AUX in Ipod Grief - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 6th August 2006, 02:15 Thread Starter
 
redjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th June 2006
Location: derbyshire
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Ipod Grief

Hello all !
Finally got my Blueish Silver EX CDTI the week before last (ordered Cosmic Grey but was told after a month that the colour had been discontinued, so plumped for Blueish Silver as they could deliver within a few weeks). Been round the Lakes for a week so it's had a decent run-in now and the Sat Nav has proved invaluable. Really like the colour as well.
However, I traded in a Saab 9-3 that has an Aux input, so I've become used to having all my fave songs along with me on my Ipod.
After Pottsy's success with a hard-wired solution, I ordered the Connects2 aux input thingy, and asked my dealer (Pennine Honda, Ashton-U-L) to fit it when my car arrived (having given them the part number for the loom). When the great day came, the dealer says that they have contacted Honda and have been advised that this will "blow" the stereo (or some such phrase), and so they dare not fit it. I don't know much/anything about car stereos, but I'm a little surprised that adding an additional input would "blow" anything.

So....I've got this Connects2 aux input converter, but my dealer won't fit it. Any suggestions ? Any dealers that have performed this install (presumably you know one Pottsy) ? I really don't
want to go down the FM transmitter route if i can help it, though i'm so desperate for a bit of musical variety in the car that i might succumb. I'm in the process of burning my MP3s to CD, but it's still not ideal.
Apart from this niggle, I'm well pleased with the car, though I've yet to really try out the HFT (i'm not expecting anything special judging by previous posts).

Fantastic site btw !
redjim is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 6th August 2006, 09:20
Administrator
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,771 Times in 823 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
Redjim, welcome!

Of course the dealer is talking ******. They need to order the cable (it's the one that's used when they fit their own external CD player, p/no H08A310H6000) and instead of fitting the Honda CD player they fit the connects2 adapter. Simple as that.

My dealer (very good, btw) is Francis Honda, Mountsorrel. Bit of a drive, but they did mine as a while you wait job.
Pottsy is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 6th August 2006, 23:48 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
redjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th June 2006
Location: derbyshire
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pottsy
Redjim, welcome!

Of course the dealer is talking ******. They need to order the cable (it's the one that's used when they fit their own external CD player, p/no H08A310H6000) and instead of fitting the Honda CD player they fit the connects2 adapter. Simple as that.

My dealer (very good, btw) is Francis Honda, Mountsorrel. Bit of a drive, but they did mine as a while you wait job.

Thanks Pottsy. When you say the external CD player, you mean the autochanger (that goes in the glove compartment I think) ? I'm going to get back to my own dealer and try to clarify exactly what they think I'm asking them to do ! I may even ask them to contact your dealer in Mountsorrel for more info - not sure whether car dealers like doing this, though.
Barring that, I might visit your dealer anyway (not too far from my Mum and Dad, and they're probably due a visit).

One other thing...the Connects2 adapter I have (VHOX001) has a pair of RCA (red/white) inputs and another round black socket, the like of which i haven't seen before (there is no 3.5mm headphone socket). Is this correct...presume i would need to use a 3.5mm --> RCA cable to connect up my ipod ?
redjim is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 7th August 2006, 09:45
Administrator
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,771 Times in 823 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
Yes, it's the cable for connecting the autochanger (I think it goes into the centre console bin thing). The connects2 box just replaced the changer (hence that odd round connector). And yes, you need a 3.5 - RCA connector (didn't one come in the connects2 box?)

Guess your Mum and Dad are getting a visit! There's a salesman at Francis called Alex, speak to him - he knows all about the job.
Pottsy is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 7th August 2006, 09:46
Administrator
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,771 Times in 823 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
Pottsy is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 7th August 2006, 18:18
 
Join Date: 29th July 2006
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I just had exactly the same line from my dealer - they can't supply the wiring loom because using any non-honda part will cause the stereo to "blow"!! Oh dear, oh dear - they really don't want us to put our ipods in their cars! Maybe Mr Honda had a wee disagreement with Mr Apple somewhere along the line.
civvie06 is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 7th August 2006, 18:34
 
Join Date: 29th July 2006
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Incidentally, assuming I can get hold of the loom, any ideas where this actually plugs into and how much of the car I have to dismantle to get to it?? I have an EX.

Just bought a 2nd hand Harmon/Kardon Drive + Play system in really good nick which I want to use with my iPod. I'm guessing I just add it in to the mix after the Connects2 box? ie Stereo - Wiring loom for changer - Connects2 box - HK Drive+Play - iPod.

Hmm this is sounding fairly difficult now
civvie06 is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 7th August 2006, 18:38
Administrator
 
basegreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15th April 2006
Location: noitacoL
Posts: 3,005
Thanks: 3
Thanked 176 Times in 24 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Send a message via MSN to basegreen
I think they'll offer a retro fit AUX link.
basegreen is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Other Video iPod or iPod Touch video to satnav screen matg Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 6 4th October 2007 08:17
AUX in will ipod work!!! buzzray Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 9 18th February 2007 16:55
AUX in iPod interference Swindon Japster Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 5 12th February 2007 12:48
AUX in iPod questions Dankert Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 9 26th January 2007 23:55
AUX in Ipod Steevie Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 1 20th September 2006 12:41

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome