Built in CD Civic EX but no option for 8 cd-changer????? - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 19th August 2006, 18:41 Thread Starter
Big Civic fan
 
stu_iow's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19th August 2006
Location: Isle of Wight ENGLAND
Posts: 207
Thanks: 3
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Civic EX but no option for 8 cd-changer?????

I want my EX to have a 8 cd-changer.

Dealer has contacted honda but no reply as yet.

The diesel ex has teh option for the cd changer, why can't i have one fitted??

Bit disappointed if this is the case.

Stuart
stu_iow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 19th August 2006, 19:40
Supporter
 
Join Date: 6th August 2006
Location: England ENGLAND
Posts: 2,763
Thanks: 44
Thanked 65 Times in 56 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hi Stu, the EX plays mp3 cd's so you can (as many of us have) download 12 or more audio cd's as mp3 data onto one cd giving you all the info in the main screen on the facia (Album names, artist, track titles etc) so you have at least a 12 album changer already installed.

Good luck, Al.

NB: if you have a separate cd changer it will not display the id3 tag info.

ps: I know there are a lot of programmes available but I found 'mp3 maker titanium' (made by MAGiX) to be very user friendly. Transferred my top 12 albums + a few singles from 'audio' to 'mp3 data' created a play list (make sure you prefix each album a, b, c, etc for the order you want them in) and download. I think it only cost 9.99 or so.
allan40alt is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 19th August 2006, 20:15
Administrator
 
basegreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15th April 2006
Location: noitacoL
Posts: 3,005
Thanks: 3
Thanked 178 Times in 24 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Send a message via MSN to basegreen
Quote:
Originally Posted by allan40alt
Hi Stu, the EX plays mp3 cd's so you can (as many of us have) download 12 or more audio cd's as mp3 data onto one cd giving you all the info in the main screen on the facia (Album names, artist, track titles etc) so you have at least a 12 album changer already installed.

Good luck, Al.

NB: if you have a separate cd changer it will not display the id3 tag info.

ps: I know there are a lot of programmes available but I found 'mp3 maker titanium' (made by MAGiX) to be very user friendly. Transferred my top 12 albums + a few singles from 'audio' to 'mp3 data' created a play list (make sure you prefix each album a, b, c, etc for the order you want them in) and download. I think it only cost 9.99 or so.
there are literally dozens of programs which will do this for free, notably
CDex.
basegreen is offline  
 
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 19th August 2006, 22:04
 
thanksdenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: 1st August 2006
Location: Crawley, West Sussex
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Stu,

I managed to get the 8-CD multi-changer for my EX - cost around 400 though (delivery soon, soon soon ).

The dealer did actually recommend using the MP3 player as a somewhat cheaper otion - it is to my shame that I would rather spend 400 than work out how to use it!!
thanksdenis is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 19th August 2006, 22:09
Administrator
 
basegreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15th April 2006
Location: noitacoL
Posts: 3,005
Thanks: 3
Thanked 178 Times in 24 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Send a message via MSN to basegreen
It really isn't difficult at all

When I get time, I'll create a proper HOW TO using entirely free tools.
basegreen is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 19th August 2006, 22:17
 
thanksdenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: 1st August 2006
Location: Crawley, West Sussex
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
"When I get time, I'll create a proper HOW TO using entirely free tools."

Top Man!

Whilst on the subject of my technical cabbegary - how would I create a quote other than cuuting/pasting as above?
thanksdenis is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 19th August 2006, 22:24
Administrator
 
basegreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15th April 2006
Location: noitacoL
Posts: 3,005
Thanks: 3
Thanked 178 Times in 24 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Send a message via MSN to basegreen
Quite easy, sir... just hit the "QUOTE" button at the top right of any post you wish to quote
basegreen is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 19th August 2006, 22:29
12th June 2006 1.8EX
 
WoolyCiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28th May 2006
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1,119
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by thanksdenis
"When I get time, I'll create a proper HOW TO using entirely free tools."

Top Man!

Whilst on the subject of my technical cabbegary - how would I create a quote other than cuuting/pasting as above?
WoolyCiv is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 20th August 2006, 14:12
 
mihael's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11th June 2006
Posts: 107
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hi stu iow i am still waiting for my car 1.8 ex i shift in cosmic grey have ordered 8 cd changer in armrest with mine the dealer took my order with no comment that this was not an option that i could have on the 1.8 ex petrol plus while looking in other dealers for right price / deal i did bring this up with one he contacted honda uk and was informed by them that there would be a need for an extra bit of wiring which was available and would not be a problem ? so hopfully this will be the case
mihael is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 20th August 2006, 14:23 Thread Starter
Big Civic fan
** Thread starter **
 
stu_iow's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19th August 2006
Location: Isle of Wight ENGLAND
Posts: 207
Thanks: 3
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
excellent.

Is it ok to print this thread out and show them if i do get any problems.

I shouldn't see any problems coming up, the bloke dealing with me seems really nice and will do anything to keep me happy!!

I will await a phone call from him tomorrow, i hope!
stu_iow is offline  
post #11 of 18 (permalink) Old 20th August 2006, 22:41
DT
 
DT's Avatar
 
Join Date: 3rd June 2006
Location: Bathgate
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by stu_iow
excellent.

Is it ok to print this thread out and show them if i do get any problems.

I shouldn't see any problems coming up, the bloke dealing with me seems really nice and will do anything to keep me happy!!

I will await a phone call from him tomorrow, i hope!
stu_iow, I have a 8 disc intercahnger on my 1.8 EX, no issue with the dealer fitting it - does take up most of the room in the arm rest. Note tha the interchanger does not play MP3 CDs, these can only be played in the main unit.
DT is offline  
post #12 of 18 (permalink) Old 21st August 2006, 12:10
 
smiffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 5th June 2006
Location: Buxton, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Yes, my 1.8 EX has 8-CD changer - no issues ordering it (it's dealer fitted). The major annoyance with it is that it doesn't seem to have a Disc Mix option loke I had on the Jag - used to use it all the time. I think I'll switch to MP3 - that gives you track mix. I might even take the changer out to get the armrest box space back.
smiffy is offline  
post #13 of 18 (permalink) Old 21st August 2006, 15:41
 
thanksdenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: 1st August 2006
Location: Crawley, West Sussex
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by basegreen
Quite easy, sir... just hit the "QUOTE" button at the top right of any post you wish to quote
Ahem....now you can see why I opted for the CD changer and not the MP3 player

Anyway, thanks for the tip, I shall now quote with gay abandon - and you can quote me on that.
thanksdenis is offline  
post #14 of 18 (permalink) Old 21st August 2006, 20:10
 
mihael's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11th June 2006
Posts: 107
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
hi all am whaiting my car with the 8 cd changer have a few questions hope you can help can the changer play copy cds ,dos the disk info from the changer display on the sat nav screen in full as the dash one dos , is that right that the changer will not play random tracks off all the cds ,dos the changer play other format disks wma
mihael is offline  
post #15 of 18 (permalink) Old 21st August 2006, 23:45
Administrator
 
basegreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15th April 2006
Location: noitacoL
Posts: 3,005
Thanks: 3
Thanked 178 Times in 24 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Send a message via MSN to basegreen
Quote:
Originally Posted by mihael
hi all am whaiting my car with the 8 cd changer have a few questions hope you can help can the changer play copy cds ,dos the disk info from the changer display on the sat nav screen in full as the dash one dos , is that right that the changer will not play random tracks off all the cds ,dos the changer play other format disks wma
In order.

Yes, Yes, Yes and No.
basegreen is offline  
post #16 of 18 (permalink) Old 22nd August 2006, 10:54
DT
 
DT's Avatar
 
Join Date: 3rd June 2006
Location: Bathgate
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mihael
hi all am whaiting my car with the 8 cd changer have a few questions hope you can help can the changer play copy cds ,dos the disk info from the changer display on the sat nav screen in full as the dash one dos , is that right that the changer will not play random tracks off all the cds ,dos the changer play other format disks wma
Mihael, I have an 8 CD changer in my EX. The changer can play copy CDs, all you see on the Sat Nav Screen when playing CDs in the changer is 'External Device', no other information is displayed the track and CD (disc) number are displayed on the small textual display under the temperature values, you can't set the changer to Random mode across all CDs in he changer. I can't get the CD changer to play MP3 or WMA CDs.
DT is offline  
post #17 of 18 (permalink) Old 22nd August 2006, 21:11
 
mihael's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11th June 2006
Posts: 107
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Dont understand why dos the 400 cd changer not have the same features as the main unit ie playing mp3 cd with random play after all this is not a cheap unit and presumable is honda latest unit for there latest car ?
mihael is offline  
post #18 of 18 (permalink) Old 22nd August 2006, 21:15
Administrator
 
basegreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15th April 2006
Location: noitacoL
Posts: 3,005
Thanks: 3
Thanked 178 Times in 24 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Send a message via MSN to basegreen
tbh, it's terrible value when you can easily get eight albums on one cd in mp3 format.
basegreen is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Options Option? GT or 18s matthewchandler Buying, Dealers and Servicing 15 20th April 2007 21:52
Built in CD cd changer itsrelfy Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 27 23rd March 2007 21:41
Remap Tunit option for 'chipping' your 2.2 TTDegs Engines and Transmission (8G) 10 31st August 2006 22:54
Built in CD Aftermarket CD Changer Pezza Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 1 29th May 2006 20:14

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome