioandtelly.co.uk/rds.html

something like that

Ps Radio 1 had it.
Alan is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 11th July 2006, 13:22
 
kan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2nd July 2006
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
ah maybe its not available on the civic, shame really with the sat nav screen thatd be a nice little feature
kan2 is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 11th July 2006, 13:28 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: 3rd July 2006
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 37
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Yes it lends itself well to that, normally a head unit, that has CD text (which the Civic has) would have radio txt, thatís a shame
Alan is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 11th July 2006, 13:30
Smell My Cheese!
 
richierich's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th May 2006
Location: Bicester, Oxfordshire ENGLAND
Posts: 1,888
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Even my brothers 3 year old Ford Focus had that, whats the world coming to?
richierich is offline  
post #11 of 16 (permalink) Old 12th July 2006, 05:49
 
Juuzi01's Avatar
 
Join Date: 23rd May 2006
Location: Tampere FI
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Press Radio Power Button down for 3-5 sec. After that you get Radio's setup open and you can set RDS things on or off.
Juuzi01 is offline  
post #12 of 16 (permalink) Old 12th July 2006, 14:32 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: 3rd July 2006
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 37
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Thanks Juuzi , but this didn't work for me it just switches off the radio
Alan is offline  
post #13 of 16 (permalink) Old 12th July 2006, 14:39
Smell My Cheese!
 
richierich's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th May 2006
Location: Bicester, Oxfordshire ENGLAND
Posts: 1,888
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (0)
It turned mine off too, glad I am not the only one.
richierich is offline  
post #14 of 16 (permalink) Old 12th July 2006, 14:44
Supporter
 
generationgav's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29th May 2006
Location: Manchester, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 833
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to generationgav
This might only count for the 1.4 (non satnav) and I'm pretty sure you can't enable Radio Text anyway.
generationgav is offline  
post #15 of 16 (permalink) Old 13th July 2006, 06:22
 
Juuzi01's Avatar
 
Join Date: 23rd May 2006
Location: Tampere FI
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan
Thanks Juuzi , but this didn't work for me it just switches off the radio
Ok, then it might be only in non sat version. At least if I press about 3 sec Power button down then it gives setup screen and with station buttons 1-6 it gives different choises what can be enabled and disabled and if i remeber correct there was News and RDS txt disabled by default.
Juuzi01 is offline  
post #16 of 16 (permalink) Old 13th July 2006, 06:59
Administrator
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,772 Times in 824 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
Radio Text has been around for a while - I had a Kenwood HU in 2000 that had it (but it would only work if you were within about 10 miles from the transmitter) and then a 2001 Alpine HU where it worked perfectly.

Not missing much IMO, it just scrolls a line of text that says something like "BBC Radio four, question time, John Humphreys asks questions, contact [email protected]". Would look pretty on the satnav screen, I agree.

Don't confuse this in the setup options with the normal RDS text, which is just the station ident (BBC R4).
Pottsy is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radio DAB Radio LoonyJohn Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 27 13th November 2007 11:40
Radio Radio station Preset Text Mark996 Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 4 18th April 2007 09:55
Subwoofer the new ctr radio andy dys Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 5 20th March 2007 14:50
Built in CD can mp3 text scroll accross the screen?... mr w1z Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 6 6th March 2007 20:38
Multiple pictures, spread amongst post text Pottsy Basic tutorials 0 10th December 2006 17:18

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome