Amplifier Remote for amp? - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 1st November 2007, 13:10 Thread Starter
Strong in me The Force is
 
Koen's Avatar
 
Car: 2.2 NHB & 1.8 DBP TypeS
Join Date: 18th September 2007
Location: Belgium BE
Posts: 765
Thanks: 9
Thanked 57 Times in 48 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Remote for amp?

I am about to install a sub in my car. Before dismantling the spaceship, I have a few questions.

- The amp I've built needs a remote signal to switch itself on. Does the built in radio has a remote out?
- Where can I get an input signal from? Is there a pre-out or do I have to use the speaker outputs?

If anyone has the manual for the concert-pack installation, that would definately help!

K.
Koen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 3rd November 2007, 09:58
 
Join Date: 18th October 2007
Posts: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Not sure about preouts, if the head unit had them you would have to purchase a loom. Definitely does not have RCA-phono-cinch preouts. High level speaker outputs means that your sub has a line output converter (loc) and will do the job fine. Have you thought about using the power outlet in the boot for your remote turn on? It is accessory position switched. I'm sure the head unit does have a remote turn on output as it has to power up the amplifier for the aerial in the rear secreen, but an ignition switched +ve would do exactly the same.
dougl65 is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 3rd November 2007, 11:08
FWH
Supporter
 
FWH's Avatar
 
Car: MX-5, C6 Vette & MB S212
Join Date: 3rd June 2007
Location: Where Polar Bears roam the streets SE
Posts: 22,623
Thanks: 558
Thanked 1,029 Times in 772 Posts
iTrader: (1)
There is no pre-out.
You need a LOC or an AMP that can take speaker level inout (ie has built in LOC).



FWH is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 4th November 2007, 11:05
Supporter
 
Nick7's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10th August 2006
Location: Croatia
Posts: 763
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
iTrader: (0)
For remote you can use power for antenna amplifier.
Nick7 is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 26th November 2007, 15:11
Supporter
 
jamo9017's Avatar
 
Join Date: 25th November 2007
Location: manchester ENGLAND
Posts: 142
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
hi where is the antenna amplifier and how do you get into it thanks
jamo9017 is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 28th November 2007, 16:53
Supporter
 
Nick7's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10th August 2006
Location: Croatia
Posts: 763
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
iTrader: (0)
When you remove headunit, it's one 'small' black connector with 2 leads.
One is antenna input, other is power power for antenna amplifier (you cant miss it, as all others are big connectors).
Nick7 is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 30th November 2007, 21:58
 
Join Date: 28th June 2007
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
i have installed a switch where the heated seats should be, and then run this from the cigarette socket,this is so i can turn the amp off when the kids are in the car
ecostuart is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Exterior Remote key unlock didn't work! crid Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 23 13th September 2010 16:40
Remote Central Locking Question? Mr JP Type-R 8 14th June 2007 00:27
Remote Control Harps General Discussion (8G) 5 15th May 2007 23:31
Alarm Unlocking ONLY the driver's door only from the remote ? JohnH Electronics (8G) 9 15th May 2007 13:35
Alarm Remote Keyless Entry stewright Electronics (8G) 16 5th February 2007 00:48

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome